We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Orbitz.com
Prestigia.com
Hotels.com
Official Hotel
eDreams
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (433)
Filter reviews
433 results
Traveller rating
180
129
56
39
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
180
129
56
39
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews koh kood free kayaks ocean front beautiful island duplex resort beaches sea canoe bangkok motorbike maldives
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
216 - 221 of 433 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We booked Away Koh Kood for 2 nights from the 11th - 13th August 2012.

The hotel itself is located around 30min from the ferry pier by hotel owned pickup opposite of Captain Hook & Peter Pan resort. It offers various types of accommodations, we had a deluxe ocean view bungalow which is on a small hill above the beach/ocean bungalows. In addition the hotel has one bigger restaurant and another bar at the other end roadside connected to the dive shop.

The room was spacious and very nicely decorated with an amazing view onto the ocean & beach, even from your bed as you could open the veranda to nearly 100% which extended your bedroom onto the balcony. Bathroom as well as bedroom were clean.

The restaurant food & service wise was OK, whereas the selection of food is not that big compared to the selection of Robin Hood resort. Prices are acceptable, for an island. The service was OK, whereas sometimes a little bit slow. Nevertheless very friendly and open to give you for instance advice on sightseeing trips.

The beach at Away Koh Kood was not that good as it is not really a beach where you can easily jump into the ocean. The sand itself is very nice and soft whereas big rocks are protecting it from erosion which does not allow guests to go easily into the ocean. Nevertheless the beach on the opposite side, in front of Robin Hood resort, is one of the best I saw in Thailand till now. Very fine and soft sand, very clean water. Reachable by getting a Kayak at Away Koh Kood and paddling for 5min across, hence very convenient. In addition the beach has a river on one side, the ocean on the other, which is nice to get off the salty water.
Another advantage of using a Kayak is the nearby waterfall which is reachable in 30min by Kayak river upwards and with a 15min walk through the jungle. The waterfall itself is quite impressive and has clear cold water to swim in.

Overall a very nice resort for a private weekend escape from Bangkok or a romantic vacation.

Room tip: Deluxe ocean view rooms have a very nice ocean view and balcony for the evenings. We had room 18 which is quite a walk from the reception up the hill.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris-aom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Took the whole package of half board, 2 great meals a day + transportation + free waterfalls tour + Free sail for snorkeling.
Room was at the front, facing the beach.
The staff, service, food, trips, view, rooms, facilities, etc etc...was 1st class !! Excellent !!
Don't expect to meet dancing place or fire games.... It isn't the place for that.

RECOMMENDED !!

Remarks:
1. Rope curtains swept across the windows transparent in the evening. Immediate change is required on that.
2. No information about the quality of other rooms on the site.
3. There is also a swimming pool and a spa, wasn't checked.
4. Spectacular sight sailing and rowing in canoe self.
It is not recommended to go out to the open sea to snorkeling sites in the winter. Stormy sea and not close to the resort. Maybe good at the summer.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thai Sell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 July 2012

When we was looking for a place for holiday (as an alternative to Hua Hin, Cha Am, Pattaya and the southen islands), our friend recommend this place for us. We spent 3 nights here and we got what we were looking for. Despite of heavy rains (since we went during the monsoon season), everything is very nice. The weather is cool (although air-con and hot shower are not working during the day), and the place is right next to a private beach (you can go sunbathe but definitely not swimming because of the rocks) and not far from the Klongchao waterfall. For me it is just the perfect place where i can linger with my favorite book all day and can go kayaking a bit for a little exercise. Totally a getaway.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chidsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Loved our stay here, the beachfront rooms were so comfortable and had a lovely view of the ocean, but did not like that the AC or any electronics did NOT work between the hours of 8am and 6pm, so if you are the type to enjoy cool Air con for a nice morning to sleep in late, or come back all sweaty from a day out, this is not for you. The food was delicious, and staff very friendly and accommodating. Got a lot of lovely pictures. The wildlife was very cool to watch and the tropical setting was unforgettable, but bring your ant/mosquito spray. The green curry is the best I've ever eaten, and I live in Thailand, so that's saying a lot! :) Enjoy your stay!

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobynIsAllOver
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 March 2012

My family of four people, two adults and two children, aged 2 and 4 years old, stayed at Away in the second week of March 2012. A very relaxing, very nice vacation. The staff make this place. While not everything is perfect (where is?), the staff really, really try hard and really, really care. That is why we would return to Away if we ever return to Koh Kood.

The hotel is ideally situated, although no swimming beach directly attached to the property. We used the free kayaks to cross the five minute gap to the long white sand beach across the water.

Once time I left the kayak too low on the beach across the way and didn't realize the tide had turned. We got so carried away at the other end of the beach and in the cafe at the other end of the beach, the tide rose above the level where the kayak was resting. When we returned the kayak was gone. Thankfully the staff had been watching and they retrieved the kayak before it was lost to sea! I literally swam back across the gap and brought the kayak back for my family to return to the hotel. That is how small the gap is between hotel and beach.

Bear in mind that all products and food must be brought in from either other islands or the mainland, so a trip to Koh Kood is not a gastronomical adventure by any means, but we did not go hungry!

The grounds are well kept, the rooms are clean and functional, the mosquitos minimal when we were there, and the sunsets memorable. Very nice place.

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JonahArnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM-BHMAsia, Public Relations Manager at Away Koh Kood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

Greetings from the Away Koh Kood team.

Delighted to hear the team at Away made your family holiday such a great experience. Good to hear you enjoyed the sunsets, no doubt from one of our loungers set up on the beachfront.

I will be sure to pass on your kind words in regards to our staff’s attentions and in general their actions that made your stay all the better, something crucial for any holiday at any resort.

If you do indeed decide perhaps to come back one day to Koh Kood, please do remember us.
Sincere best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews