We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Views, Friendly Staff”

Skyrail Rainforest Cableway
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 124.02*
and up
Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Rail Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Skyrail Rainforest Cableway, Cairns Australia, is a world first in environmental tourism taking you on an amazing experience over Australia’s World Heritage listed Tropical Rainforest canopy and deep into the forest. The Skyrail experience, spanning 7.5kms over pristine rainforest, allows you to explore the wonders of an ancient tropical rainforest and learn about one of the most botanically fascinating and diverse areas on earth.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Amazing Views, Friendly Staff”
Reviewed 9 September 2012

The skyrail is really high and offers amazing views of the rainforest, Barron Falls, and Cairns. The staff were friendly and helpful and as we were visiting in the off-season it wasn't too busy and we were allowed a car to ourselves. There are stops along the way with close-up views of the Falls and the rainforest also. It's recommended to do this as a package with the Kuranda Scenic Rail, taking one up to Kuranda and one back, with a transfer between the two at the bottom. Unless you want to do other activities in Kuranda, just book both through Skyrail as they can book the train, gondola, and transfer and are cheapest.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilaeria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,633
    661
    120
    29
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not Worth the Money”
Reviewed 6 September 2012

The Skyrail experience seems like a cool thing to do but it really isn't if you are able bodied or have a car. Let me put it this way. I could spend the same amount of money in Canada, ride a Gondala at Sunshine Village and get a full day of skiing in with my family for about the same price. We didn't do the rail experience, so I can't speak to that.

Yes the view of Cairns is great going up and the route over the Barron River Falls is pretty good (except during the dry season as the falls don't have a lot of water flowing over them). But... you can see both of these if you have a car or you can take one of the buses to and from the village at Kuranda.

If I was older, less able bodied or in a wheelchair then I would do it, but most of the trip you are in a gondola above the trees with nothing to look at but... trees, that and the next goldola pole or passing gondola car going the other way.

Kuranda is a tourist village. Nothing wrong with that, but don't go expecting something different. Lots of good places to eat and some cool little shops, but it is a tourist vilage.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkyrailMarketing, Director of Sales at Skyrail Rainforest Cableway, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Hi Greg G,

Thank you for providing your feedback about your Skyrail experience.

The Skyrail experience provides a totally unique perspective on the rainforests of Tropical North Queensland, allowing our guests to glide above the rainforest canopy and to alight at our 2 rainforest mid-stations. At the mid-stations we provide the opportunity for guests to learn about the rainforest environment via guided boardwalk tours, interpretive signage, rainforest interpretation centres and Aboriginal guided tours. Skyrail also provides spectacular views of the Tropical North Queensland region and the Barron Gorge National Park and falls and each guests is provided with a Trip Guide to provide them with information and interpretation along the 7.5km journey.

The tropical rainforest environment is a highly changeable one, which is what makes it so varied and interesting. During the different seasons the environment changes as does the animal and plant activity.

Although operationally similar to a cableway operating in a ski field, the Skyrail experience is vastly different in that our tropical rainforests are the attraction and experiencing the sights, smells, sounds and seasons within the rainforest and enjoying not only the rainforest canopy views, but also the forest floor at the mid-stations is all part of the complete Skyrail experience.

Thank you again for your feedback, we hope to see you again someday in the future.

Regards,

Kevin Parise - Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedale
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a way to see the North Queensland Rainforest”
Reviewed 29 August 2012

After visting the Tjapuka centre this was the next stage of our day tour. The cable cars move up from the bottom of the rain forest to the town of Kuranda at the end of the sky rail (we took the Kurunda train back down). There are tow stops on the way with elevated walkways that extend into the forest. At one we took a free tour with a park guide who explained about the rainfoest and plants. The view on the way up was fantastic as you glide above the lush green forest below. I don't like heights but the cars were study and felt very safe so it didn't bother me at all. Got a nice family picture at the top for a few bucks as the car came into Kurunda which is a nice souvenir of the day.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank woody1275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wow, what a view!”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Bought a combined rail journey to Kuranda with a return via the skyrail but for my family this was definately the highlight. The staff were very friendly and always welcomed you with a smile. There were two stops on the way back from Kurandar and the attitude from the staff was consistent throughout. At the first stop we walked through to get a good view of Barron Falls waterfall and at the second stop were treated to a free rainforest walk by their guide Phil. He was very informative and pointed out lots of details that a quick walk would have missed.

The 'pods' were very comfortable and the view you receive is fantastic. Apartently when making Avatar they used shots from this area and you can see why, rainforest as far as the eye can see. This was a very memorable experience and one I would recommend that you take.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank smudgercreole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Family Excursion”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

I'm a Cairns local and I've been on Skyrail twice in two years. Both times I thought it was fantastic and I always recommend it to visitors and friends. The gondolas skim above the rainforest canopy, you can hear the birds in the forest below and the views are magnificent. Lots of families go on Skyrail and the kids love it. My only complaint - check in is too slow. There are two lines - one for pre-booked ticket holders (a very long queue), and one for people who turn up on the day. I noticed that pre-booked ticket holders have to line up to chang their vouchers for tickets and because Cairns gets a lot of foreign tourists who don't speak English, this process is VERY slow. I turned up on the day and was served in 5 min.
My suggestion is, if you are travelling independently, don't buy pre-booked tickets online - just turn up on the day!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Gwendolyn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Skyrail Rainforest Cableway also viewed

 

Been to Skyrail Rainforest Cableway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing