We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful. Perfect getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relax and unwind on the large, cool patio
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Relax and unwind on the large, cool patio
Large room with air conditioning
large cupboard with a safe for your valuables
The view from the queen size bed
Bright bathroom with walk in shower
large bathroom with lots of driftwood surprises!
Fully equipped kitchen with gas hob and mini oven
Looking towards the beach
Lie on your own sunbed in the tranquil garden
View from the verandah
Laborie Beach
Spectacular sunsets
Another sunset
The beach in front of the house
Laborie Beach, just a few steps from the cottage
Mama Tilly. Strong rum punch and great food!
Looking towards Laborie village
Looking out to sea early in the morning
Laborie village...a hidden gem!
The famous Pitons!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Laborie, Laborie Quarter, St. Lucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
anniefcha...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful. Perfect getaway”
Reviewed 23 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Driftwood for a week and loved it. The beach nearby is one of the most beautiful on the island, relaxed and friendly and you can walk along the beach into Laborie village to pick up supplies. Jan and Tony were such great hosts, they gave us loads of tips for places to go on the island. A real highlight was the mineral waterfall and a pretty tough walk up Gros Piton. Hard work, but the tropical forest at the top and a swim at the beach at the bottom was well worth the hike. We loved eating at Mama Tilly's and Mama Rose's in Laborie. Try the dish of the day at Mama Roses's. Such a great holiday. Highly, highly recommended.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jemmachar...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely place, lovely people”
Reviewed 23 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely time staying in driftwood. We couldn't have asked for a nicer st lucian village to stay in, everyone is so friendly, you can experience the real st lucian life. Driftwood is right on the beach and so picturesque.
We enjoyed a morning tea on the veranda and getting pastries from the bakery in the village before exploring the island in the day.

Tony and Jan are perfect hosts, so helpful and knowledgeable.

Would love to visit again one day.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_and...
Llanymynech, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Paradise personified!”
Reviewed 9 May 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Well, we've finally had to accept that we have returned home, and it's not a bad dream!

We stayed in Driftwood for most of our month in Laborie (had a few days in Bay Treehouse, which we're reviewing separately), and truly could not have wished to have been anywhere else.

All the good points mentioned by other people are echoed by us, and we would add that during our four weeks here we only left Laborie on two days ~ our view was simply "why would anybody wish to stay anywhere else?"

Tony and Jan were the most amazing hosts, and were extremely kind and helpful over our need to cancel last year's holiday the week before we were due to fly out. We had some fabulous times with them, having so much in common (motorcycles being just one interest).

Absolutely nothing was too much trouble (hopefully) ~ a suggestion that a shelf in the bathroom would be useful resulted in a unit being made by Tony that afternoon, and in situ the following day! The driftwood fittings in the bathroom and around the cottage itself were lovely (we fell in love with the loo-roll holder!), and everything was of a first-class standard.

We just loved chilling out on the verandah when we weren't in the sun on the beach, and were adopted by a delightful couple of children from next door.

Wandering into the village for supplies was easy, and we always walked back along the beach. Without exception, everybody said hello with a smile, and we had some impromptu chats with some of the lads (and our first taste of Bounty rum), and a lesson in how to prepare coconuts from some of the elders. We watched the local inter-schools sports day, and an inter-village cricket match on the recreation ground: the locals freely chatting with us on both occasions.

We could go on and on, but will just say that you will not regret your decision to stay here, and are happy to answer any questions you may have.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Too difficult to pick one thing!
Liked least: A noisy dog in a neighbouring property.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
315rogerg
Chilliwack, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 4 March 2016 for a stay in January 2016

This property is absolutely amazing as are the hosts! My wife and I just returned from a 4 1/2 week vacation in the Caribbean traveling to St. Lucia, Martinique and Guadeloupe. Of all the places we stayed in this was by far and away our favorite. The cottage is immaculate and wonderfully finished. It is totally self-contained. The beach is a 10 second walk away and the hosts can't do enough for you. Tony picked this up on arrival and also drove is up to the north of the island for an interisland flight which leaves from another airport. Laborie is a wonderful little community... people are amazingly friendly. The beach in front of the property is clean, safe and the swimming is also really safe. If you plan to go there make sure that Tony hooks you up with Lincoln who can take you on excursions and also come to the unit and cook you dinner. He cooked us an amazing lobster dinner with two whole lobsters he had caught that morning plus all of the trimmings for $50 total including cooking and cleaning up after. It was probably the best meal we had on our whole for half week trip including supposedly hold cuisine on some of the French islands.. Also don't miss a meal AND the spiced rum at Mama Tilly's'!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steholl
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Charming Cottage!”
Reviewed 12 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Driftwood by the Beach is absolutely the most charming little cottage we have ever stayed in! The vibrant colors, standout cleanliness, and the detailed accommodations were simply amazing. The hammock chair on the wrap around porch was a dream come true for relaxation :-) Tony & Jan, the hosts for Driftwood, Bay Treehouse & Mango Splash were incredible. They know the locals around that are able to hook you up with a great fun day! We couldn't have asked for a better stay in St. Lucia. It was so enjoyable and relaxing living amongst the locals in Laborie. If you are brave enough to drive while on the island, Tony & Jan have a rental car you can use. We weren't brave enough. We just couldn't get used to driving on the left side of the road.
Oh, and if you enjoy hunting for sea glass...Laborie Beach, just out the door from Driftwood is the place to hunt it!! The best sea glass hunting out of 4 Caribbean islands that we visited this trip! Thanks again Tony & Jan!! You are on our return trip list :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing