We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TASTELESS, STALE FOOD SERVED INDIFFERENTLY”
Review of Golden Palate

Golden Palate
Ranked #11 of 86 Restaurants in Mahabalipuram
Price range: USD 4 - USD 8
Restaurant details
Reviewed 14 September 2018

We went on a Monday afternoon for lunch. There were few diners in the vegetarian hall, the separate non-veg one being closed. As a precaution we asked the maitre d'hotel about the dishes he could recommend, and were assured that we could order anything and it would be prepared fresh. To be safe we ordered thali meals, since it was our experience that at least some items from the collection would be palatable. To our great disappointment all the dishes including the chapati were cold, or lukewarm at best. When the steamed rice was brought to be served, more disappointment was in store. In a south Indian restaurant one can be assured that at least the rice will be hot and fresh, but here it had obviously been re-heated !

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank deepakbhatia57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2018

We stayed at Hotel Mamalla Heritage and this restaurant is located on the ground floor. Had breakfast here - Good veg options, hygienic and healthy. Ambience is quite good. Staffs were helpful.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Dinesh_cbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

We came here for lunch after a long and tired walk to all the main monuments around this place. It was the closest and felt decent place at first. Went inside and were told that we need to wait for 15-20mins. They wrote down my name but the wait seemed forever. People were just walking in out of turn, no one was even bothered to check and call people who were waiting outside. Total mismanagement. We ourselves had to follow-up and finally after almost 30mins got a table. We were feeling very hungry and didn't wanted to experiment hence ordered thali. Never thought a thali takes so much time to be served. We had to check multiple times and finally we were served almost 20mins later. Service was extremely slow and it was the same across tables. Later we realized that the wait outside was not due to good food but because of super slow service which resulted in people wait endlessly both for food and for their turn. Taste of the food was very average and not at all worth 200/- for 1 thali. I think lack of proper restaurants nearby is one reason for the super expensive food. Try this place only if you don't find any other option.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank kevin4nivek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

I visited this so called “Heritage Hotel/ Restaurant “ on 29th July. The approach to the restaurant was nice which was surrounded by lush green plants and gave a nice serene feel. But when I entered , I ordered Masala Dosa , when it finally served , the sambhar was cold and I had to return it. The dosa filling was also not fresh. The ambiance was not good with dirty seats. I have attached some pictures for other travelers

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Sethi333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018

The hotel staff were good but on a weekday morning at at 8AM ONLY Plain Dosa and Poori were available. And it was just ok.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Naveen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Golden Palate also viewed

Mahabalipuram, Kanchipuram District
Mahabalipuram, Kanchipuram District
 
Mahabalipuram, Kanchipuram District
Mahabalipuram, Kanchipuram District
 
Mahabalipuram, Kanchipuram District
Mahabalipuram, Kanchipuram District
 

Been to Golden Palate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing