We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Flop”

Skyrail Rainforest Cableway
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Embark on a fascinating journey of discovery over and through the oldest continually surviving tropical rainforest on earth. Enjoy a truly unique perspective of Australia's World Heritage listed Tropical Rainforest as you glide just metres above the pristine rainforest canopy before descending to explore the forest floor at Red Peak and Barron Falls Station and learn about one of the most botanically fascinating and diverse areas in the world. Explore Kuranda, the village in the rainforest known for its markets, cafes, art galleries and wildlife parks. Return via the historic Kuranda Scenic Railway to complete your rainforest day tour. Combine one of Cairns other leading attractions with your experience including Rainforestation Nature Park, Tjapukai Aboriginal Cultural Park and the Kuranda Wildlife Experience. Consistently voted as one of the best things to do in Cairns - discover, encounter and immerse yourself in this unforgettable experience of a lifetime.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Lockers / storage, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Most expensive and least to recommend activity in whole Australia. Definitely not worth the money. Incapable staff at ticket counter. And you have to cue on top....

1  Thank amh8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkyrailMarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Skyrail Rainforest Cableway, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your experience.

In lieu of knowing your exact travel date and the tour chosen, it is difficult to respond to your review.

We understand your frustration, however, the negative manner in which your feedback is provided makes it difficult for us to engage constructively or understand what contributed to the situation. It also negates the primary function of this forum as a means by which we can connect with our guests for the sharing of positive feedback, issues, ideas and suggestions that can be used to help improve our overall guest experience.

Should you wish to discuss this further please do not hesitate to contact us directly via email (digital.officer@skyrail.com.au).

Regards, Marni Cadd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,078)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"cable car"
in 333 reviews
"barron falls"
in 331 reviews
"diamond view"
in 167 reviews
"sky rail"
in 246 reviews
"red peak station"
in 64 reviews
"glass bottom"
in 147 reviews
"glass floor"
in 63 reviews
"scenic railway"
in 138 reviews
"both ways"
in 82 reviews
"afraid of heights"
in 56 reviews
"birds eye view"
in 36 reviews
"views are spectacular"
in 43 reviews
"kuranda village"
in 91 reviews
"butterfly sanctuary"
in 67 reviews
"second stop"
in 65 reviews
"different perspective"
in 30 reviews
"train ride"
in 74 reviews
Filter

169 - 173 of 3,078 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

The rainforest tour by this method is the best way to see the forest on a rainy day. They provide umbrellas at each stop.

Thank billp422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkyrailMarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Skyrail Rainforest Cableway, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Greetings from the rainforest,
Thank you for visiting the world's oldest continually surviving tropical rainforest recently and recommending Skyrail as the best way to see the forest. On a tropical rainy day, we offer complimentary umbrellas at our rainforest stations, Red Peak and Barron Falls. We are honoured to hear that this was one of the best highlights of the area during your time in Tropical North Queensland. We hope to see you in the ancient rainforest again soon!

Advance bookings are essential - book on our website and save!

Kindest regards

Marni Cadd
#skyrail #rainforest #cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Family and I had a great day.

Originally booked through Skyrail website Skyrail there, Rainforestation just after noon and then train back to Cairns.
Due to recent cyclone, train lines blocked.
Was called by Skyrail and arranged by Skyrail return leg and processed refund.

Very professional.

Picked up by coach from Hotel, full day of activity and taken home. Awesome value in my opinion.

Thank Matthew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkyrailMarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Skyrail Rainforest Cableway, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Greetings from the rainforest,
Thanks for sharing your families great day in the rainforest! We are thrilled to hear that our friendly team provided very professional arrangements for your visit after the weather events that affected the train - we are very happy you were able to complete your experience with us and see the ancient rainforest with Skyrail Rainforest Cableway. Thanks also for mentioning that you had pre-booked via our website and found the whole experience awesome value. We look forward to welcoming you back again one day!

Advance bookings are essential - book on our website and save!

Kindest regards

Marni Cadd
#skyrail #rainforest #cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

This is the best way to get to Kuranda in my oppinion. Ive driven up and back but this is much more fun and you get to hop off at the beautiful Barron Falls for the perfect photo opportunity. A must do.

Thank IzzyBella17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkyrailMarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Skyrail Rainforest Cableway, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Greetings from the rainforest,
Thanks for visiting the ancient rainforest with Skyrail for the second time recently and sharing your experience here with the travel community. Thanks also for recommending Skyrail Rainforest Cableway as a must do! We look forward to seeing you again for a third time!

Advance bookings are essential - book on our website and save!

Kindest regards

Marni Cadd
#skyrail #rainforest #cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Choosing the hotel-collection/drop off 'train up and Skyrail back' option, we greatly enjoyed the vintage carriage train journey with its interesting commentary that explained the problems faced by, and the magnitude of the engineering feat, driving the rail track through such rugged, 'unforgiving' terrain. Kuranda village itself has little character of its own, nowadays largely focused on tourism (cafes and tourist knick-knack outlets). Our return journey in a Skyrail gondola skimming over the rainforest canopy with two stops to explore parts of the forest on boardwalks was equally interesting. Overall, a good informative day out.

Thank geoffcheam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkyrailMarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Skyrail Rainforest Cableway, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Greetings from the rainforest,
Thank you for visiting the rainforest with Skyrail recently and sharing your great experience and informative day out! We are glad you enjoyed discovering the ancient rainforest with us and also combining the Kuranda Scenic Railway. We look forward to welcoming you back to the rainforest soon.

Advance bookings are essential - book on our website and save!

Kindest regards

Marni Cadd
#skyrail #rainforest #cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Skyrail Rainforest Cableway also viewed

Queensland, Australia
 

Been to Skyrail Rainforest Cableway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing