We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
St. Mawgan, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Victoria...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not enough hot water - beware”
Reviewed 27 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for the second week of the Easter holidays this year with our children aged 3 and 5. The weather was beautiful so we were out most of the time. However, there was only ever enough hot water for a few inches of bath (think stingy child's bath amount of water) before running out. Even on 'boost' it would take more than an hour to heat back up to facilitate another bath/shower. This makes washing for a family of 4 very difficult. We did complain but no one ever came to look at it while we were there which was disappointing. Having been asked to give the booking company (blue chip holidays) a review, and having given a poor one, the company contacted us to ask more details, which we gladly gave. We were told that the boiler was checked after we left (why not while we were there?) and no problem found. Either the trades person is mistaken, or the tank is simply not big enough to serve the house. Either way, we did not have nearly enough hot water, which definitely put a dampener on an otherwise beautiful week in glorious Cornish weather.

Please note that the property is not centrally heated either. It has one storage heater for the whole of the downstairs and wall mounted fan heaters upstairs. There is a log burner as well downstairs for evening use. When we arrived it was cold because the storage heater had been turned off. If you do go here, I'd familiarise yourself with the heating system immediately to avoid being cold.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2015
Many thanks for your feedback following your stay, and we're sorry there were some aspects of the property you were disappointed with.

Bryher Cottage is a very popular property in our portfolio which has received many positive reviews and a good proportion of repeat bookings over the past five years.
We apologise that you did not find there to be enough hot water during your stay. It seems that the water thermostat had been turned down, which resulted in the amount of hot water to be more limited than usual. However, please be assured that the house has a 210 litre hot water tank which is plenty large enough for the property.

Bryher Cottage is heated via a combination of a substantial wood burning stove and electric heaters; the latter of which do need to be switched on at the wall but are very effective once on. The heaters were unfortunately turned off for your arrival and we apologise for the inconvenience caused at the beginning of your stay. The owner of the property was more than happy to provide additional heaters, firewood and coal for the stove for the duration of your stay to ensure that the property was comfortable and warm for you and your family.

We hope this experience does not deter you from booking with Blue Chip Holidays again.

Best regards,

Blue Chip Holidays
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing