We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This is the real deal”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Laborie, Laborie Quarter, St. Lucia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
DinoTilto...
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“This is the real deal”
Reviewed 2 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Laborie is about as far away from the resorts around Rodney Bay in both distance and atmosphere as you can get. It’s a friendly village where you wake up to the sound of the conch shell being blown when the fish is in. There aren’t lines of restaurants serving cuisine from around the world, but who wants that when you can get the real St. Lucia deal in Laborie where the fun is visiting Ma Tilly, in her authentic local restaurant, and negotiating what she might cook for you the following day. Deliberating and debating with the locals in the rum shops over beer and rum punches is an experience beyond most Caribbean holidays. And the drinks are way cheaper than in the bland tourist resorts. Don’t miss the Big Bamboo which is party central on Friday and Saturday.

This comfortable apartment is at the edge of the village, up a steep hill, with a balcony overlooking the bay and some amazing sunsets. It’s perfect if you enjoy shopping for local food and eating dinner whilst listening to the sound of people and animals going about their business- from the early morning cockerels and reggae music to the lulling sound of cicadas.

Gill and Dave live in the adjoining house and made us very welcome. Gill was helpful advising us where to go and what to do. Dave helped us with lifts and arranged our car hire us which was great fun, although the Laborie beach is one that you could relax on (often with no other tourists in sight) day after day.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricaJM
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good apartment with great view from the balony”
Reviewed 19 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Just returned from a week at White Cedar, Bay View, Laborie and wished we could have stayed longer. The apartment was very comfortable and stylish,with a brilliant balcony. The view over the bay and the village was great with added bonus of frigate birds, bananaquits and hummingbirds. David and Gill were friendly and very helpful.It was good having them living on site: they even got some essential shopping in for our Sunday arrival.
Laborie is a characterful village with a couple of nice if very casual eating places. Dont expect smart.The people we met were courteous and friendly and we had no hassle from anyone anytime. The centre of the village is just a five minute walk down the hill- but a bit of a pull uphill on the way back. The beach is good all the way along and picture perfect Caribbean at the far end of the bay (about 10 minutes walk through the village)
We hired a vehicle and explored, but you could manage without. Lots to see and do in easy driving range. The roads are windy but nowhere near as bad as I feared except up in the mountains where they were suffering from the December rain storms
Little supermarket in the village but a much bigger one only 5 Km towards Vieux Fort with really good range.
We recommend for independent travelers who enjoy a bit of comfort.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Balcony and its view- though Gill and David a close second
Liked least: walk uphill from village- though only 5 minutes!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juddy2014
Keighley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great vacation, would highly recommend this holiday apartment.”
Reviewed 5 January 2014 for a stay in November 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for three weeks November/December and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves,
Gill and David were great and looked after us very well even picking us up from the airport and taking us back at the end of our stay.
The apartment was very well equipped and very well prepared and presented, the view over the bay from the balcony was the most fantastic we have ever seen, different sunset every evening.
Hope to return there someday

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Non.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2017
Unfortunately, we do not speak French and the guests knew very little English! We greeted them with Bonsoir, ca va but that is my limit! We asked a Local friend that understands French to help, on their first morning and they seemed happy with that and went out with him a few times during their stay.

I do not understand how we could be rude and prying. I had to empty the rubbish every day, they loved fish, so apart from that the apartment was cleaned and bedding/towels were changed on their sixth day .

They left the apartment at 4.30am, to take a ferry and my partner spoke to them as they went and seemed happy with their stay.

If you check our reviews, from previous guests, telling how we look after them. I believe it was because of the language barrier they thought we were rude?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catjp2015
Arras, France
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: la situation ,la vue de la terrasse et la disponibilité des proprietaires
Liked least: La cote pour monter au logement.........mais la vue est si belle!
Travelling group: Avec mon époux(se) / partenaire
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing