We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome, delicious food”

Taverna dei Principi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 17 - USD 34
Cuisines: Deli, Italian, Pizza, Seafood
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

We stumbled upon the Taverna dei Principi while driving from Bari to Vieste. What a lucky find! We were difficult customers: my husband is vegetarian and gluten intolerant and we speak no Italian. The lovely staff went out of their way to understand and accommodate us, even producing gluten-free crackers so my husband could enjoy the cheese with marmalade, which was a delicious appetizer. The antipasti were plentiful and equally delicious-- warm, dark, melt in your mouth olives with just a hint of bitterness to balance the richness... salami...Eggplant...and a light, satisfying casserole with eggs, potatoes, and ham. A side order of braised chicory was bathed in a delicious sauce redolent of the local olive oil. A dish of vegetarian risotto was simple yet packed with flavor. The table wine was a perfect complement to the savory dishes, and we ended the meal on a refreshing note with local grapes, coffee, and complimentary limoncello. The taverna is in an unassuming part of town, but you step inside to a spacious, attractive dining room and a warm greeting. Thank you to the staff of the Taverna dei Principi for taking such good care of us!

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Adventurer650135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2017

This restaurant was recommanded in our travel book. And it was a very good advice. The food is so good, i think i tasted the best tiramisu in my whole life.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ClemAngela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

This place is a dream come true, food is exceptionally good, a real taste of the region, all wrapped in a classy but also typical and child-friendly environment. But the real surprise will come at the end, when you will realize that the bill is incredibly low. We will come back very soon. Super recommended!

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank Emiliano B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

While in Canosa for work I stayed at the Hotel d'Altavilla where they recommended this restaurant as being one of the best value for money options. I'd also checked it out on Tripadvisor and must say that everything I read was true. The owners were polite and happy to advise me on their local dishes, explaining their origins and history. I like to take my time when eating and never felt under any pressure to eat up and move on . wonderful. I would strongly recommend this eatery and will certainly be returnng when I am in the area.

Date of visit: October 2013
Thank Karlmat_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: June 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taverna dei Principi also viewed

Canosa di Puglia, Province of Barletta-Andria-Trani
Canosa di Puglia, Province of Barletta-Andria-Trani
 
Canosa di Puglia, Province of Barletta-Andria-Trani
Canosa di Puglia, Province of Barletta-Andria-Trani
 
Canosa di Puglia, Province of Barletta-Andria-Trani
Canosa di Puglia, Province of Barletta-Andria-Trani
 

Been to Taverna dei Principi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing