We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic holiday experience”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front verandah of Chalet Hotaru with seating & gas BBQ
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Front verandah of Chalet Hotaru with seating & gas BBQ
' Bonsai'
Downstiars private couple's retreat with tatami mat flooring.
Japanese 'koto' zither and 'tokonoma' alcove with 'kakajiku' hanging scroll
Stairs to loft bedroom
Upstairs loft bedroom with QS platform bed, tatami mat flooring * roof windows
Authentic Japanese 'yukata' and 'obi' to wear during your stay.
Japanese 'zaisu' ( legless chairs ) and 'zabuton' (pillows)
View to downstairs living space from loft bedroom
Time for tea! ( Japanese 'Genmaicha' - tea, provided for guests )
Japanese 'o-sake', available for purchase on-site!
'O-furo' ...Luxurious bathroom with floor to ceiling tiling and Japanese hinoki stool and basin.
Japanese 'noren' - dividing curtain
View of the kitchenette/dining area
The Mily Way over the chalet. Photo courtesy of previous chalet guest.
Hamish and Wonkey Donkey
The ' Al-packer' family! Please enjoy feeding our furry menagerie.
Our friendly geese with attitude, 
 ' Frederik and Kirk'
View of Mt Warning from Terragon, just a few minutes from Uki village.
Cram's Farm Recreation Area...the Tweed's absolute ' hidden treasure'. A must-visit place and free!
Chalet Hotaru, Mt Warning....sor a little taste of Japan in the Northern Rivers
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Uki, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
csooshy
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday experience”
Reviewed 4 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Hi! I have just spent 10 blissful days over Christmas and New Year at the Hotaru Chalet. My initial brief was a desire to be immersed in nature and peace and quiet. I got much more value than that!

For starters, the chalet is a real hoot! Tastefully styled with original Japanese details such as tatami mats, beautiful ceramic bowls, lanterns and a selection of Japanese goodies, including teas, sake and glorious bath salts to soak in while looking onto the forest. As for me I especially loved my Japanese robe and slippers that are provided by Anita for the comfort of her guests.

I can easily say that value extends beyond having a nice place to stay. Anita and Andrew are attentive and very caring so be prepared to feel welcomed at the Chalet by everyone, including the farm animals! Anita will introduce you to an assorted collection of characters, such as Raymond the Rooster and Bruce the household ram!

Uki, where the "mountains meets the sky", promises to immerse you in the gentle magic of the native rain forest, staying at the Chalet introduces you to the exceptional welcome of very caring hosts. It's an experience you will remember!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2017
Dear Shirley, we very much appreciate you taking the time to review our accommodation and thank you for your very kind words. It is wonderful that we have been able to meet all of your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay at Chalet Hotaru.

It was a real pleasure to host you, and we would love to welcome you back here another time.

Thank you again for choosing to stay at Chalet Hotaru, Mt Warning.

Warm regards,

Anita & Andrew :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh C
Gold Coast, Australia
2 reviews
“A cultural country experience”
Reviewed 30 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

My family and I were keen to climb Mt Warning and on a friend's recommendation booked four nights at Chalet Hotaru. From the moment we pushed back the Japanese wooden gate we were taken on a journey of cultural delight. The Chalet was extremely comfortable, clean and equipt with all the necessities along with several thoughtful additions to give us a truly authentic Japanese experience. A generous breakfast hamper was provided complimentary for the first morning of our stay and our children delighted in feeding a variety of animals each evening. The location of the Chalet provided us with the opportunity to easily explore all that the local district had to offer. Our hosts were wonderfully attentive to our needs across our four day stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Authentic Japanese styling, modern features, cleanliness, complimentary items.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2016
Dear Leigh and Family,

thank you for your wonderful feedback. It is much valued and appreciated. We are glad that you all enjoyed the Japanese theme of the chalet, as well as our funny menagerie of farmyard animals as well! It was a such a pleasure to have you and your family as our guests and would love to see you all back here one day. Thank you for choosing to stay at Chalet Hotaru, Mt Warning. :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123Perth
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely faultness! Amazing chalet, beautiful scenery and gorgeous host!”
Reviewed 29 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We cant recommend Chalet Hotaru enough! From the moment we arrived to the moment we departed it was 5 star all the way. The beautifully appointed chalet was immaculately presented. Very clean, good quality furnishings and filled with every convenience needed for an enjoyable stay.

The bed was very comfortable to sleep in. The bath was amazing. The property is cradled in close proximity to mt warning. The gardens are lush and well cared for.

Anita and her family were just perfect hosts, nothing was too much trouble. A big shout out to Oscar for being so knowledgeable about the farm animals and the local attractions ....he was such a wonderful clever young man

So do yourself a favour and treat yourself to a wonderful relaxing stay at Chalet Hotaru. ..you won't be disappointed! We will be back ☺

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2016
Thank you very much Gaina, for taking the time to leave a review and such positive feedback. We are so glad everything at Chalet Hotaru met with your expectations. Please do come stay again one day!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 172
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing