We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful budget accommodation on the beach in Cairns.”
Review of Villa Marine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Marine
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yorkeys Knob
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful budget accommodation on the beach in Cairns.”
Reviewed 13 December 2011

We stayed at the Villa Marine for three nights and had a fantastic time. The place is gorgeous and the rooms are comfortable and clean. We loved the access to the beach (just a minute's walk away!) and the views of the rainforest right out the window. Peter was very kind and helpful and set up our Great Barrier Reef tour with exactly what we wanted. We wish we could have stayed longer as it is affordable for two price conscious travelers yet luxurious and beautiful. And even though we were here in the summer, we were able to stay nice and cool with the air conditioning in the room just adding to the lovely stay.

We absolutely recommend this to anyone. Whether you’re a traveler on a budget, or someone looking for a nice place to vacation, you’ll find what you’re looking for at the Villa Marine Resort.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P1p3r6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    34
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
37
77
32
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

I can't really say anything new that hasn't been said already. The price is excellent, the location is great, and Peter really is as nice as everyone says. He has tons of brochures in his office covering everything you could want to do, lots of advice and he's honest. We booked two reef tours from two different companies he suggested and they were great. We stayed in the Rainforest Room and it had everything we needed (comfortable bed!). You could hear all the different birds at night and animals rustling around in the leaves. Overall I enjoyed it, I would definitely stay again and suggest to friends.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bizkette00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 24 November 2011

I'm an international traveller, I have been travelling for more than 4 years, This accommodation is one of the best in Australia, because of the price and the luxury style! I spent 5 days in this place in a room called "wildlife accommodation", I need to say that it is amazing! just a few metres from the beach ( beautiful place if you like fitness and fishing), the room faces rainforest (a nice spot with palm, exotic trees and giant pool) I saw green frogs and a lot of different kind of birds. But the difference of this place with others is the nature all araund and the peaceful enviroment. because have just 9 little houses (apartment) I met with very interesting people who as well are looking for this kind and querky accommodation. Peter, the manager provide me fishing lines, taught me about birdwatching and also he told me a few tips to get a very affordable price for tours to the great barrier reef and Kuranda.
This guy has a very valuable knowledge about tours in queensland.

I recommend 100% this place!!! Nice enviroment, very affordable prices, very clean, peacefull and nice decoration.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cristiano20112011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We learnt about this place from the Australian Lonely Planet Guide which especially commented on the friendliness and helpfulness of Peter the Manager. It is all true.This place has 8 holiday units with all cooking facilities around a grassed swimming pool/barbeque area surrounded by palm trees.All units have airconditioning and ceiling fans. It is located about 100 metres from a long sandy beach which is really excellent for swimming. We swam everyday in sea water that was 24 degrees C - in two weeks in late September/early October. We got great great help from Peter in planning trips out to the Reef, Islands and Atherton Tablelands. Great help.
David and Sue Goodwin

Room Tip: Rooms are of various sizes so the unit to chose would depend on the size of the party.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suedavidgoodwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We were recommended Villa Marine by one of the Information Kiosks in Cairns and what a brilliant find it was! Peter the owner/manager was so helpful, booking tours for us and recommending drives to see the best places in the surrounding areas. The accommodation isn't new or luxurious but it is clean, well maintained and has everything you could need for a great holiday stay. It is spacious, the beds are comfortable and cooking facilities excellent. Would absolutely return again. Thank you Peter!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HazydaysCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yorkeys Knob
5.5 km away
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Kewarra Beach
1,117 reviews
3.9 km away
Marlin Cove Holiday Resort
Marlin Cove Holiday Resort
#1 of 1 in Trinity Beach
170 reviews
11.8 km away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 km away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
9.0 km away
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
#2 of 11 in Palm Cove
561 reviews
9.0 km away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#9 of 11 in Palm Cove
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Marine

Property: Villa Marine
Address: 8 Rutherford St, Yorkeys Knob, Queensland 4878, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Yorkeys Knob
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yorkeys Knob
Price range (per night): $130 - $184
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Marine 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy 1 of our 9 villas facing rain forest and 50m from the beach with fully self-contained facilities, including kitchens and bathrooms. Our villas are suitable for couples, singles, families, and small groups, and we have a range of accommodation options to suit all budgets from budget to luxury. Located just 10 minutes north of Cairns by the beach, our environmentally friendly accommodation faces rain forest with diverse wildlife including kangaroos and many different rain forest bird species. Our tourist information center offers free tour bookings and car hire. Tours pick up at our door. Tap into our extensive knowledge on the best reef locations or our diverse range of every tour in the Cairns region! Friendly, helpful service, shops, supermarket, restaurants and buses very close. Villa Marine is located so close to Cairns, yet by the beach away from the hustle and bustle of the city center. Ideal for those seeking a more natural environment. Come and stay at Cairns' quirkiest holiday accommodation! Awards: Cairns Tourism Association Annual Award 2011. Best standard Accommodation for the Region: 2012, 2013, 2014. Tourism Tropical North Queensland Hall Of Fame 2015. TripAdvisor certification For Excellence: 2011, 2012,2013,2014, 2015. TripAdvisor Hall Of Fame 2015. Eco-Friendly Certification. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Marine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Marine Yorkeys Knob, Cairns Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing