We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing view but needs development”
Review of Lutz Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mahabalipuram
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lutz Guesthouse
Ranked #15 of 35 Mahabalipuram B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 January 2015 via mobile

The guest house is not yet complete and the rooms were in bad shape. However it is located right on the beach and the rooms overlook the waves, an excellent location and sitting arrangement. We were charged 1000 rs per room and for the price it worked well.

The manager (Shankar) was a helpful and great guy.

Stayed: January 2015
Thank Parmeet01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2014

The host Lutz is nice, helpful and always up to some chatting. The rooms (with own bathroom) are directly at the fishermen's beach in the "Backpackistan" area of the town. Walk 200m along the beach for a morning swim, catch a glimpse of the shore temple from your terrace. Best value for least money we could find in that area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank derPaolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This is a working fishing village and has not been overwhelmed by tourists yet, thank goodness. Nice atmosphere and friendly people. In the main street I saw only 2 local stone carvers; sadly, many shops seem to have been taken over by outsiders selling the usual tourist tat.
Lutz is being refurbished so I took room A which was OK for 500/-. I think the owner stays in this room so its well maintained. Balcony overlooking the beach, some comfy chairs to watch all the comings and goings. Beach cafes nearby.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

This has got to rate as the worst experience of hospitality I have ever experienced.
Dirty rooms, filthy bedding and matress and hardly ever any electricity.
Way overpriced and unfriendly owners. Only interested in taking your money.
Outside the local so-called fishermen community sit all around and drink and play cards arguing and making you feel very u comfortable.
You are woken at all hours by dogs, boats and noise from neighbouring bar.
You are well advised to steer clear and go to a place in the town which is very much cheaper, has electricity and hot water even in the powercuts which are very frequent.
Rooms never get cleaned and towels never changed.
The only thing going for it is that it's on the beach. BUT ... The beach is filthy, overrun by dogs and occupied by many boats and unfriendly 'fishermen' who mostly scowl at you.
In all the resort is nothing special at all and if you want to see the temples do it on a day trip, in and out.
Head for Pondicherry which is far more welcoming, cleaner and a much better option.
Totally disappointed and will never go back. India is much better than this.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ataconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

I booked Lutz Guesthouse after finding their website through a Google search.It sounded quite good and I really wanted to be on the beach. I reserved the best room with balcony and airconand was quoted 1400 rps.
When we arrived ( by crossing then open,sewer ) taken through the empty ground,floor ( used to be the restaurant ) and up the unlit stairs ( dead bulbs in the lights ) we were taken to a side room which had blood stains,on the walls, materess with holes ( insects?) And 1 very dubious looking sheet. THE towel was stained,too and I asked,for it to be changed. The gentleman who was extremely courteous apologized and said he would charge us 1000rps only. We should have left and found somewhere else but the sound of the waves breaking on the shore and the wonderful breeze convinced me to stay. Big mistake as all through the night wild cats screamed, dogs barked and banging and clattering from the next door fishermens houses would have woken the dead. The electricity went off, there was no hot water and all that remained for us to do was to discuss with the manager a refund of 400rps because we had found out in the meantime that the room rate for our room was only 600rps instead of the 1000rps we paid! INCREDIBLE INDIA!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fiona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mahabalipuram hotels
4.8 km away
Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram
0.7 km away
Ideal Beach Resort
Ideal Beach Resort
#5 of 28 in Mahabalipuram
928 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Ramakrishna
Hotel Ramakrishna
#18 of 28 in Mahabalipuram
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 km away
InterContinental Chennai Mahabalipuram Resort
1.2 km away
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
#3 of 28 in Mahabalipuram
425 reviews
1.2 km away
Chariot Beach Resort
Chariot Beach Resort
#6 of 28 in Mahabalipuram
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lutz Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lutz Guesthouse

Address: Beach, Mahabalipuram, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Kanchipuram District > Mahabalipuram
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Mahabalipuram
Price Range: $8 - $20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mahabs is just 50 kilometers south of the metropolis of Chennai, the Capital of Tamilnadu, India, location of an International Airport. Visitors from all over the world flock here to Mamallapuram to see the world famous 7th Century Pallava Dynasty Cave temples, including Arjuna's Penance and the often photographed Shore Temple, all Unesco World Heritage recognized monuments. When in Mammalapuram consider Lutz Guest House and Sonny's Restaurant as your first destination for budget lodging and food. We are located directly on the beach north of the Shore Temple and face into the constant sea breeze blowing off the Bay of Bengal. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing