We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Super!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
St. Mawgan, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
leato1uk
1 review
“Super!”
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We had a lovely week at bryher with our two small children. They loved the large garden, which was enclosed and safe for them to run around in. And we loved the decking which caught the last of the evening sun while we had a glass of wine!

The house is nicely decorated,and very clean and comfortable. The lady that looked after the house was very helpful and friendly. We couldn't have asked for any more really.

Although it is not right by the sea, the location is ideal. It is close to numerous beaches, 25 mins from padstow, and 45 mins from St Ives. We were never short of things to do with our little ones. It was beautifully quiet at night, with only the church bells chiming occasionally.

There was plenty of hot water, and it was always warm. We could t have asked for anything more (and we are quite picky!!).

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelloMran...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic find! ”
Reviewed 26 May 2015 for a stay in September 2014

What a beautiful place! Fantastic quiet location, a few minutes drive to fantastic beaches such as Mawgan Porth beach and Watergate Bay, where we enjoyed a family brunch at Jamie Oliver’s Fifteen restaurant. We also had diner at Rick Stein's fish and chip shop in the gorgeous Padstow which was also only a short drive away.

Mawgan itself has a great local tearoom and shop which sells probably the best raspberry jam I've ever eaten! And Cornish pasties which where freshly made every morning.

Bryher Cottage is lovely, warm, light and airy home from home. Very thoughtful touches make it a great find. Our two year old loved the big bath and we loved the enclosed garden with a big decked area for evening BBQ's. The wood burning stove made the cottage toasty warm even on a very chilly evening. It's nice to stay somewhere that can cope with two adults and a child all showing and bathing and still have plenty of hot water! Something we think is important after spending a sandy day at the beach!

The lady who looked after the property and made sure we had everything and knew how everything worked. It was good to know we could easily contact her if we needed to. (She gave us some great advice about where to go with a two year old!)

This is the best place we've stayed in Cornwall. And we'll definitely be coming back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
judeyt
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A super find!”
Reviewed 22 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We've stayed in numerous holiday lets along the Cornish coast and this is the one I'll definitely be coming back to! An absolute gem of a find. Easy distance to get everyone packed off to the beach in the morning and close to the village to get to the local pub, shop etc. I even found a mainly off road track to go for a morning run down to the beach - bliss! Loved the decking in the back garden - fab for a well deserved glass of wine at the end of the day whilst the children ran around in the back garden. Some holiday lets feel a little unloved this was simply not the case with Bryher Cottage - the owners have obviously put in a lot of thought to create such a welcoming and stylish home.....

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robyardle...
Chepstow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic value, great location, well appointed and very child friendly.”
Reviewed 20 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We hadn't had a family holiday for a long time and we're looking for a relaxing break in the UK where we could just switch off and relax. The description of Bryher cottage seemed to tick all the boxes and it didn't fail to disappoint.

Having a young adventurous child we are always cautious when booking holiday accommodation, as we have had some truly dreadful experiences. Holly had a wonderful time playing in the gorgeous garden and we could just relax and let her get on with it, knowing that she would be quite safe.

The kitchen was well equipped and with the well provisioned local shops meant that we didn't eat out as half as much as we'd planned.

The bedrooms and living room were clean and comfortable and clearly a great deal of thought has been put into the decor. No signs of chintz anywhere.

We did have a few cold nights due to the time of year, but the cottage was always lovely and warm; and the wood burning stove was an absolute bonus to come back to after a day at the local beach.

The only down side for me was that the WiFi allowed my partner to check on her work emails. But that is always an inevitable aspect of our holidays and at least she didn't disappear off to a local cafe to do a spot of work.

All in all a great holiday was had by all.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgie S
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Cornish bolt hole”
Reviewed 18 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

When can we come back?!! Travelling with small children is never straightforward but from the word go, we all fell into full-on relaxation and holiday mode as we arrived at Bryher Cottage. As well as being really comfortable and well-equipped, Bryher Cottage is very stylish and is beautifully decorated, it feels like a really special place. The garden was enclosed and safe with plenty of room for our little ones to play - and for us to sit back with a glass of something cold and enjoy the view! We love north Cornwall and all it has to offer so St Mawgan is an excellent location to get to some of our favourite beaches (Mawgan Porth, Watergate Bay and Constantine) and easily accessible to Padstow, the South Coast and Eden Project (all worth a visit). St Mawgan village is a delightful with a great pub, village shop and post office (that sells everything!), tea rooms and playground. If you're looking for a really charming place to spend your holidays, look no further!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing