We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning cottage in peaceful surroundings”
other travellers have booked this property
Broomholmknowe Cottage was renovated in 2015 and sits on a private 75 acre fishing estate.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Broomholmknowe Cottage was renovated in 2015 and sits on a private 75 acre fishing estate.
Located 1/2 mile from Langholm. Perfectly positioned for the Borders and Cumbria. Wonderful walks, cycling or visiting the local attractions. The cottage is located on the Border Esk
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Broomholmknowe Cottage was renovated in 2015 and sits on a private 75 acre fishing estate.
Located 1/2 mile from Langholm. Perfectly positioned for the Borders and Cumbria.
Wonderful walks, cycling or visiting the local attractions. The cottage is located on the Border Esk
The main bedroom with ensuite bathroom
The kitchen area which has a dishwasher and washing machine
The Kitchen
The sitting room which has a fireplace, tv with sky, wifi and writing desk
The view from the sitting room towards the hall and kitchen
The hall area
One of the three bedrooms
The second bathroom which is shared by the two bedrooms
There is a terrace area at Broomholmknowe with table, chairs and BBQ set.
The view from Broomholmknowe Cottage looking down towards the Upper Beat on the Border Esk
The view looking towards the Island on the Upper Beat
The view from the bridge looking down towards the Island Pool on the Upper Beat
The fishing hut on the lower beat which is perfect for lunches
Abbotsford. The famous home of Sir Walter Scott. Only 45 minutes away.
The beautiful and austere Hermitage Castle. Not far from Broomholmknowe Cottage
View in spring time looking towards Skippers bridge at Langholm
Summer is perfect for BBQ's on the terrace
Spring is a wonderful time to stay at Broomholm
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Langholm, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Barbara C
Rugby, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning cottage in peaceful surroundings”
Reviewed 29 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful spacious cottage with all the home comforts (including wifi for teenagers). Peaceful surrounds with great walks along the riverbank.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smashin99...
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage in perfect location”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

On our first stop over to this area we were lucky to stumble across Broomholmknowe Cottage. The cottage is situated down a private estate road, plenty of private parking. Entrance hall airy and spacious, all other rooms very tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. This was a brill find and our family was delighted in every way, we hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Idyllic location within easy reach of other amenities
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“A beautiful, tranquil part of the world, ideal for a complete rest.”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This was our second holiday in Scotland and it was as enjoyable as our first, when we travelled on the Caledonian Canal from Inverness to Fort William.

We chose this cottage because it was pet friendly and having two dogs, we do have some difficulty finding accommodation that is suitable for all the family.

The standard of accommodation was extremely high with a well equipped kitchen, barbeque area and lovely patio, which makes the most of the sunshine.

The internet access was welcomed by our two boys, who don't appear to be able to live without it, but for those of us who can, it is a truly relaxing spot. The walks along the River Esk were wonderful and at night, all you could hear was the odd hoot from an owl.

The town of Langholm is not too far a walk away and has a good variety of shops. The local Town Hall and Tourist Information Centre are worth a visit and we picked up a great leaflet about local walks in and around Langholm, so you don't need to drive everywhere, unless you want to.

We visited Gretna Green and Dumfries and on each occasion the journey was straightforward.

Overall, a welcoming cottage with very good faciities.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian W
Alpes
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect family cottage in Scotland”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Had a three day break in Broomholmknowe Cottage with my family and loved it, the cottage is of a high standard and the attention to details is great, little things like teddy's on the children's beds make it a home from home and the location is fantastic. Thank you very much to the owners and we will be returning very soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and high standard of cottage
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Badgie
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful cottage, lovely location, cannot recommend enough”
Reviewed 25 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful time at Broomholmknowe Cottage, arriving on Boxing Day 2013. The cottage is furnished to a very high standard, really comfortable and beautifully decorated with a very well equipped and spacious kitchen. Our 2 teenage sons thought it was the best cottage we have stayed in so far (& there have been quite a few!)- we agree! It is a nice 30 minute walk to town where you will find a couple of good pubs/cafes and a co-op supermarket. The cottage is set within extensive grounds with great walks from the doorstep - the scenery around the river is stunning. We are already planning our next stay- most definitely recommended! (The friendly owner is sometimes out of the country so response to enquiries can be delayed, but be patient- it's well worth the wait!)

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing