We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (283)
Filter reviews
283 results
Traveller rating
190
83
7
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
190
83
7
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the bus concentration camp gas chamber an hour emotional experience public transport railway station information office journey takes world history small charge information boards baltic cruise somber place second world war on site the main road
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 283 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2018 via mobile

We didn't fancy taking the bus, being put off by the hour and a half trip there, and then back again (ignoring waiting time) but prices from touring companies were well over £200 when trying to book from the uk.

But had booked an airport transfer via Shuttles Direct, and the driver (from Travel Gdansk travelgdansk.pl) offered a number of tours, including Stutthof for only £100 for the pair of us (private drive) so snapped it up, and so glad we did. Picked us up from the hotel and drove straight there (a little under an hour) offered to wait upto 3 hours, although we covered the site in 1 1/2 but driver was there waiting and did the trip back in similarly under an hour. Driver even offered to divert via Westerplatte for a visit, but we declined.

A incredibully interesting site to visit, similar to many of the others we have visited throughout europe in many ways, but still with its own unique aspects and important in its own right. Well worth the half day trip out.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank GarySau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2018 via mobile

Travel tips:

Bus station : Near Gdansk Glowny train station.
(Once arrive the train station, go underground by walking down the stairs from the outside, turn left passing a cake corner shop on the left, carry on walking towards the left, once you come out there will be bus paltforms there. The bus station doesn't seem obvious but you can guess by numbers of platforms.

Bus no.870 platform 2 (we caught the 11.15am. Arrived around 12.30pm.)

If you sit the oppisite side of a driver, you will see a brown sign says SZTUTOWO MUZEUM, then press a bell to stop. Driver will stop about 100 metres away from the museum, just simply walk back.

The way back to Gdansk
Once you leave the museum, just turn left and walk towards where you come from. A bus shelter is about 250 metres away.
We missed the 3.27pm. bus so we just waited for the 4.27pm. Buses only run hourly. Please see the pic of timetable I uploaded.

Date of experience: July 2018
10  Thank AnnNnnNnnE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018 via mobile

We took the 870 bus from Gdansk (Brama Wyszcynna). The trip takes about 1h 15minutes.

The bus will drop you off near the entrance to the museum. The entrance is free. They show a movie abt the camp but it’s in polish with no english subs.

It’s a lot to take in but definately worth the trip. We stayed for about 1,5h.

Take some food and water with you. They don’t have anything there besides a coffee vending machine.

The bus stop back to Gdansk is about 5 minute walk from the entrance by the road.

Date of experience: June 2018
3  Thank Tharsiga B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

I chose this as an extra excursion from a recent Baltic cruise. It was such a sobering experience and a reminder that peace has to be everyone's priority. So enlightening to me about things that I did not know about this era. Very soul-searching time. ALL should be required to view the facts and horrors of that time.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank Kit0879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018

The original concentration camp located just over an hour from Gdansk, with the horrors of life in the camp presented in a manner as sensitive as possible. Free to enter and a small charge to watch the video. The video operates approximately every 30 minutes and I suggest you try and watch it before you enter to get some background history.

We took an uber there (we could easily have taken the bus) and took the bus back to Gdansk (there was no choice as no ubers in the area). Comfortable bus and not expensive. The information shop by the gate was very helpful about how to self-guide ourselves through the camp and where to find the bus stop (and times) to return back to Gdansk.

Date of experience: May 2018
3  Thank Lesleyjc38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews