We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,240)
Filter reviews
1,240 results
Traveller rating
846
296
64
23
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
846
296
64
23
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private beach palm cove rainforest setting our honeymoon beach bar rock pools beach front welcome drink the great barrier reef main building port douglas paperbark restaurant pizza night beachfront bungalow tropical paradise hired a car trinity beach
Filter
Updating list...
631 - 636 of 1,240 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2012

This place is average. Nothing special. It needs a seriously good clean and a bit of updating. The grounds were filthy and were poorly maintained. The main building was great and the food and service were super. I just felt like our room could've been in any 3 star resort not that befitting of a 4-star. The pool was freezing and tiny. We took a walk around the grounds to the back and they looked like they hadn't been cleaned in months. In saying that, we were set on the beach and bar the first day (mothers day), it was relatively quiet and a nice place to relax during the day. I just never got the feeling that this place was worthy of it's 4-star reputation or the price tag.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Worems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kewarra, Manager at Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

We always greatly appreciate receiving feedback from our guests regardless of whether it is positive or negative. This particular review came as a bit of a suprise as the guests stayed 3 nights with us back in May 2011 and to submit a review 9 months later is somewhat unusual.
I have been able to refer back to that time and can confirm that very shortly before these guests stayed with us we had experienced some severe weather conditions bordering on cyclonic. This would account for the appearance of our grounds which I am happy to advise have been well and truly restored. It is also worth keeping in mind that our grounds are coastal rainforest which can often be misinterpreted as being untidy.

With regards to the pool, we actually have two pools our larger pool contains 220,000 litres and our smaller pool contains 110,000 litres. May is traditionally one of our cooler months of the year as we enter our winter months of June and July. This may have had some influence on the pool temperature that this reviewer refers to.

We are incredibly proud of our food and service and I was delighted to read that this couple thoroughly enjoyed this aspect of their stay. I was also pleased to read that they enjoyed the stunning location of their accommodation on our private beachfront.

In closing I was happy to read that the other reviews from this reviewer whilst visiting our beautiful region were all mainly very positive and therefore hopefully they left the region with fond memories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We have never ever stayed in a hotel like this. It was just perfect!
We got married there on the beach and we could have not asked for a better place.
The whole staff was so nice and helpful, we did not feel like guests but like friends.
There is absolutely nothing to complain about and the hardest choice we had to do during our stay was whether to swin in the clear ocean or in one of the two perfectly nice pools...
The food was always great.
Perfect place to relax and enjoy yourself. And if the lonely beach, the nice pools, the tasty food or the wild wallabies are not enough to be happy you can always book a great spa treatment (it´s the best!!!!).
We hope to get there again as soon as possible, because we never felt more comfortable ever!!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the Pandanus Bungalows and it was wonderful. We could spot a lot of wild animals from our balcony (even wallabies came to visit), it was very calm and the bungalow was very spacious.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StefanieJoerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Strayed here for a long weekend on the recommendation of a friend and it was gorgeous. We had a deluxe hut in the rainforest which over looked the creek(where there was a crock!) and we spent every evening on the balcony drinking wine and watching the wallabies eat beside the hut. The room was sensitively decorated to blend in with the environment but the bathroom really needed an upgrade; clean and did the job but just a little tired and dated when it's an upmarket hotel.

The foyer and dining area were lovely and set right in the middle of the rainforest but you could still see the beach. Dinner was delicious but not cheap! Breakfast was fabulous with lots of fresh fruit and cooked food to choose from. The coffee machine is 'DIY' and that can get very busy in the morning so you're standing for ages waiting to get coffee!

Staff arranged our barrier reef trip and pick up, and apart from terrible sea sickness that was fabulous. There was a supermarket and off liscence about 25 mins away but in the heat it feels longer! Good for stocking up on wine and snacks for the room though...

The Friday night live music night at the beach cafe is lovely. Pizzas very nice and you're sitting right on the beach.

A genuinely lovely resorts with great staff.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntoniaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We stayed for 10 days in January at Kewarra. The resort was not very busy due to the wet season, but the weather was unusually nice during our visit. It only rained 1 day during our 2 week trip.

We stayed in a Pipi Beach Bungalow. The accomodations were simple and clean. Our only complaint was the pillows were a bit stiff for our tastes. Even though we mostly kept to ourselves, the staff was always friendly.

The beach was beautiful and most of our visit we had it to ourselves. There is a swimming net right next to the resort's beachfront. Note the beach shack is closed during wet season and there is no drink service either. Both rock pools are nice and we spent quite a bit of time swimming in the nice shady oasis of trees. If you want to get drinks, you have to be dressed and go up to the main lodge. We stocked our fridge with drinks so not really an issue to us.

We only ate dinner one night at the restaurant, but it was nice and the freshly baked almond cake was divine. There were not many non-seafood choices, so we used our rental car to eat out in near by Trinity beach or even the 20 min drive back to Cairns. Having a rental car is highly recommended so that you have the freedom to get around and explore the area.

We would definitely recommend this resort and return for a relaxing beach retreat. This place is really for couples and not for families with younger children. There were a few while we stayed and crying babies and unruly kids at the pool can ruin the experience for others.

Room Tip: We would still chose a beach bungalow over the rainforest rooms.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drag0nfli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Stayed for 2 nights as a treat at the end of a months holiday touring Australia. From the moment we arrived we new we had made the right choice. Staff exceptionally friendly and couldn't have made us more welcome.
A magical place in a magical setting!! Many thanks for a wonderful stay xx

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews