We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A fantastic place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Weavers cottage

Weavers Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Weavers Cottage
bath - Cadbury flake not included mid-level garden view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
56 reviews
Weavers Cottage
bath - Cadbury flake not included
mid-level garden view
study/gallery
Lounge - the TV has been replaced and updated!
Another happy visitor
stained glass in master bedroom
Kitchen
Derwent Edge
Bonsall Cross - our local landmark
Matlock Bath - all the fun of the fair
Wall painting by Kai Suede
pondlife
garden paths in summer
Tiger by Kai Suede (Lithuania)
Our marvellous new village shop! open seven days a week.
Gallery view
winter view above village
Alcove art by Kai Suede (Lithuania)
Winter walking towards Winster
Exploring the hillside garden in Autumn
Carnival time in July - for all ages
The view from the front door up Yeoman street
Outdoor lounge area (ask in advance for the cushions!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Bonsall, Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CJH61
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This cottage is beautiful, quirky and full of character and history. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. It is well-equipped with a lovely kitchen and bathroom in particular, and was spotlessly clean. There is a balcony area full of toys which was an excellent bonus for our 2-year old daughter. The garden is steep and interesting to explore, and there are a couple of areas with chairs/tables to sit outside. The village has a little play park, a couple of pubs and a tea room, and is a great location for exploring the Peak District e.g. Matlock and Chatsworth. There's even a small soft play just down the road from Bonsall which we had to resort to one day when our little girl had had enough of getting soaked! The owner was very helpful, replying promptly to emails and leaving various instructions around the property. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend this to others without hesitation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character of the cottage and the fact that it was really well equipped.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephpr
Madrid, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Choose this place.... you won't be disappointed !”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This really was a home away from home. My wife and two teenage sons spent 4 nights here whilst exploring the Peak District, visiting Chester (it's a bit of a trek but well worth it, particularly on race day), and the obligatory trip to Alton Towers (oh the queues!).
The cottage has absolutely everything you could possibly need, was extremely clean and comfortable and I would definitely recommend it for a family stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: it felt like a real home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crawfords...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Everything you need and more”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We had a great time at the cottage with every mod con and a vintage charm. The owners made it easy to get the keys and was well stocked with information on the area. The local pubs, villages and walking trails made our stay memorable. Nothing more could make this cottage better and would like to come back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen
Liked least: We only had 3 days there
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana D
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Great Break, lovely cottage”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We choose this lovely cottage because of it's location (very near to Matlock and another towns in the Peak District). We needed a place where we could socialize with our friend without leaving our young son. So it was perfect, very well located, cozy and comfortable. We manage to do a lot of sightseeing and then have a lovely time resting in the evening and just chatting with our friend. Great holiday! We will definitely recommend this cottage!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and overall all the cottage
Liked least: The velux window in the main window did not have a blind and it was too light in the mornings.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2014
Delighted you had a great stay. Come back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gillymocz
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A deceptive hideaway”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The photos for this property really don't do it justice. This was an amazing find and miles better than the sterile holiday cottages that seem to be the norm now. Fab decor, facilities and really nice to find out about the cottage's history as well as an insight into the owners too!

The house was far larger than we expected and really well equipped. A major relief when travelling with a 7 month old. The owners provided a cot, high chair, bath seat helping us to feel at home. The place was spotless and clearly well loved. The garden was amazing and fun to explore.

The village of Bonsall was a delight, just a couple if miles from Matlock but felt miles from anywhere. Great walks around the village, and easy for visits to Matlock Bath for the Heights of Abraham and the obligatory fish and chips! Our only regret was that we only booked it for a weekend, we'll definitely be staying longer next time!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2014
delighted you enjoyed. A further release of duplo from my son's collection is heading north shortly....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing