We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveller rating
4
5
2
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
5
2
3
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 15 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2014

The host Lutz is nice, helpful and always up to some chatting. The rooms (with own bathroom) are directly at the fishermen's beach in the "Backpackistan" area of the town. Walk 200m along the beach for a morning swim, catch a glimpse of the shore temple from your terrace. Best value for least money we could find in that area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank derPaolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This is a working fishing village and has not been overwhelmed by tourists yet, thank goodness. Nice atmosphere and friendly people. In the main street I saw only 2 local stone carvers; sadly, many shops seem to have been taken over by outsiders selling the usual tourist tat.
Lutz is being refurbished so I took room A which was OK for 500/-. I think the owner stays in this room so its well maintained. Balcony overlooking the beach, some comfy chairs to watch all the comings and goings. Beach cafes nearby.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

This has got to rate as the worst experience of hospitality I have ever experienced.
Dirty rooms, filthy bedding and matress and hardly ever any electricity.
Way overpriced and unfriendly owners. Only interested in taking your money.
Outside the local so-called fishermen community sit all around and drink and play cards arguing and making you feel very u comfortable.
You are woken at all hours by dogs, boats and noise from neighbouring bar.
You are well advised to steer clear and go to a place in the town which is very much cheaper, has electricity and hot water even in the powercuts which are very frequent.
Rooms never get cleaned and towels never changed.
The only thing going for it is that it's on the beach. BUT ... The beach is filthy, overrun by dogs and occupied by many boats and unfriendly 'fishermen' who mostly scowl at you.
In all the resort is nothing special at all and if you want to see the temples do it on a day trip, in and out.
Head for Pondicherry which is far more welcoming, cleaner and a much better option.
Totally disappointed and will never go back. India is much better than this.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ataconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

I booked Lutz Guesthouse after finding their website through a Google search.It sounded quite good and I really wanted to be on the beach. I reserved the best room with balcony and airconand was quoted 1400 rps.
When we arrived ( by crossing then open,sewer ) taken through the empty ground,floor ( used to be the restaurant ) and up the unlit stairs ( dead bulbs in the lights ) we were taken to a side room which had blood stains,on the walls, materess with holes ( insects?) And 1 very dubious looking sheet. THE towel was stained,too and I asked,for it to be changed. The gentleman who was extremely courteous apologized and said he would charge us 1000rps only. We should have left and found somewhere else but the sound of the waves breaking on the shore and the wonderful breeze convinced me to stay. Big mistake as all through the night wild cats screamed, dogs barked and banging and clattering from the next door fishermens houses would have woken the dead. The electricity went off, there was no hot water and all that remained for us to do was to discuss with the manager a refund of 400rps because we had found out in the meantime that the room rate for our room was only 600rps instead of the 1000rps we paid! INCREDIBLE INDIA!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fiona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We really loved to stay at Lutz Guesthouse. Location wise, it's fantastic. There are 4 rooms, 2 with balcony facing the sea, where you can easily chill out all day long. The rooms are basic at reasonable prices, all you need. They had no hot water, but we didn't miss it. The "manager" Kutty is very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately the restaurant was closed when we arrived but there were plenty others near by. We enjoyed ourselves very much and look forward to come back soon.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
1  Thank Elke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews