We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Suited us perfectly”
escape to paradise and stay right on Muri Beach for your island holiday !
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
escape to paradise and stay right on Muri Beach for your island holiday !
pool # 1 - relax in your own large lagoon facing pool just steps from the famous Muri Beach ! pool #2 our newest pool also included for your use! it is also set well away from the house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
escape to paradise and stay right on Muri Beach for your island holiday !
pool # 1 - relax in your own large lagoon facing pool just steps from the famous Muri Beach !
pool #2 our newest pool also included for your use! it is also set well away from the house
and at night, there are solar and spot lights outside, great sunsets too!
award winning holiday home on a large private beach front section with your own lagoon facing pool !
the pool is 9m long x 4.5m wide and faces the lagoon & Taakoka Island (motu)
the large salt pool is directly in front of the house
this 3/4 acre section is secluded and off the main road and leads on to Muri Beach!
view from the lawn on to the private beach access
BBQ & outdoor dining facing the lagoon
large spacious deck with BBQ facing the lagoon
stairway leading up to upstairs bedroom/ensuite and balcony
large comfy couch in a open plan bright airy room leading out to bi fold doors onto the deck
modern pacific island themed decor
full kitchen, large fridge freezer and - yes a dishwasher!
two modern bathrooms, one up, one down. the downstairs bathroom has a washing machine.
upstairs looking to the bedroom
white sandy beach
taakoka island, right in front of the house and section
Muri is renowned for its white sandy beach
stroll down the lawn and onto the beach from your own private access
downstairs bedroom and ensuite, screened door leading to deck & pool
upstairs bedroom and ensuite with screened sliding door to balcony
open plan and modern living
landscaped with lots of lawn and garden
looking up from the beach to the house
its all about the pool !
view from the beach!
i never get tired of the view from the end of the lawn !
ever changing island style bed covers, door leads through to bahtroom
all landscaped and well maintained by the owners :)
6 kayaks to use
lush tropical landscaped gardens
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Muri, Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sparkslov...
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Suited us perfectly”
Reviewed 5 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We stayed 12 days at Taakoka and were very happy with our choice. Having a full kitchen meant that we could negotiate meal times easily with our 5 yr old daughter and it also helped keep the cost of our holiday down by not needing to go out for dinner all the time. There is two convenience stores within walking distance and we went into the supermarket in the main town centre to source most of our meat and veg. We ate out a couple of times at local restaurants as well.
A lot of people rent a car for their stay in Raro, but we actually got around just fine via the local bus (and saved quite a bit of $ as a result, plus met some locals).
Was very happy that the photos were a good reflection of what we had booked - the pool and lawn in particular with that gorgeous view of the ocean is exactly as shown. What we didn't realise (and which will prompt a return to CI) is that CI is surrounded by a lagoon and hence the waves break about 100m off shore - so the beach is lovely and calm with no crashing waves. It was absolutely perfect for our 5 yr old as it gave her a chance to explore safely. The beaches and indeed all of CI is very very clean too - fantastic compared to other south pacific islands we've been to.
Weather was good - we had a couple of days where it was a bit rainy/windy but it was never cold (25-28deg during the day and around 20 overnight).
And to top it all off, there are wild chickens roaming about - so no need for an alarm clock as the local roosters take care of that :)
Would happily return to Taakoka

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2017
kia orana and thank you for your comments. 12 nights was a great amount of time to experience rarotonga, muri and our little slice of paradise. our lagoon is a fantastic playground for all and is right on your doorstep! our great location in muri means you can have access to everything within walking distance without needing a car. look forward to seeing you again. kia manuia. adam & sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marian V
Cameron
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
Reviewed 19 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We have staid for three weeks in this beautiful house with our two young kids and loved every minute of it!
The house is big, and comfortable: soft beds, two bathrooms, well equiped kitchen including dishwasser, big freezer etc, lots of fans,etc
The view from the deck is marvellous and the beach begins at the end of your garden. There are kayaks to use and adam and sarah are very friendly and helpful. The garden is well maintained and the gardener would comeand bring fresh coconuts or passionfruit.
Muri beach and takoka ville are definitely the place to be on rarotonga!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2017
kia orana. thanks for your comments. after three weeks in taakoka villa you are definately qualified to review ! it was a pleasure catching up with you during your stay and we are glad you took so many great memories away with you! kia manuia. adam & sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuart745
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Location - hard to fault”
Reviewed 9 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The Villa is spotless and in a great location. It is a ten minute walk along the beach to Sails Bar.
If you want to be in Muri Beach this property should be considered. the only small change I would recommend the owners make is to fit a door between the upstairs bedroom and the ensuite. Currently there is a curtain which does not reach the floor.
The pool is a great addition and got used alot.
The owners are there if you need them but not intrusive.We would definitely stay here again

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2017
kia orana. thanks for your kind words. our location is definately hard to beat being just away enough from the resorts but still a short stroll along the beach to all the action! having your own large lagoon facing pool as well is a huge plus and a hit with our guests. look forward to seeing you again. kia manuia. adam & sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ford B
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed 19 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Taakoka Villa was amazing and very private and the owners were very friendly. We had lots of fun with the use of the kayaks and pool. Would definitely come back again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2017
kia orana. thanks for your comments, it looked like you had a great honeymoon and hopefully you too back great memories of your time here. look forward to seeing you both again, kia manuia. adam & sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NinaT29
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect for our family with small children”
Reviewed 12 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We stayed in the beachside villa and it was just perfect for our family (including 2 small children). The proximity to the beach and to muri night markets made it ideal. We enjoyed using the kayaks especially. Even though there were others staying in the other accommodation, we found it very private and quiet.

Having a BBQ and full kitchen meant our holiday was quite affordable. We also appreciated the portacot and toy basket provided. The villa was very clean and well maintained and had everything we hoped for, and was much more relaxing than staying in a resort. If you feel like a 'resort' experience, then go next door for a cocktail or to the day spa (Nautilus).

The only thing I'd point out (which is not a criticism at all) is that if you want air con you need to pay $50 per day. Now there are lots of very good ceiling fans, and the way the villa is laid out you get a lovely through-draft so we had no problems without aircon, there are also vented shutters with nets so you can leave them open all the time. Power is very expensive on the island so it's totally justifiable to charge for air-con. Just be aware of this if you're travelling in the hotter months and factor in the price in case you need it.

Our hosts were lovely and very helpful when we needed it. I'd definitely recommend staying here and we'll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size and layout of the villa
Liked least: Having no pool (but you can book a villa with a pool)
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Dec 2016
kia orana and thank you for your comments., as you point out this review is not for 'taakoka muri beach villa' as you stayed in another villa on the same section. there are five properties all spaced out over our huge 3/4 acre beachfront section that finishes on the beach. it is great that you enjoyed our quiet location in muri and our private beach access to the lagoon. would love to have you back in the future. kia manuia. adam & sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing