We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Kasuitei Oya(Fujikawaguchiko-machi)
USD 585
USD 530
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
K's House Mt. Fuji(Fujikawaguchiko-machi)(Great Value!)
USD 282
USD 78
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Land Hotel Mizunosato(Fujikawaguchiko-machi)
USD 656
USD 640
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel New Century(Fujikawaguchiko-machi)
USD 621
USD 233
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Breezbay Lake Resort Kawaguchiko(Fujikawaguchiko-machi)
USD 482
USD 292
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mizuno Hotel(Fujikawaguchiko-machi)
USD 1,007
USD 885
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kawaguchiko Country Cottage Ban(Fujikawaguchiko-machi)
USD 1,705
USD 602
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Koryu(Fujikawaguchiko-machi)(Great Value!)
USD 340
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Fuji Ginkei(Fujikawaguchiko-machi)
USD 506
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (188)
Filter reviews
188 results
Traveller rating
129
37
10
5
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
129
37
10
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsobservation deckryokan experiencegreat japanese experiencerooftop viewopen air bathprivate onsenexcellent staymassage chairmount fujikawaguchiko stationentire stayjapanese futonsprivate hot bathhot springsexcellent viewtraditional dinnerhotel service
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 188 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

The staff was very polite, welcoming, and friendly! Their English was understandable so I didn’t feel lost. The in room private bath and massage chair were the best amenities along side the amazing views! Also a great way to view Mount Fuji from the rooftop view!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank melissamvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
若草の宿丸栄, 若草の宿丸栄 at Wakakusa no Yado Maruei, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you very much for having stayed at our ryokan “Maruei”.
During your stay at our ryokan “Maruei”, it is our greatest pleasure to know that you have enjoyed.
We are very glad to receive your great feedback and honorable messages.
Thank you again and we all look forward welcoming back soon.
With warmest wishes,
Maruei

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

We were really impressed with this ryokan experience. The location is superb, and they collect you from the station when you arrive, as well as drop you after check out.

Food was one of the highlights for us, as you can see from the photos. Everything was delicious, with a great presentation.

The view of Fuji is unbeatable, both from the roof and from the onsens. Would definitely come back!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hector G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
若草の宿丸栄, 若草の宿丸栄 at Wakakusa no Yado Maruei, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you very much for having stayed at our ryokan “Maruei”.
During your stay at our ryokan “Maruei”, it is our greatest pleasure to know that you have enjoyed.
We are very glad to receive your great feedback and honorable messages.
Thank you again and we all look forward welcoming back soon.
With warmest wishes,
Maruei

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

We randomly ended up here, as we wanted to book on Lake Kawaguchi. All rooms overlook the lake, which is beautiful and serene. Roof observation deck has a perfect view of Fuji-San. We had the good fortune of three cloudless days. Spectacular! Highly recommend the private Onsen, from which there is a clear view of Fuji-San,we bathed each day (small price of 1,600-ish yen for 30 minutes) Great experience! Get a package that includes in room dinner... I'll post pictures as it's easier. Service was perfect. This is a very tradional place.(for example, no tattoos in the public baths..but private bath is...well private) Dinner is served in a very traditional, exact, and beautiful manner.. Be prepared to get mid day meal in town and vacate room from approx 10:30-1:00 for complete cleaning. No lunch here, but that allows time to explore.. We loved everything about this hotel!

Stayed: March 2018
1  Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
若草の宿丸栄, 若草の宿丸栄 at Wakakusa no Yado Maruei, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Thank you very much for having stayed at our ryokan “Maruei”.
During your stay at our ryokan “Maruei”, it is our greatest pleasure to know that you have enjoyed.
We are very glad to receive your great feedback and honorable messages.
Thank you again and we all look forward welcoming back soon.
With warmest wishes,
Maruei

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

We were here on our honeymoon and had a view of the lake with a private tub on our balcony. We stayed for 2 nights which was a perfect amount of time.

Upon arrival we received such great hospitality. They welcomed us with green tea and prepared us with instructions/rules in English. Most of the staff spoke English well enough, which made it easier on us.

The breakfast and dinner which we got included was worth it. Unique food for us but we welcomed something new and exciting.

The Onsen’s are not coed, but clean & simple. The outdoor one with the view of Mt Fuji is epic. However much like other places in Japan you can not wear a swimsuit to cover up and cannot have tattoos. They even state no tattoo cover ups. I simply would not return or recommend until all visitors are welcomed without judgement. It’s not worth it if you can’t use the onsen.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jessie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
若草の宿丸栄, 若草の宿丸栄 at Wakakusa no Yado Maruei, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Thank you very much for having stayed at our ryokan “Maruei”.

During your stay, we regret we could not make you much satisfied during your stay.

We are going to make an every effort to make our ryokan loved by all the guests.

Therefore, please choose our ryokan “Maruei” as one of your favorite ones when you visit Lake Kawaguchi again.

Thank you again and we all look forward welcoming back soon.

With warmest wishes,
Maruei

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

The room is very comfortable, and the service is excellent, all the staff was very friendly. We booked a private Onsen that was very relaxing. I recommend buying the room with dinner and breakfast included, dinner is served in the room in a very traditional way. We will surely return. // La habitación es muy comoda, y el servicio es excelente, todo el personal fue muy amable. Reservamos un Onsen privado que fue muy relajante. Les recomiendo comprar la habitación con cena y desayuno incluido, la cena es servida en la habitación de forma muy tradicional. Con seguridad volvemos.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AnaC M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
若草の宿丸栄, 若草の宿丸栄 at Wakakusa no Yado Maruei, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Thank you very much for having stayed at our ryokan “Maruei”.
During your stay at our ryokan “Maruei”, it is our greatest pleasure to know that you have enjoyed.
We are very glad to receive your great feedback and honorable messages.
Thank you again and we all look forward welcoming back soon.
With warmest wishes,
Maruei

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews