We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,830)
Filter reviews
2,832 results
Traveller rating
1,839
641
214
70
68
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,839
641
214
70
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thai restaurant the banyan tree caravela restaurant north goa beach house beautiful property the cottages pool bar sea view private beach duty manager clean beach family holiday in room dining special mention memorable stay housekeeping staff
Filter
Updating list...
2,265 - 2,270 of 2,832 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2012

We stayed here in 2011 and had a very good experience overall. Perfect for relaxing and having a nice time within its premises.
The sea side restaurant has a terrific view during the summer sunset.Service was average.

Room Tip: Cottages closer towards the sea are quieter and relaxing.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivek V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We were at the holiday village last year, and had a good experience overall. Our toddler found the vast manicured lawns a great place to just run about, and the grown-ups could just laze around. The property is fab, but has begun showing age now - the sofas and the floor had mild stains. The reception staff was exceptional, and had a surprise ready for our kid on arrival. The staff at the restaurant seemed to be trained only in asking room numbers - we missed the classical Taj hospitality here. It was really annoying, but perhaps this is where they distinguish between the Vivanta and Taj brands. We had befriended the F&B manager though, who took good care of us. The swimming pool is great, but the lifeguard seemed to naturally gravitate towards where he thought the big tips would come from, totally ignoring the rest of the crowd. Great private beach too, and it was clean when we visited. Finally, fairly good food too, but not exceptional.

In summary, the holiday village is not exceptionally good at any one particular aspect, instead just a package of many good things put together. I would consider visiting again, but only if I got a sweet deal.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VinodShankar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

We spend our honeymoon in Goa at Taj Village and returned several times over the years to re-capture the sentiment.

Unfortunately, our check in experience this August was a nightmare: we were given the worst possible room near a junk yard and when we objected, were shown a couple more equally terrible rooms. Exasperated and very upset, we asked to meet the hotel manager. After more than an hour, we were finally settled into a nicer room, nearer the pool and sea. After that, our stay was what we had came back for: Goa in the rains: great ambiance with a good buffet breakfast (they make the best cappuccino and chocolate sauce for waffles), lush greenery, delightful peace and a great pool.

The staff were rather thoughtful: when they learnt we had first come here fifteen years ago, they decorated our bed with two swans made from bath towels.

The small strip of a beach is still a disappointment (even though the ugly, stranded ship has been finally removed), and there just never seemed to be enough umbrellas available for guests to use. If you plan to use the spa, it's very small, so book a spot way before you arrive..

Room Tip: Don't settle for a room you don't like as it will spoil your experience of the hotel
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LaTorte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

The hotel is perfect for relaxing and having a nice time. The only bad thing we experienced was the checkin. It seems they were thinking "two men from middle europe - they will not complain" -> and gave us the worst possible room. Directly related at the ugliest place at the engines of the water tanks and electricity with really lots of noise 24hours per day. The view directly on these engines and the waste around. We had to first nicely then bit more strictly and finally very upset tell them that this is a no go. After all we got a nice room far away from this near the pool.

I would say: perfect hotel if you get a nice bungalow. But if not - you have to fight.

Room Tip: The near to the pool - the better. Tell them in the checkin you want to see at least two rooms and really look around the bungalow if its near to this ugly noisy engine park.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SwissMan31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

We arrived at this hotel and had trouble getting into the hotel compound as the security staff at the entrance would not let us in without seeing our passports and booking, having eventually got into the hotel area our check-in took 4 hours, the rooms they showed us were not clean, they had the toilet seat hanging off the toilet, mud on the floor, stains on the walls and sofa and very dirty bathroom. The night manager eventually offered a twin room saying that it was the only room left, we explained that we had paid for a king room and refused to accept the twin, he walked off leaving us in reception with no room.
We called the manager who spoke to the night manager when he returned and then miraculously gave us a king room even though he had told us there were none left. We had to clean the bathroom ourselves at 1am in the morning 4 hours after we had arrived at the hotel.
The next morning we went to breakfast which is held in a large barn building with tarpaulin roof, it is chaos with hundreds of guests trying to find a clean table - none of the tables are cleaned when guests leave, we struggled to get served - there was no coffee and no butter, the waitress was more concerned in finding out our room number than helping us.
We complained to the manager again as we were unable to get breakfast, the manager - Mr Srivastana, who seemed uninterested and unable to do anything about our experience, we then find out that he is not in fact the manager he is an assistant manager. We are then introduced to the manager who does try to help us and listens to our problems with check-in, dirty rooms and breakfast.
The service in this hotel is terrible, the staff have no training - especially reception staff who seem unable to use a computer, are rude to customers and have no systems or proper management.
There are regular power cuts each evening in the hotel, and building works are ongoing around the restaurant areas. The hotel gardens have collapsed onto the beach in front of the hotel and there is a very unsightly pile of rubble and earth along the length of the beach area.
The General Manager did try to help us and also put us in touch with Deepak one of the restaurant staff who seemed to be the only member of staff in the whole place who really knew what he was doing.
The last straw in this hotel was when dark brown water started coming out of the bathroom taps and toilet, they explained that the water filters had broken and needed to be replaced - we were unable to wash or shower.
We would not recommend staying here unless you can cope with the unfriendly, unhelpful staff and substandard accommodation.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews