We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxed family-friendly escape”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Pen Y Morfa

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
St. Mawgan, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
paul s
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxed family-friendly escape”
Reviewed 21 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Really enjoyed my stay in this wonderful holiday cottage. The local village is very picturesque and the views of the surrounding countryside are lovely. The house was very clean and modern with some nice touches from the owners, including the toys and games available for my 6 year old to her occupied.
I would highly recommend this place for a couple or family with one or 2 young children, especially if you wish to be just far enough away from the hustle and bustle of Newquay but close enough to be a short drive from amenities & attractions.
The airport is literally a stones throw away but you don't even notice its there as its such a quiet airport. Very handy for those that wish to fly into Cornwall, rather then face the holiday traffic or long drives from the North which we did.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinkladyb...
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great base for exploring North Cornwall”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Pen Y Morfa is ideally situated in the pretty village of St Mawgan. The house is perfectly clean and the modern kitchen is very well equipped. The local pub, The Falcon's Inn is dog friendly and serves superb food. The walk to Mawgan Porth is well worth it. There is a lovely tea room en route which does great paninis and cream teas! Best local beaches, all dog friendly, are Mawgan Porth, Watergate Bay, Crantock, Holywell Bay and our favourite, Harlyn Bay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: 3 toilets and well equipped kitchen
Liked least: Wi-fi connection intermittent
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma B
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Highly recommend - perfect location and very well equipped”
Reviewed 30 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We booked this lovely house for our weeks break with our 2 children (6 & 2) and we couldn't have been happier with our choice. The house was so well equipped with everything you needed and toys / books for the children too, they were both spoilt for choice. The children's bedroom window overlooked a field of sheep, lambs and cows which they absolutely adored looking out over. We were greeted with a scrummy bottle of red which after almost 5 hrs in the car was very welcomed. The house is modern, clean and warm. It was in a perfect location for stunningly beautiful beaches and heaps of sightseeing adventures. A visit to the local village pub is highly recommended, the food was very impressive and a good choice for children too. I would also recommend a local beach called Booby's Bay, which is signposted Constantine, make sure you check out the low tide times before you go, as it is full of rock pools when the tide is out and we managed to fill our bucket with all different types of living creatures, the children loved it. Padstow was a fabulous stop, we took a speed boat ride which was reasonably priced and also did some crab fishing which was rather exciting. There are a fantastic selection of leaflets next to the DVDs under the telly, which will give you a good idea of where to visit. One evening we brought a yummy Indian takeaway from Newquay and brought it back to the house, we left a menu there for any future curry lovers staying at the house, they do deliver for a small charge, be warned the portion sizes are rather large. We have all had a fabulous holiday in Cornwall and will definitely be back and will stay here again too as it was perfect for what we needed and perfect location. Please don't let the fact it's near the airport put you off as we didn't hear one plane and you don't notice it's even there.

The Bennetts :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2015
Thanks so much for your review and for taking the time to leave suggestions for future guests. We'll certainly try out Boobys bay when we're next down!

Phil & Frankie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea S
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Pen Y Morfa has everything you could wish for with Phil and Frankie covering everything to make our stay idylic”
Reviewed 29 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The holiday home is perfectly situated as a good base for exploring Cornwall. Although I feel a car is essential, there is a good bus service if you don't want to travel too far afield. Phil and Frankie have most things covered but are only a phone call or e-mail away and respond promptly to any queries raised. There are 2 pubs within walking distance, but beware, the walk back up the hill if you decide to frequent The Falcon! Both pubs seemed popular for food, although we didn't eat in either! Both are friendly and have a real local feeling - both are great in their own unique way. We took my parents to stay for a week and were all impressed with the attention to detail that had been catered for. We all agree that we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and would definitely recommend it to anyone who was thinking of staying here

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The thoughtfulness of attention to detail
Liked least: The walk back up the hill from the pub within the village after a couple of beers
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helenlj77
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We spent 5 days in the house last week and have to say it was perfect for us.

The house has virtually everything you can think of needing, including a folder with information on things to do in Cornwall. It's clear to see that Phil and Frankie have gone to plenty of effort to make this an ideal holiday home, especially for those with children.

It was a great few days away and we'd definitely rent the house out again.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing