We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,220)
Filter reviews
1,220 results
Traveller rating
829
294
63
23
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
829
294
63
23
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private beach palm cove our honeymoon beach bar rock pools tropical rainforest beach front welcome drink the great barrier reef main building port douglas paperbark restaurant beachfront bungalow pizza night trinity beach cabin wallabies
Filter
Updating list...
950 - 955 of 1,220 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2009

My husband and I stayed at this resort for a wedding.

Resort

Great facilities with two pools scattered around the place pool towels are provided for, nice walking tracks leading to many bungalows which are all fairly private. There is only one restaurant and also a great little bar/shack located on their private beach. We attended a wedding right on the beach with lovely back drops of the tropical foliage, I would highly recommend this place for a wedding.

The Accomodation

Fairly basic, our bathroom was a decent size but some other' bungalows are smaller, it was a nice touch to have LCD tv in the room but really not enough channels to watch, on the plus side was the split system it worked great and was very quiet with the help of a fan in the bedroom and also one in the bathroom, our room was made up every day.

All the resort staff were very friendly and went out of the way to help you, and to answer your questions.

If you want to get out of the resort you may need a car, or you can organise at shuttle bus or tour there are no grocery stores/supermarkets or restaurants within walking distance.

Overall we really enjoyed this great resort and would recommend it to others look out for the wild turkeys, blue butterlies and beautiful gardens.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank busybeemk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2009

After being at a very quiet and peaceful place out in the bush for the previous week, we arrived here for a 3 night stay. It was a shock. There was a large wedding going on, so there was nowhere to park, and the place was comletely jam-packed with people. Staff took care of parking our car and getting our luggage to our room, which we appreciated. Reception staff was also very helpful and friendly. Our room was spacious and comfortable, but unfortunately, the person occupying a neighboring room had his TV blaring every afternoon until late in the evening, with all of his windows open, so it was not peaceful or quiet in our room. We had dinner at the hotel's restaurant, and the food was really excellent, but the service was terrible, and there was a family with small children playing very loudly in the nearby pool, right next to where we were eating, so we weren't able to find any peace there either. Then, unbelievably, another huge wedding party arrived the following day and another evening of loud revelry ensued! Finally, on our 3rd night, our TV-watching neighbor moved out and there were no wedding parties on the premises, and we got to experience what others seem to have enjoyed so much about Kewarra Beach. It's a nice enough place, albeit very touristy, and for such a large resort, it really ought to have at least a small gym. But we did have a positive experience on our 3rd night. We just realized that when we're visiting a new part of the world and spending this kind of money, we prefer smaller, more intimate accommodations that are much farther off the main tourist track.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LJEBishop_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CairnsManager, Manager at Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2009

Since this incident we have downsized all weddings to smaller less intrusive events and introduced strict conditions regarding noise and finishing times

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2009

My wife and I came to Kewarra for a chance to get away from the hustle and bustle of Melbourne. We were looking purely for a chance to relax... and that is exactly what we found. We opted to upgrade to the beachfront bungalows, placing us 50 meters or less from the beach... at an extra $30 a night, it was worth every penny!
The food was amazing, service was excellent and sincere, and setting was exceptional. I would come back here in a second!
Some people have complained about the rooms not being great for the price.. I was happy, but can see how some people would be disapointed. We virtually lived on our balconies.
One review suggested it was difficult to get anywhere. In contrast we found most of the tours collected us from our doorstep, and after a conversation with reception, we obtained a lift to the local shopping strip to get food and alcohol to avoid running up the bar/food tab. As mentioned in other reviews, the pizza was great (Kewarra Kitchen 4057-7111 :) )
The combination of a quiet beach with jellyfish nets and the remote rockpool (with waterfall) made for some fantastic afternoons.
I am not so sure this would be great for families... but our room was for only 2 people.
Breakfasts were ridiculously expensive, but were part of our package.. so it was not an issue.. they really helped to kick off a busy day.
To date (last night here tonight) my biggest gripe would be the inclusion of the Tjapukai night show as part of our package... it is truly the worst I have been to, and intend to give that feedback to the management.
It was a great way to have the blend of nature and your acommodation... we even had a Giant Tree Frog visit our balcony over a couple of evenings (see photo)
Highly recommended to couples.. and the wireless internet was great!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kosh18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2009

My 12-year-old son and I spent nearly a week at Kewarra Beach Resort using it as a home base as we traveled around this region of Australia. We did not have a rental car as we booked excursions in advance, and felt comfortably fine without car. If you are on a budget, a car would be particularly helpful as the on-site restaraunt is expensive. We did not mind the cost as the meals were all truly superb. Breakfast buffet was a perfect way to start the day, and we often ate lunch as part of a tour (SCUBA diving, trekking rain forest, touring Kurnada). When returning to the resort in the evening, we ate dinner there. Again, expensive, but for us we felt it was well worth it. The beach is a very short walk away (ie, on the edge of the property) and very nice. We would definitely stay there again. Palm Cove or Port Douglas would be fine options also, but we were very happy at Kewarra Beach Resort.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MaryLouPhelps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2009

Friendly staff, good food, excellent rooms (at the beach)

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chargijs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews