We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,213)
Filter reviews
1,213 results
Traveller rating
826
292
62
23
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
826
292
62
23
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachpalm coveour honeymoonbeach barrock poolstropical rainforestbeach frontwelcome drinkthe great barrier reefmain buildingport douglaspaperbark restaurantbeachfront bungalowpizza nighttrinity beachcabinwallabies
Filter
Updating list...
999 - 1,004 of 1,213 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2007

Unique location in tropical rain forest with its own beach. So many opportunities to walk thro the grounds and view fabulous wildlife and exotic plants. Easy access to the rief, the tablelands and Daintree National Park. Above all, the staff are just wonderful.

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Kewarra-fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2007

My wife and I stumbled on the Kewarra Beach Resort by chance. We were touring Cairns' northern beaches from our base in one of the city's perfectly good but generally rather characterless downtown hotels, and decided to go into Kewarra for a coffee. What we found was:
- A central reception/bar/restaurant building constructed to a tropical island design, comfortable air-conditioned cabins, two superbly designed and landscaped swimming pools replete with whirlpool and waterfalls, and easy yet private access to the excellent Kewarra Beach - all set within 30 acres of lush, landscaped, and well-tended tropical rain-forest (the floodlighting of which at night is absolutely magical).
- An exceptionally friendly and helpful staff, most of whom have been with this privately owned and managed hotel for years.

We were so impressed by the welcome given to us as a couple of nonresident walk-ins that we moved to the Kewarra Beach Resort for the remainder of our stay in Cairns. Aside from the ambience and the quality of the staff, the Resort offers a good level of convenience despite being 25-30 minutes from Cairns' CBD:
- It is on the same side of the city as the airport, which is only 15-20 minutes away.
- It is as close to the Kuranda Skyrail as is the city centre.
- It is half an hour closer to Port Douglas, Mossman, and the Daintree than city centre hotels.
- It provides the ambience and feel of an island resort but without the cost and inconvenience of having to transfer to an island.

The buffet breakfast is as good a display as any we have seen, and dinner was also delivered to a high standard off an extensive menu. (We did not take lunch.) Our only complaint would be that the pricing of the dinner menu is a little high relative to other top-quality restaurants we visited both in Cairns and elsewhere in Australia.

In summary: our stay was an excellent experience and good value for money. What makes Kewarra unusual is its setting, and what makes it unique is the genuine warmth and friendliness of its staff. We would strongly recommend it to anybody visiting Cairns and the Far North of Queensland.

Steve Holloway,
Oxford, England.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank DSTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2007

Spent 3 nights at Kewarra after a 4 night stay at Silky Oaks in the Daintree rainforest area.

The property was quite lovely with beautiful gardens, ponds and pools as well as the beachfront access. We specifically chose the premium Pipi Moud beach bungalows because we thought it would make a nice change from the dense rainforest experience.

The bungalows were comfortable and quite spacious but not what I would describe as luxurious but this was fine. We were very close to the beach and had a fairly good view of the water etc., however my one complaint was that I had expected a more isolated beachfront location and did not think I would be waking up in the morning to the sounds of cars coming and going from a parking lot that was located close behind our grouping of bungalows.

The cars engines etc. could be heard periodically throughout the day if spending time in the room. Just seemed to destroy the sense of tranquility and sounds of nature that were very apparent throughout the rest of the lovely grounds.
A lot of the less expensive garden bungalows seemed to be much more quiet and attractively spread out among the resort. There may have been quieter beachfront mouds on the other side but I was disappointed with our location especially after paying extra for the room. If ever there again I would opt for a quiet garden or pond location.

We had no complaints with the staff and service in and around the resort. The food was ok but nothing spectacular. Could be described as quite expensive for the quality received.
We had a few dinners in their restaurant and were not that thrilled, so on our last evening we chose to eat at a great little Italian place in Palm Cove which was just a short drive away. I will say that Kewarra did have a great lemon tart on the dessert menu though which is worth trying.

What really makes the place is it's overall beautiful location and grounds.

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JOP-TRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2007

We stayed at Kewarra Beach Resort for 12 days after Singapore and Sydney and we found it to be the utmost peaceful place. The mouds were spotless,very comfortable and private surrounded by beautiful trees and plants. The wildlife is amazing, to be woken in the mornings by the many different bird songs was an unforgerttable experience, a little piece of God's own garden. It really has to be seen to be believed.The beach is beautiful with lovely views to double island and the forest around. The staff were very helpful and friendly but unobtrusive. The resort runs a courtesy bus service to Palm Cove and Cairns but there is also the local bus service which is inexpensive and takes you to Palm Cove, Trinity Beach and Cairns etc. It actually arrives at the time that it says on the timetable!! The bus stop is a few minutes walk away. We walked to Palm Cove one day and it took about 50 or so minutes along the beach, a beautiful walk. The restaurant serves very good food and is in a lovely setting and is approximately the same price as others in neighbouring resorts. We would highly recommend this resort to anyone wanting to stay at a beautiful and peaceful location. We will be going back.

Stayed: September 2007
2  Thank bathmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2007

The Kewarra Beach Resort is about 15 minutes north of Cairns Airport, situated between Cairns and Palm Cove. On arrival you are met with a lovely fruit punch drink whilst your baggage is taken to your room (Moud). There are varying types of Moud - Rainforest, Lagoon or Beachfront. We had a Rainforest (Pandanous Moud). The staff escort you through the grounds to your Moud and ensure you are settled. The Moud was of a very good size with beautiful wood flooring (honeymooners beware, any bed movement may make alot of noise on that floor)!!! All doors and windows are netted to keep out any unwelcome visitors! The Bathroom is also of a good size with bath and separate shower. TV, Tea/Coffee facilities, hairdryer, safe, clock radio all provided. The decor did look a little dated, but it was all good quality and in good condition. The only negative was the Air Con unit - it was very noisy. Fortunately we didn't really need it, and there are ceiling fans in both the bedroom and bathroom which are quite effective. We found the Moud a little dark inside and needed the lights on but hey we had booked a room in a rainforest so yes, it is a little buried in undergrowth! The groundsmen were busy chopping away so the grounds are well maintained. The restaurant is a large open thatched area where we found the staff to be superb and very attentive. Breakfast is buffet style, however you can also opt for a full cooked choice. The evenings meals were of a very high standard and the menu offered a good range of choices. Main courses averaged approx $AU35. The hotel has two pools. The larger of the two, which is near the restaurant, has a swim through cave , spa pool and waterfall and the smaller pool is split with a waterfall separating the two. Both pools provide towels and also have a telephone to enable you to order drinks or food to be brought to you. There is also a large lagoon (not for swimming) where the ducks, fish & turtles reside. The hotel provides bread at the edge of the lagoon for guests to feed them - kids will enjoy this. The beach is very quiet and a couple of hammocks are provided. Again a cabin on the beach provides towels & that handy phone for drinks! There is also a laundry on site with washing machines, dryers & irons available for guests to use. Washing powder can be purchased from reception $AU1.50. Very handy if you are travelling around the country and restricted on clothing. Make use of the dryers, things take a long time to dry in this area. We hired a car however didn't feel it was really necessary as the hotel operates a shuttle to both the airport and to Cairns centre. As the hotel is situated in a residential area there isn't really any shops or restaurants in walking distance (little supermarket with ATM about 5-10 minutes walk). If you book any trips the majority of them will pick you up directly from Kewarra Beach. There is a little souvenir shop in reception where you can also book a variety of trips/tours. We found all that staff to be very attentive and helpful. If I head back to this part of Australia again I will definately be staying at Kewarra Beach!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HarperG50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews