We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Slice of Muri Paradaise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Muri Beach Cottages
Ranked #1 of 2 Muri B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 October 2010

This is our 2nd visit staying with Gwen at Muri Beach Cottages. A slice of paradise close to the beach and not to far away from the 1st cocktails.... The cottages are clean and well appointed with great views across the lagoon. Always feel that we have come home when we stay here.. We give it a 10/10...

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wfvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2010

Enjoyed my stay there. Gwen the landlady was really hospitable and helpful. The location is excellent (the quiet - Southern - end of Muri) with the lagoon and the motu right beyong the palm trees of the property. It is next door to Te Manava Resort, for those wishing to google the exact location.

My suggestions: Scooters are practical and fun. Snorkelling opposite "Fruits of Rarotonga". Mosquito repellents. Reading/viewing material for the days of tropical rains.

My personal opinion is that Rarotonga was not really au pas with other competing destinations in the Pacific like Bora Bora or The Yassawas, but nonetheless it is not a bad destination if you are looking for a Pacific tropical atmosphere and a warm lagoon to swim and paddle in followed by an early night in.

Safe travels to all,
Mahmoud

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank anonimo_egiziano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2010

We had such a wonderful time at Muri Beach Cottages for the 9 nights that we stayed on the island! We stayed in the Pole House and loved the view and the quaint accommodations. This cottage is small, but is perfect for the honeymooners! The location is wonderful; we rented scooters and went to town many times and actually went all over the island! Being so close to Fruits of Rarotonga was nice as we love snorkelling. The weather wasn't the best when we were there, terribly windy on our deck for the first 5 days, but after that, it was so nice to sit on the deck and enjoy the sunsets with a glass of wine. It was also wonderful to experience every sunrise! Gwen was a wealth of information and very pleasant. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baby_nurse02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2010

We stepped off the plane in rain and it rained for the following week with only half a day of sunshine. Not the best way to see the beautiful lagoon at Muri Beach.
We found the location to be quite handy as the cottages were in a comfortable walking distance to a number of restaurents and also the local servo which sold all the food and alcohol basics. This was only a 10 min. walk. Muri Beach is basically on the opposite side of the island to the main part of Rarotonga. The local bus service is very reliable and takes about 30 mins into town. The cottage that we stayed in was exceptionally clean and well maintained. Gwen was most helpful and a very pleasant hostess. The grounds were beautifully maintained and had lots of native flowers and fruit trees. The garden was a real credit to Joe, Gwen's gardener. The cottage was well equiped and quite roomy. The bathroom did not have a bath which was no problem to us but was also quite a good size room. The bed was king size and was quite comfortable. There was no air conditioning which made the nights hot as the wonderful breeze you get during the day totally dies at night. We did make good use of the ceiling fan though. We didn't really have many mossies but did get a plaque of wasps just before we left that were quite unsettling and was a deterrant from sitting on the great balcony. The balcony was exceptionally good as it was quite big and was totally under cover so when it rained you could still sit outside and not get wet. The area was very quiet with only the odd builder's noise from next door. You can walk easily along the beachfront to various restaurants but you do need a torch as it gets quite dark.
All in all I would recommend Muri Beach Cottages and would have no hesitation in staying there again. Thanks Gwen for your hospitality.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lovescruising
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2009

We based our booking mainly on the reviews here on Tripadvisor. We'd decided Muri was the only place we wanted to stay on Rarotonga and Muri Beach Cottages looked like it would be everything we wanted.

Gwen, the fabulous owner, responded very promptly to all of our enquiries. After discussion with Gwen we decided on booking the Pole House. It's position over the rocks and great looking deck sold us. The bed up on the loft platform looked fun.

It looked fun, but really it wasn't.

We arrived very late at night and it was pitch black and wet and all we wanted to do was sleep. From the moment I scaled the ladder I wasn't comfortable up on the platform - wasn't willing to get up during the night to use the loo, was worried about rolling over and then off. I know unlikely, but it did my head in. I'm not unfit or incapable - I'm a regular 46yo male who rides a pushbike to work every day - but the lack of any barrier around the edge of the platform, the steepness of the ladder, my growing fear of heights, all added up to this not going to work.

Daylight gave us an opportunity to see where we would stay for the next five nights. The position and the deck can't be beat. The pole house itself though is very small and dated. The deck is uncovered so you either sit in the sun or inside. If it rains, you sit inside.

When Gwen came over to introduce herself - what an amazing lady - I told her that I wasn't comfy and Gwen offered to move us into one of the other cottages if she could fit it in. Gwen called back and said we could and that she'd get it ready for us the next morning.

Another night was definitely enough for me.

The single level cottage was a revelation. It was fantastic.

There are two on site. One between the Pole House and Gwen's house and the one we stayed in between the Pole House and Te Manava. They are exactly the same, just the view a bit different. It was huge, had a terrific kitchen and bathroom. Bed was hard as a rock but Gwen told us that the foam underlay that was going on the mattress had just arrived into Raro and was up at the dock at Avarua. Luckily we don't mind a hard bed. The verandah was huge, and covered - it rained one day and it was so relaxing to just sit out on the verandah and read, looking out across the lagoon. We would have been stuck inside the pole house.

Location was perfect for us. View from any of the cottages is superb, although the pole house wins that contest hands down. Easy walk to the restaurants and shops of Muri. very dark at night though and a torch is a must either for the beach walk or the road walk. Quite a few mossies around although we ahd brought plenty of presonal repellant for our follwing stay on Aitutaki. The cottage itself had bug spray and it was screened. We're Aussies - ants, flies, bugs, spiders don't worry uslike they seem to bother others. You just spray 'em and they're gone.

We'd asked Gwen if we needed to bring snorkelling gear. Gwen advsied that she had some on site. If you are an avid snorkeller and have your own stuff, and can fit it in your luggage, bring it. I have big feet and none of the flippers would fit me. The goggles were ok but if all three cottages were occupied chances are youd miss out. Lots of kids size stuff though. Also, bring reef shoes or sandals that you can wear in the water. The lagoon is great fun to walk across and have a snorkel in but you need something on your feet.

We loved our stay at Muri Beach Cottages. We loved Gwen. We loved Muri Beach. We loved Sails Restaurant and the Barefoot Bar at the Pacific Resort. We loved Delilicious. We loved Deli Fine Foods. We loved the service station that sold everything from fuel to beer and wine (and frangipani scented mossie coils). We loved the bus service. We loved Pa's Mountain Walk. We loved Trader Jacks in Avarua.

The only thing we didn't love was leaving.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank pandaboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
1.2 km away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
5.4 km away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
565 reviews
0.1 km away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
0.8 km away
Muri Beachcomber
Muri Beachcomber
#1 of 17 in Muri
522 reviews
8.4 km away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muri Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muri Beach Cottages

Address: PO Box 184, Muri, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Muri
Price Range: $167 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer no TV, just stars above, beaches to comb, waves to observe, books to read, geckos to name (and not feed), gardens to relax in and sunrises to admire ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Muri Beach Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muri Beach Cottages Hotel Muri
Muri Beach Cottages Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing