We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,829)
Filter reviews
2,829 results
Traveller rating
1,837
641
214
70
67
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,837
641
214
70
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thai restaurant the banyan tree caravela restaurant north goa beach house beautiful property the cottages pool bar sea view private beach duty manager clean beach family holiday in room dining special mention memorable stay housekeeping staff
Filter
Updating list...
2,707 - 2,712 of 2,829 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2009

we were 6 friends at a forum retreat and the cottage at taj goa was perfect to have our discussions and yet enjoy the hotel services

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank skhemka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2009

Too good. Lovely Huts. Beautifully managed. Loved the green beach.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Zico_Del
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2009

Excellent staff and service..........very courteous and understanding.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank chetanbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2009

We booked a 4D/3N sea view cottage, all inclusive package directly from Taj hotel website, which cost Rs32,700.
We were supposed to take the hotel's complimentary shuttle bus, but it was full and coincidently there were drop off at the airport so the staff who receive us(he was quite cranky, maybe due to the heat) ask us to get into their Innova van and for free!
Check in was fast and coconut juice were served on arrival. Immediately we were buggy-off to our sea view cottage (only a glimpse from afar). It was not a stand alone cottage but there's another unit attached next door. Room was not very spacious but quite cozy and comfortable. A small walk-in closet; digital weighing machine. Bathtub with shower-head and separate shower cubicle. Toiletries from Forest Essential(famous Indian brand; Estee Lauder has stake in it). Bathrobe provided but not slippers. The tile floor can get very dirty and sandy especially after we walked back from the pool or beach and the 'iron' made floor mat didn't help either. Apples and 2 small bottles of water were provided. Our cottage is just literally a few steps away from the baby pool which was great!
Breakfast and lunch were in Caravela restaurant by the beach. Not much variety of food, mostly veg Indian but do have international section but not much. We went to Bon Appetite twice, which was very near.
Daily kids activities, chargeable from Rs150 to 300 +. But kids can play at the centre for free, they have board games, drawings, toys, tv, computer games, books. They have novels for adults too. No need to bring.
The extra bed that they given initially was, literally, a thin slice of mattress without the bedsheet and blanket. After a talk with the duty manager that we reserved the extra bed during our confirmation weeks ago, then only a foldable bed frame were given and 3 housekeeping staff done up the bed within minutes. But is still the same slice of mattress and not what you would expect from a 4/5 star property.
I must say that the staff were great.
Overall we had an enjoyable and wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank baecc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2009

Our stay in March followed a stay of four days at the Holiday Inn Resort in South Goa. The Taj has a lot to learn from the Holiday Inn. The room at the Taj Holiday village was lovely and so were the grounds, but that is just about all I can say that was nice.

Access to the almost non-existant stretch of beach was precarious verging on dangerous, with just one rickety metal stairway spanning what is left of the edge of the compound. Severe erosion all along this stretch of the beach has caused much of the "prominade " to just crumble away. This must now rank as one one the worst stretches of beach in Goa.

Restaurants on site were serving grossly overpriced food from an unimaginative set of menus, and the food was poorly presented and bland. The service at the restaurants was truly aweful. On one occasion we were given our wine in tumblers because they couldnt be bothered to get more wine glasses from the other restaurant. Our servers were routinely patronizing and impolite and only seemed interested in our service once we had made a complaint.

The pool was nice and the staff at the pool bar were absolutely first class. Being at the pool bar was like being in a different hotel.

Our overall impression of the Taj Holiday Resort is that it is being wound down. There is no evidence of any new money being invested in the site, but there is a great deal of decay, neglect, lack of freshness etc, and nowhere is this more evident than on the beach vistas, with taped off areas keeping customers awy from the dangerous subsidences.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews