We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heart breaking but well worth it”

Stutthof Concentration Camp
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 35.67*
and up
Private Tour of Stutthof Concentration Camp from...
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Sztutowo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Reviewed 5 July 2018 via mobile

Travel tips:

Bus station : Near Gdansk Glowny train station.
(Once arrive the train station, go underground by walking down the stairs from the outside, turn left passing a cake corner shop on the left, carry on walking towards the left, once you come out there will be bus paltforms there. The bus station doesn't seem obvious but you can guess by numbers of platforms.

Bus no.870 platform 2 (we caught the 11.15am. Arrived around 12.30pm.)

If you sit the oppisite side of a driver, you will see a brown sign says SZTUTOWO MUZEUM, then press a bell to stop. Driver will stop about 100 metres away from the museum, just simply walk back.

The way back to Gdansk
Once you leave the museum, just turn left and walk towards where you come from. A bus shelter is about 250 metres away.
We missed the 3.27pm. bus so we just waited for the 4.27pm. Buses only run hourly. Please see the pic of timetable I uploaded.

Date of experience: July 2018
10  Thank AnnNnnNnnE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"the bus"
in 36 reviews
"concentration camp"
in 49 reviews
"gas chamber"
in 19 reviews
"an hour"
in 16 reviews
"emotional experience"
in 4 reviews
"public transport"
in 4 reviews
"railway station"
in 3 reviews
"information office"
in 3 reviews
"journey takes"
in 3 reviews
"world history"
in 3 reviews
"small charge"
in 3 reviews
"information boards"
in 3 reviews
"baltic cruise"
in 3 reviews
"somber place"
in 3 reviews
"second world war"
in 3 reviews
"on site"
in 3 reviews
"the main road"
in 3 reviews
Filter

11 - 15 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2018 via mobile

We took the 870 bus from Gdansk (Brama Wyszcynna). The trip takes about 1h 15minutes.

The bus will drop you off near the entrance to the museum. The entrance is free. They show a movie abt the camp but it’s in polish with no english subs.

It’s a lot to take in but definately worth the trip. We stayed for about 1,5h.

Take some food and water with you. They don’t have anything there besides a coffee vending machine.

The bus stop back to Gdansk is about 5 minute walk from the entrance by the road.

Date of experience: June 2018
3  Thank Tharsiga B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

I chose this as an extra excursion from a recent Baltic cruise. It was such a sobering experience and a reminder that peace has to be everyone's priority. So enlightening to me about things that I did not know about this era. Very soul-searching time. ALL should be required to view the facts and horrors of that time.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank Kit0879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018

The original concentration camp located just over an hour from Gdansk, with the horrors of life in the camp presented in a manner as sensitive as possible. Free to enter and a small charge to watch the video. The video operates approximately every 30 minutes and I suggest you try and watch it before you enter to get some background history.

We took an uber there (we could easily have taken the bus) and took the bus back to Gdansk (there was no choice as no ubers in the area). Comfortable bus and not expensive. The information shop by the gate was very helpful about how to self-guide ourselves through the camp and where to find the bus stop (and times) to return back to Gdansk.

Date of experience: May 2018
3  Thank Lesleyjc38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile

Very sad - hard to believe humans treat other humans like this. Very graphic and hard to see. Yet by seeing this, hopefully we will never allow it to be down again. Great tour and a lot to see if a guide is taking you around.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank JimW551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stutthof Concentration Camp also viewed

 
Gdansk, Pomerania Province
 

Been to Stutthof Concentration Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing