We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was one best highlights of the area besides the reef”

Skyrail Rainforest Cableway
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Embark on a fascinating journey of discovery over and through the oldest continually surviving tropical rainforest on earth. Enjoy a truly unique perspective of Australia's World Heritage listed Tropical Rainforest as you glide just metres above the pristine rainforest canopy before descending to explore the forest floor at Red Peak and Barron Falls Station and learn about one of the most botanically fascinating and diverse areas in the world. Explore Kuranda, the village in the rainforest known for its markets, cafes, art galleries and wildlife parks. Return via the historic Kuranda Scenic Railway to complete your rainforest day tour. Combine one of Cairns other leading attractions with your experience including Rainforestation Nature Park, Tjapukai Aboriginal Cultural Park and the Kuranda Wildlife Experience. Consistently voted as one of the best things to do in Cairns - discover, encounter and immerse yourself in this unforgettable experience of a lifetime.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Lockers / storage, Activities for older children
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

The rainforest tour by this method is the best way to see the forest on a rainy day. They provide umbrellas at each stop.

Thank billp422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkyrailMarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Skyrail Rainforest Cableway, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Greetings from the rainforest,
Thank you for visiting the world's oldest continually surviving tropical rainforest recently and recommending Skyrail as the best way to see the forest. On a tropical rainy day, we offer complimentary umbrellas at our rainforest stations, Red Peak and Barron Falls. We are honoured to hear that this was one of the best highlights of the area during your time in Tropical North Queensland. We hope to see you in the ancient rainforest again soon!

Advance bookings are essential - book on our website and save!

Kindest regards

Marni Cadd
#skyrail #rainforest #cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,074)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"cable car"
in 333 reviews
"barron falls"
in 331 reviews
"diamond view"
in 167 reviews
"sky rail"
in 246 reviews
"red peak station"
in 64 reviews
"glass bottom"
in 147 reviews
"glass floor"
in 63 reviews
"scenic railway"
in 138 reviews
"both ways"
in 82 reviews
"afraid of heights"
in 56 reviews
"birds eye view"
in 36 reviews
"views are spectacular"
in 43 reviews
"kuranda village"
in 91 reviews
"butterfly sanctuary"
in 67 reviews
"second stop"
in 65 reviews
"different perspective"
in 30 reviews
"train ride"
in 74 reviews
Filter

166 - 170 of 3,074 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Family and I had a great day.

Originally booked through Skyrail website Skyrail there, Rainforestation just after noon and then train back to Cairns.
Due to recent cyclone, train lines blocked.
Was called by Skyrail and arranged by Skyrail return leg and processed refund.

Very professional.

Picked up by coach from Hotel, full day of activity and taken home. Awesome value in my opinion.

Thank Matthew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkyrailMarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Skyrail Rainforest Cableway, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Greetings from the rainforest,
Thanks for sharing your families great day in the rainforest! We are thrilled to hear that our friendly team provided very professional arrangements for your visit after the weather events that affected the train - we are very happy you were able to complete your experience with us and see the ancient rainforest with Skyrail Rainforest Cableway. Thanks also for mentioning that you had pre-booked via our website and found the whole experience awesome value. We look forward to welcoming you back again one day!

Advance bookings are essential - book on our website and save!

Kindest regards

Marni Cadd
#skyrail #rainforest #cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

This is the best way to get to Kuranda in my oppinion. Ive driven up and back but this is much more fun and you get to hop off at the beautiful Barron Falls for the perfect photo opportunity. A must do.

Thank IzzyBella17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkyrailMarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Skyrail Rainforest Cableway, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Greetings from the rainforest,
Thanks for visiting the ancient rainforest with Skyrail for the second time recently and sharing your experience here with the travel community. Thanks also for recommending Skyrail Rainforest Cableway as a must do! We look forward to seeing you again for a third time!

Advance bookings are essential - book on our website and save!

Kindest regards

Marni Cadd
#skyrail #rainforest #cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Choosing the hotel-collection/drop off 'train up and Skyrail back' option, we greatly enjoyed the vintage carriage train journey with its interesting commentary that explained the problems faced by, and the magnitude of the engineering feat, driving the rail track through such rugged, 'unforgiving' terrain. Kuranda village itself has little character of its own, nowadays largely focused on tourism (cafes and tourist knick-knack outlets). Our return journey in a Skyrail gondola skimming over the rainforest canopy with two stops to explore parts of the forest on boardwalks was equally interesting. Overall, a good informative day out.

Thank geoffcheam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkyrailMarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Skyrail Rainforest Cableway, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Greetings from the rainforest,
Thank you for visiting the rainforest with Skyrail recently and sharing your great experience and informative day out! We are glad you enjoyed discovering the ancient rainforest with us and also combining the Kuranda Scenic Railway. We look forward to welcoming you back to the rainforest soon.

Advance bookings are essential - book on our website and save!

Kindest regards

Marni Cadd
#skyrail #rainforest #cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Very busy time of the year going there over Easter, long waiting time to get on and when you get to the transfer tower there was more waiting.But when you up and away enjoy the great view of the trees and Smithfield. It takes about 45 minutes to get to Kuranda which then you take the bus to the centre of the town and enjoy the markets.As the train was not operating we went back down with sky rail stopping at Baron falls it was good to see the water flowing down.Then back on the sky rail and down to the bottom. This will take you a good 5 to 6 hours to do.

Thank maton059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkyrailMarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Skyrail Rainforest Cableway, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Warm Tropical Greetings,
Thank you for visiting the ancient rainforest with Skyrail over Easter. As you can understand Skyrail is very popular during this time as it is the must-do Cairns rainforest experience. We thank you for your understanding during this busy period, it is also a unique time with the Kuranda Scenic Railway services being cancelled after recent weather events in the region and additional maintenance taking place. We have allocated departure times throughout the day to allow for an even and steady flow of visitors and we recommend booking in advance to secure your preferred departure times. We thank you again for your understanding and patience during your visit. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed the wonderful views of the rainforest and surrounding areas. We recommend to allow at least 1.5 hours for a one way Skyrail experience including time spent at our two rainforest stations, Red Peak and Barron Falls, where you can explore and learn even more about this fascinating ancient environment. Thanks again for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back to the rainforest and Skyrail again soon.

Advance bookings are essential - book on our website and save!

Kindest regards

Marni Cadd
#skyrail #rainforest #cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Skyrail Rainforest Cableway also viewed

Queensland, Australia
 

Been to Skyrail Rainforest Cableway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing