We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of PREUIL COTTAGE

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Saint-Amand-Montrond, Cher, Berry, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Lisa R
Tyne and Wear, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 15 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This is the best gite we have stayed in - and we have stayed in quite a few. Preuil Cottage was the cleanest, and best equipped gite. During our trip this year, we have stayed in 4 gites in France, Preuil Cottage was the first on our trip and was by far the best. Each gite we stayed in after Preuil was a let down. Quite simply we wish every gite was to this standard of cleanliness, condition, and facilities which were offered. The kindness and hospitality from Bernard and Marie was great and the private pool and having access to the ground of the chateau was superb. If ever we are in that area of France again I would stay there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The gite, the pool, the chateau grounds
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
Thank you Lisa and Mark,
We were delighted to welcome your lovely family and are very happy you enjoyed your holiday in our gite.

Warm regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faversham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Mosquitoes
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 Aug 2014
Hello Anadrea, Simon, Fionn and Mea,
We are grateful to you for your review and happy that you enjoyed your family holidays at Preuil Cottage.

best regards from Marie, Bernard and chloé
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amanscoem
United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply Perfect”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Couldn't have asked for more! Gite is bright, airy and comfortable with everything that you need. Surrounding estate parkland is beautiful and perfect for cycling, running and walking. Swimming pool fantastic. Our boys had a great time wildlife spotting. Didn't really need to leave the gite as there is so much to do yet it is a truly relaxing and tranquil hoilday home. The host are wonderful and very friendly. We will be back next year!

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_E...
East Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“We have booked next year already”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

A quiet, comfortable cottage in the middle of France for two weeks was what we were looking for, and that is what we received. It was pet free, WiFi, non smoking and a fabulous swimming pool.

The house has a large open plan living and kitchen area. It is well equipped but the only slight compromise is that the oven is a combination oven/microwave rather than a conventional oven. There is a standard 4 ring gas hob, dish washer and good sized fridge/freezer.

3 comfortable rooms and large bathroom, all spotlessly clean..

We had some very enjoyable walks, sometime just around the estate, or in the area, not needing to take the car anywhere. There is a village a few Km away for morning croissants , and a good sized supermarket about 10Km away.

The owners made us extremely welcome and we have booked to go back next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Swimming pool
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abby P
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just perfectly wonderful”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

I can’t rave about this holiday home enough- The Cottage was incredibly spacious and kept to a very high standard. The Pool was heated to a nice warm temperature and the grounds of the Chateaux were second to none. Surrounded by woodlands, meadows and paddocks not to mention the beautiful Chateaux itself we had absolute privacy in an idyllic setting.

My Children particularly loved the Horses who were very friendly and very receptive to a carrot or two. The entire trip left us so relaxed it was completely care free.

Bernard and Marie were the perfect hosts, we wanted for nothing at all but were also left to our own devices they had the balance just right. We were invited to the Chateaux to sample Marie’s homemade samosas and some wonderful rum. I can’t praise them enough for providing my family with a glorious place to unwind and relax.

As for recommending this holiday rental to a friend, I already have and work colleagues alike. I would definitely return again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it- the cottage/pool/surroundings
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 210
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing