We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect rainforest setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kewarra Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We stayed here on our honeymoon. When we first got there, we were given a welcome drink while being checked in. We had one of the least expensive rooms. It was fit in comfortably with the outdoor rainforest atmosphere. We had a king bed and a nice bathroom. The staff was kind enough to leave us a bottle of wine in our room. The staff was eager to help. We had the breakfast buffet which we found to have a good variety of good food. The grounds were lovely to walk, although at times, I got lost. We tried the pool, but it was too cold. I enjoyed seeing some wildlife like wallabies on the grounds. I felt like the woodsy outdoors atmosphere fit in perfectly with the surroundings. On Wednesday night, they had a live band out on the beach and we got some food from the beach shack that night. The only negatives were that it was expensive and not close to anything, but other than that, we liked it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angeleyes27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

564 - 568 of 1,158 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2012

This place is average. Nothing special. It needs a seriously good clean and a bit of updating. The grounds were filthy and were poorly maintained. The main building was great and the food and service were super. I just felt like our room could've been in any 3 star resort not that befitting of a 4-star. The pool was freezing and tiny. We took a walk around the grounds to the back and they looked like they hadn't been cleaned in months. In saying that, we were set on the beach and bar the first day (mothers day), it was relatively quiet and a nice place to relax during the day. I just never got the feeling that this place was worthy of it's 4-star reputation or the price tag.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Worems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kewarra, Manager at Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

We always greatly appreciate receiving feedback from our guests regardless of whether it is positive or negative. This particular review came as a bit of a suprise as the guests stayed 3 nights with us back in May 2011 and to submit a review 9 months later is somewhat unusual.
I have been able to refer back to that time and can confirm that very shortly before these guests stayed with us we had experienced some severe weather conditions bordering on cyclonic. This would account for the appearance of our grounds which I am happy to advise have been well and truly restored. It is also worth keeping in mind that our grounds are coastal rainforest which can often be misinterpreted as being untidy.

With regards to the pool, we actually have two pools our larger pool contains 220,000 litres and our smaller pool contains 110,000 litres. May is traditionally one of our cooler months of the year as we enter our winter months of June and July. This may have had some influence on the pool temperature that this reviewer refers to.

We are incredibly proud of our food and service and I was delighted to read that this couple thoroughly enjoyed this aspect of their stay. I was also pleased to read that they enjoyed the stunning location of their accommodation on our private beachfront.

In closing I was happy to read that the other reviews from this reviewer whilst visiting our beautiful region were all mainly very positive and therefore hopefully they left the region with fond memories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We have never ever stayed in a hotel like this. It was just perfect!
We got married there on the beach and we could have not asked for a better place.
The whole staff was so nice and helpful, we did not feel like guests but like friends.
There is absolutely nothing to complain about and the hardest choice we had to do during our stay was whether to swin in the clear ocean or in one of the two perfectly nice pools...
The food was always great.
Perfect place to relax and enjoy yourself. And if the lonely beach, the nice pools, the tasty food or the wild wallabies are not enough to be happy you can always book a great spa treatment (it´s the best!!!!).
We hope to get there again as soon as possible, because we never felt more comfortable ever!!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the Pandanus Bungalows and it was wonderful. We could spot a lot of wild animals...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StefanieJoerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Strayed here for a long weekend on the recommendation of a friend and it was gorgeous. We had a deluxe hut in the rainforest which over looked the creek(where there was a crock!) and we spent every evening on the balcony drinking wine and watching the wallabies eat beside the hut. The room was sensitively decorated to blend in with the environment but the bathroom really needed an upgrade; clean and did the job but just a little tired and dated when it's an upmarket hotel.

The foyer and dining area were lovely and set right in the middle of the rainforest but you could still see the beach. Dinner was delicious but not cheap! Breakfast was fabulous with lots of fresh fruit and cooked food to choose from. The coffee machine is 'DIY' and that can get very busy in the morning so you're standing for ages waiting to get coffee!

Staff arranged our barrier reef trip and pick up, and apart from terrible sea sickness that was fabulous. There was a supermarket and off liscence about 25 mins away but in the heat it feels longer! Good for stocking up on wine and snacks for the room though...

The Friday night live music night at the beach cafe is lovely. Pizzas very nice and you're sitting right on the beach.

A genuinely lovely resorts with great staff.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntoniaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We stayed for 10 days in January at Kewarra. The resort was not very busy due to the wet season, but the weather was unusually nice during our visit. It only rained 1 day during our 2 week trip.

We stayed in a Pipi Beach Bungalow. The accomodations were simple and clean. Our only complaint was the pillows were a bit stiff for our tastes. Even though we mostly kept to ourselves, the staff was always friendly.

The beach was beautiful and most of our visit we had it to ourselves. There is a swimming net right next to the resort's beachfront. Note the beach shack is closed during wet season and there is no drink service either. Both rock pools are nice and we spent quite a bit of time swimming in the nice shady oasis of trees. If you want to get drinks, you have to be dressed and go up to the main lodge. We stocked our fridge with drinks so not really an issue to us.

We only ate dinner one night at the restaurant, but it was nice and the freshly baked almond cake was divine. There were not many non-seafood choices, so we used our rental car to eat out in near by Trinity beach or even the 20 min drive back to Cairns. Having a rental car is highly recommended so that you have the freedom to get around and explore the area.

We would definitely recommend this resort and return for a relaxing beach retreat. This place is really for couples and not for families with younger children. There were a few while we stayed and crying babies and unruly kids at the pool can ruin the experience for others.

Room Tip: We would still chose a beach bungalow over the rainforest rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drag0nfli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kewarra Beach
3.4 km away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
3.8 km away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
18.9 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#7 of 8 in Palm Cove
359 reviews
3.5 km away
Mantra Amphora
Mantra Amphora
#6 of 8 in Palm Cove
1,351 reviews
1.9 km away
Paradise Palms
Paradise Palms
#2 of 2 in Kewarra Beach
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 80 Kewarra Street, Kewarra Beach, Queensland 4879, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Kewarra Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kewarra Beach
Price Range: $175 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
20 minutes from Cairns in picturesque tropical North Queensland set on 30 acres of lush landscaped rainforest gardens this private boutique beachfront property provides the ultimate Australian vacation experience. With a focus on environmental sensitivity, superb cuisine & world class service, while boasting extensive botanical gardens with detached secluded suites & spacious private bungalows it’s no surprise that this wonderfully romantic hideaway has become a firm favourite with honeymooners & nature lovers the world over. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Agoda, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, lastminute.com.au and getaroom.com so you can book your Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kewarra Beach Hotel Kewarra Beach
Kewarra Beach Resort And Spa
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa Cairns Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing