We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and relaxing stay”
Review of Away Koh Kood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Away Koh Kood
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Ko Kut
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very nice and relaxing stay”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

My family of four people, two adults and two children, aged 2 and 4 years old, stayed at Away in the second week of March 2012. A very relaxing, very nice vacation. The staff make this place. While not everything is perfect (where is?), the staff really, really try hard and really, really care. That is why we would return to Away if we ever return to Koh Kood.

The hotel is ideally situated, although no swimming beach directly attached to the property. We used the free kayaks to cross the five minute gap to the long white sand beach across the water.

Once time I left the kayak too low on the beach across the way and didn't realize the tide had turned. We got so carried away at the other end of the beach and in the cafe at the other end of the beach, the tide rose above the level where the kayak was resting. When we returned the kayak was gone. Thankfully the staff had been watching and they retrieved the kayak before it was lost to sea! I literally swam back across the gap and brought the kayak back for my family to return to the hotel. That is how small the gap is between hotel and beach.

Bear in mind that all products and food must be brought in from either other islands or the mainland, so a trip to Koh Kood is not a gastronomical adventure by any means, but we did not go hungry!

The grounds are well kept, the rooms are clean and functional, the mosquitos minimal when we were there, and the sunsets memorable. Very nice place.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JonahArnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRM-BHMAsia, Public Relations Manager at Away Koh Kood, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Greetings from the Away Koh Kood team.

Delighted to hear the team at Away made your family holiday such a great experience. Good to hear you enjoyed the sunsets, no doubt from one of our loungers set up on the beachfront.

I will be sure to pass on your kind words in regards to our staff’s attentions and in general their actions that made your stay all the better, something crucial for any holiday at any resort.

If you do indeed decide perhaps to come back one day to Koh Kood, please do remember us.
Sincere best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    105
    40
    23
    22
See reviews for
73
125
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Basel/Bangkok
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Service is good in this place and the rooms are quite OK for what they are. Location is fine as it is overlooking a beautiful bay however there is no beach to speak of here. It is a rocky sea shore and you have to take a plastic kayak (provided by the hotel) to paddle across what is essentially the mouth of a mangrove river to Khlong Chao beach, where Captain Hook resort is located (Captain Hook is right on the beach).
Worst however are the concrete dividers between the bungalows. As they are build rather close together there were large tall concrete wall build between individual bungalow, not a pretty sight as only partially overgrown by vegetation. Nope, for that money I would not want to have concrete slabs left and right of my room.
++++++

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tools4fools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRM-Astudo, Public Relations Manager at Away Koh Kood, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Greetings from Away Koh Kood team

Please be advised that since your stay in April 2011 this resort has been upgraded and renovated with the addition of a large 200 meter stretch of beach directly in front of the resort. Indeed the resort itself is also since September 2011 under new management and has new and upgraded bungalows, beach front swimming pool, new activities centre, new bar and café.

As you did yourself experience our staff is as friendly, warm and service oriented as could be asked and they would be delighted to welcome you back to try out these new resort bungalows, pool, beach and so on.

Sincere best wishes from us here at Away!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
in your heart ;p
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Advice about how to go to Koh Kood : Taking the bus from bangkok is probably easier for going to the pier to get speed boat to Koh kood,, the bus takes about 5-6 hours..if you're booking with Siriwhite Speed Boat, they provide a transfer (im not sure if its free or cost about 60 baht)from the bus terminal to the pier, but flying to Trat Airport, only choice you have is taking a private van or private sedan which costs about 1100 Baht( with Koh Chang Minibus which u have to book it through their own website only) or 1800 Baht (with Bangkok Limousine which is a company providing transfers to various places from Trat Airport) It takes 1 hour from the airport to the Laem Sok pier where u get speed boats to Koh Kood. If you travel to Koh Chang, its much easier flying to Trat since the airport is way closer to the Koh Chang ferry pier and they also provide the share van transfer to your resort in Koh Chang, u dont even have to book it, u just pay when u arrive at Trat Airport.

All in all , the staffs are very nice and helpful even though it's probably hard for tourists since they probably dont speak english very well. It's all the same at any hotels of Centara that the staffs arent that fluent in english. even their 5 stars hotels.
I just dont like their accommodation that much since its been run down but it looks friendly with the environment. only thing i love from this place is that i could see a very nice view of the beach from my bed. I would choose to wake up early in the morning every day here in Koh Kood with the nice view and the tranquilment that I will never be able to find in Bangkok.

if you dont mind paying high price but getting low quality of accommodation, Away would be one of your good choice.. the room doesnt suit the price shown on booking website. it's been run down,especially the bathroom. i dont recommend this place for people who are "sensitive" with toilet and bathroom. since the toilet design makes the staffs hard to clean it all up so i could see hmm dirty stuff on it. the water has some kind of salty taste too, I had to use drinking water this time to brush my teeth.and since the resort have some kind of "Eco policy" , they save everything they can save. I totally understand that they try to be friendly to the environment as much as they can but im not sure if this policy goes well with hotel industry since most of people expects good room, good food, good services, and good facilities especially when staying at high star-rating hotels. I really want Away to develop their accommodation and their policy. i think they could probably be better than this.
I rent a motorbike and search for some other places for hanging out too , Tinkerbell resort and Shantaa resort is one of resorts i recommend for having a good meal , they have more food to choose on the menu and good quality of food serves (especially at Shantaa, but its just not beach front resort, u can still get panoramic view of the sea though). and Tinkerbell is probably one of the best resorts in Koh Kood with its location and environment, the white sand with clear water is just right in front of u, i didnt see the room though but i think it would worth more staying at Tinkerbell.

just check urself first what you like and what u r like before booking so that u wouldnt regret it later. it is a risk too booking an accommodation.

Room Tip: ocean view room is stunning if u want to wake up and see the panoramic view of koh kood sea. but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NocturnalSom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRM-Astudo, Public Relations Manager at Away Koh Kood, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Greetings from Away Koh Kood team

Thank you for taking the time to compose this review of your stay with us just recently. If I may just clear up and correct you on a few points as below. Firstly and most crucially we are not part of the Centara chain any more having just recently gone under a management back in September 2011. Many improvements have been made in this short space of time.

The very rustic and natural theme of Away is indeed very unique, although in your case perhaps mistaken for run down. I am sorry to hear that this may have impaired you overall enjoyment of our resort as on the whole, with your comments in regards to good service and great views, it sounds as if you very much enjoyed your stay with us. You are quite right about our 'Eco' theme, which is not only a part of the Away brand experience, but part of the many challenges brought about by being located on such a wonderful untouched Island Paradise.

Our sincere best wishes and hopes to see you here at Away again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

It was a memorable trip with a group of friends last month at Away. Koh Kood is still virgin and fresh. I liked the time when I woke up and saw panoramic sea view from my bangalow ! Our group spent half day enjoying snockering then had lunch privately on the beach. Thanks to Away 's staffs. Food was fresh and delicious. If anyone is looking for a beautiful and quite place with good service, Away is definitely your first choice.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Msuensil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRM-Astudo, Public Relations Manager at Away Koh Kood, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Greetings from Away Koh Kood Team

Our sincere thanks to you for writing this review in regards to your recent stay with us here. Indeed, it is often mentioned by guests that the views from their room were, indeed as you put it yourself “beyond expectation”, such is the position of our resort right on the beach and waterfront.

I will be sure to pass on your kind praise of our staff and their attentive service methods, again something that we are pleased to see often mentioned in glowing terms. We do our best to please that is for sure.

We hope to invite you back as one of our growing ranks of the honoured returning guests sometime very soon. Once again, our sincere thanks from all the team here at Away Koh Kood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

This place is so cosy, not the most fancy though. We loved staying here, the staff was really nice and the food was excellent. We prefer to pay a little more for food from a clean kitchen and this place was spotless....

Room Tip: We stayed at the beach front and loved it there. I you do not mind to walk a bunch of stairs it woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lodbland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRM-Astudo, Public Relations Manager at Away Koh Kood, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Greetings from Away Koh Kood Team

Many thanks for your kind words. It means a great deal to us when our happy guests make the time and effort to write a few lines about how enjoyable their stay with us was. Indeed, “cosy” is a word I have used myself when speaking to my friends about our resort as it really does have that kind of rustic, natural homely feel. Part of this homely warmth we think comes from the kindness and attention our staff give to our guests, something it seems you have also experienced.

Like many first class chef’s ours at Away who is indeed one of those who will accept nothing other than and spotless and efficient kitchen from where he can create his delights. I shall be sure to pass on to him and all our staff your kind words, which will as ever mean so much to them.

We hope to see you back at Away in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Kut hotels
3.4 km away
Koh Kood Beach Resort
Koh Kood Beach Resort
#3 of 14 in Ko Kut
216 reviews
3.9 km away
Cham's House Koh Kood Resort
1.9 km away
Horizon Resort Koh Kood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
Soneva Kiri
Soneva Kiri
#2 of 14 in Ko Kut
457 reviews
2.2 km away
Shantaa Koh Kood
Shantaa Koh Kood
#1 of 14 in Ko Kut
377 reviews
0.6 km away
High Season Pool Villa & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Away Koh Kood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Away Koh Kood

Property: Away Koh Kood
Address: 43/8 Moo 2, Baan Klongchao, Ko Kut 23000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Kut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Kut
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Kut
Price range (per night): $134 - $535
Hotel Class:3 star — Away Koh Kood 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Away Resorts on Koh Kood is the epitome of an island hideaway. The resort features spacious luxury bungalow villas, with private terraces and sea views from almost every room. The resort has the largest activity and dive centre on the island, so guests can enjoy not only the beauty and peacefulness of the resort, but also everything the island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotelopia and Cancelon so you can book your Away Koh Kood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Away Koh Kood Hotel Koh Kood
Away Hotel Trat
Away Resort Trat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing