We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A super find!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
St. Mawgan, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
judeyt
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A super find!”
Reviewed 22 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We've stayed in numerous holiday lets along the Cornish coast and this is the one I'll definitely be coming back to! An absolute gem of a find. Easy distance to get everyone packed off to the beach in the morning and close to the village to get to the local pub, shop etc. I even found a mainly off road track to go for a morning run down to the beach - bliss! Loved the decking in the back garden - fab for a well deserved glass of wine at the end of the day whilst the children ran around in the back garden. Some holiday lets feel a little unloved this was simply not the case with Bryher Cottage - the owners have obviously put in a lot of thought to create such a welcoming and stylish home.....

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robyardle...
Chepstow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic value, great location, well appointed and very child friendly.”
Reviewed 20 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We hadn't had a family holiday for a long time and we're looking for a relaxing break in the UK where we could just switch off and relax. The description of Bryher cottage seemed to tick all the boxes and it didn't fail to disappoint.

Having a young adventurous child we are always cautious when booking holiday accommodation, as we have had some truly dreadful experiences. Holly had a wonderful time playing in the gorgeous garden and we could just relax and let her get on with it, knowing that she would be quite safe.

The kitchen was well equipped and with the well provisioned local shops meant that we didn't eat out as half as much as we'd planned.

The bedrooms and living room were clean and comfortable and clearly a great deal of thought has been put into the decor. No signs of chintz anywhere.

We did have a few cold nights due to the time of year, but the cottage was always lovely and warm; and the wood burning stove was an absolute bonus to come back to after a day at the local beach.

The only down side for me was that the WiFi allowed my partner to check on her work emails. But that is always an inevitable aspect of our holidays and at least she didn't disappear off to a local cafe to do a spot of work.

All in all a great holiday was had by all.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgie S
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Cornish bolt hole”
Reviewed 18 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

When can we come back?!! Travelling with small children is never straightforward but from the word go, we all fell into full-on relaxation and holiday mode as we arrived at Bryher Cottage. As well as being really comfortable and well-equipped, Bryher Cottage is very stylish and is beautifully decorated, it feels like a really special place. The garden was enclosed and safe with plenty of room for our little ones to play - and for us to sit back with a glass of something cold and enjoy the view! We love north Cornwall and all it has to offer so St Mawgan is an excellent location to get to some of our favourite beaches (Mawgan Porth, Watergate Bay and Constantine) and easily accessible to Padstow, the South Coast and Eden Project (all worth a visit). St Mawgan village is a delightful with a great pub, village shop and post office (that sells everything!), tea rooms and playground. If you're looking for a really charming place to spend your holidays, look no further!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not enough hot water - beware”
Reviewed 27 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for the second week of the Easter holidays this year with our children aged 3 and 5. The weather was beautiful so we were out most of the time. However, there was only ever enough hot water for a few inches of bath (think stingy child's bath amount of water) before running out. Even on 'boost' it would take more than an hour to heat back up to facilitate another bath/shower. This makes washing for a family of 4 very difficult. We did complain but no one ever came to look at it while we were there which was disappointing. Having been asked to give the booking company (blue chip holidays) a review, and having given a poor one, the company contacted us to ask more details, which we gladly gave. We were told that the boiler was checked after we left (why not while we were there?) and no problem found. Either the trades person is mistaken, or the tank is simply not big enough to serve the house. Either way, we did not have nearly enough hot water, which definitely put a dampener on an otherwise beautiful week in glorious Cornish weather.

Please note that the property is not centrally heated either. It has one storage heater for the whole of the downstairs and wall mounted fan heaters upstairs. There is a log burner as well downstairs for evening use. When we arrived it was cold because the storage heater had been turned off. If you do go here, I'd familiarise yourself with the heating system immediately to avoid being cold.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2015
Many thanks for your feedback following your stay, and we're sorry there were some aspects of the property you were disappointed with.

Bryher Cottage is a very popular property in our portfolio which has received many positive reviews and a good proportion of repeat bookings over the past five years.
We apologise that you did not find there to be enough hot water during your stay. It seems that the water thermostat had been turned down, which resulted in the amount of hot water to be more limited than usual. However, please be assured that the house has a 210 litre hot water tank which is plenty large enough for the property.

Bryher Cottage is heated via a combination of a substantial wood burning stove and electric heaters; the latter of which do need to be switched on at the wall but are very effective once on. The heaters were unfortunately turned off for your arrival and we apologise for the inconvenience caused at the beginning of your stay. The owner of the property was more than happy to provide additional heaters, firewood and coal for the stove for the duration of your stay to ensure that the property was comfortable and warm for you and your family.

We hope this experience does not deter you from booking with Blue Chip Holidays again.

Best regards,

Blue Chip Holidays
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing