We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In reality it's an average 3-4 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Moksha Himalaya Spa Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Parwanoo
Certificate of Excellence
Irvine, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“In reality it's an average 3-4 star”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

We were a little let down by this hotel after leaving a true 5 stars Oberoi. I'm not sure what Moksha resort is trying to do because it is a mix some quite nice design but only in lobby and spa. Urge rest of the resort misses the mark in so many areas and seems that management doesn't quite know how to run a proper luxury resort (actually I wouldn't classify this as luxury). Rooms are average 4 star, service is terribly lacking, location would be nice if not sorrounded by the two other low class resorts that share the property and Parwanoo is far from scenic. Wouldn't pay for this over priced resort again and recommend just going straight to Shimla. Can only guess that the other glowing reviews were written by travelers with little understanding of what a luxury resort is?

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ball G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    87
    31
    19
    16
See reviews for
113
84
2
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
mumbai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

My husband n self stayed here for three nites. Really loved the place n the spa but the prices of everything ws exceptionally high. As v r detached from the main Parwanoo town v hv no option but to eat atleast dinner there....but overall courteous staff, beautiful view, spacious rooms....nice, very nice.

Room Tip: All r suites with same tariff...only view differs
See more room tips
Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank warriorMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balbir_Moksha, General Manager at Moksha Himalaya Spa Resort, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
It was pleasure to have you at Moksha HImalya Spa Resort and would eagerly waiting to have you with us sooner.

Thanks

Balbir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

Today is day 4 of my stay at Moksha - I am writing the review before having completed my stay and I am confident that nothing untoward is going to happen in the next 15 hrs (I check out tomorrow at noon).

I had come here confused - some readings on Trip Advisor advising against it with very few excellent reviews. I belong to the latter category - there was nothing that went wrong - staff was super, spa excellent, food delightful, the propoert - breathtaking and the overall hospitality making us want to come over and over again.

Although we were trying to beat the delhi pollution during Diwali, the overall experience will definitely push us to visit this very often - in fact I find this comparable to Ananda - minus the sophistication.

The food is expensive but excellent - althought there are cheaper options available around - go ask for Timber heights.

Guys - I urge you - some visit this property and you are found to fall in love with Moksha.

Room Tip: Get the right Travel Agent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gautam2611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
78 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

Booked this resort for the long weekend & had gone there with a huge excitement & anticipation as the weather was great & the drive to Parwanoo was quite refreshing. However upon reaching there we came to know that the hotel has a common cable car which has to be shared with the residents of the other hotel & also the tourist. Since it was a long weekend there was a waiting period of about half an hour for a seat to be made available on the cable car. I was told that I would be escorted by a lady to the resort but she disappeared after dropping us off at the cable car. This set the tone for the entire vacation.
After the irritating wait & a very crowded ride in the cable car we reached the reception & were simply blown away by its beauty. This being monsoon time, the clouds had come down to the reception & the area appeared to be emerging out of the same. Beautiful. The experience at the reception was uneventful & I was allotted a valley facing Suite. While all the rooms are same, there are about 8 rooms that do not directly look on to the valley & infact open onto pathways beyond which more rooms are located.
Rooms:
The rooms are in the form of a suite having a living room, a bed room, a toilet & a small balcony. The rooms are very nicely done & the wood flooring is perfect. The spring mattress is luxurious & the sofa, TV everything else is top notch. The bathroom is huge and is almost as big as the bed room itself with nice stone flooring. The shower cubicle was great & the view from the bathtub was simply mindblowing.
Food:
Had opted for the MAP package & had to settle for the buffet dinner & breakfast which was very bad. Too Oily & no taste whatsoever. Even the Croissants & the bread basket was stale. The buffet appeared to be well laid out with lots of items but most of it was inedible. The mutton served in the dinner was too chewy & caused stomache in the night.
Services:
Terrible. The housekeeping & the room service both the department lack in even the basic etiquettes. The hotel proclaims to provide services of electric carts to move around, however the electric carts never came. It was there only on the day of check in & on the day of check out. On one of the day that I stayed, someone had vomited near the reception & even that was not cleared for a long long time. Any order to the room be it of room service or of drinking water, takes ages to come. The room service guys were extremely rude. Since I have a small baby I need to get baby food cooked for him in whichever hotel that I stay. This was made clear to these people also at the time of booking. However at the meal time, the room service guy flatly refused to make the same. It was only after I spoke to a lot of people after waiting endlessly on the phone that the matter was sorted out.
Overall experience
The place has a great potential. The location is beautiful & the relatively lesser height also makes it a hot spot for the winters but the place needs to pull up its socks. The charges are extremely high which I do not mind but the class, the ambience & the services have to be in tune with the charges. On that front it was mighty disappointing.

Room Tip: All the suites are similar except 4 or 6 that are not valley facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank vinayMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balbir_Moksha, General Manager at Moksha Himalaya Spa Resort, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Dear Sir

Thanks a lot for taking out time and giving us feedback about your stay. It was little unfortunate that you had some concern. In terms of electric golf car we- we always encourah=ge our guest to walk in the proerty as its a Spa Resort and you are here to rejuvinate here. We also have taken corrective measures about your food suggestions. I would be great ful if you can visit again and see the difference after your feedback.
Once again thanks for your kind feedback.
Regards
Balbeer
GM Asia Resorts Ltd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FATEHABAD,HARYANA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

I stayed there in june 2011.It was a grt experince staying here.The prop is so good that i love to stay again.The pool ,spa,bath with rooms all are grt.The food is very good,however the prices are a bit high.

Room Tip: all the suits are same and well located.so no question of any one good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parwanoo
8.6 km away
Winnies Holiday Resort
Winnies Holiday Resort
#1 of 16 in Kasauli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
35.3 km away
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
8.6 km away
Forest Ville Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.6 km away
Aamod
Aamod
#1 of 4 in Shoghi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
7.7 km away
Surya Rock Rose Resort
Surya Rock Rose Resort
#3 of 6 in Parwanoo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
9.3 km away
Kasauli Resort
Kasauli Resort
#6 of 16 in Kasauli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moksha Himalaya Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moksha Himalaya Spa Resort

Property: Moksha Himalaya Spa Resort
Address: Timber Trail, Parwanoo 173220, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Solan District > Parwanoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Parwanoo
Price range (per night): $408 - $479
Hotel Class:4 star — Moksha Himalaya Spa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moksha Spa Resort is set in the lush Shivalik Valley amongst Pine trees, ideal for trekking and nature lovers, this brand new Spa Resort offers the unique experience of arrival to the Resort by Cable car and offers leisure and recreational activities and is suitable for couples and families alike. It is also a popular destination for corporate companies for hosting seminars and conferences. Comprising of 62 guest suites, the resort is designed to a scale that provides intimacy, privacy and luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Moksha Himalaya Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moksha Himalayan Hotel Parwanoo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing