We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing experience, comfortable stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Homestead Villas

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
62 reviews
Lawn - Cottage View
Level 2 - Cottage View /Table Tennis Den( Bottom Left)
Level 2 - Swing
Lawn- Level 2
Level 2- Sit out /Lawn/ Cottage
View from Sit Out
Level 2- Sit Out
Level 2 - Living
Level 2 - Dining
Level 2- Living
Level 2- Interiors
Level 2- Bedroom
Level 2 - Bedroom
Level 2 - Bedroom
Stairs - Level 1 to Level 2
Level 1 - Lawn
Level 1 - Lawn
Level 1 - Lawn
Level 1 - Living
Level 1 - Kitchen
Level 1 - Bedroom
Level 1 - Sit Out
Level 1 - Sit Out
Children's Play Area
Stairs- Parking to Cottages
Children's Play Area
Stairs to Cottages
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Kasauli, Kasauli Tehsil, Solan District, Himachal Pradesh

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
iapplaud
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Did not meet the expectations.”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
6
people found this review helpful

We chose this place to stay for 5 days because ours was a group of 6 adults and 5 children, we wanted to cook ourselves and expected some comfort and privacy.
What We got-
1) Other set of guests were chain smokers. Their smoke wafted up to our 2nd floor and it was extremely uncomfortable. Secondly, their drivers who were staying in the room next to ours were also smokers who would smoke outside our room right up till midnight. Neither our days nor nights were comfortable.
2) We had shared that we planned to do our cooking but what we got was an ill-equipped kitchen. There was only one jar-broken mixie and one not-properly working toaster which was shared between the first and second floor kitchens.
We felt it was not a fair exchange considering the room charges are one of the highest in Kasauli.
We wish that Trip Advisor would warn about the smoking and non-smoking properties.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for the feedback as well as choosing to stay at our premises. Your feedback definitely has caused us much sadness.

We did actively engage with you through your booking, during check-out and through your stay. During your check out you mentioned you were quite happy with the stay and even referred the place to your friends leading to two more successful bookings.

Given the above, the feedback took us by surprise and we feel let down.

We had conveyed our reluctance to take your booking given there were guests in the other level. We had made this known to you and you had continued with the booking with this update. Given it was the busy season in June, and you were not finding alternate options, on much insistence from you we agreed to the booking with the constraints around the specific instance of booking being made known to you.

On fellow guests smoking, we can only request our other quests to desist from smoking. We did so and the other guests even after much annoyance agreed to reduce their smoking.

You would appreciate that wherever there was room, we obliged. We shifted the TT table to your level. As mentioned even in our introduction mail, given the premises being a homestay, the presence of caretaker on premises in mandatory. Given your request to do self-cooking even at Level 2, we got our caretaker to let go their kitchen and make it available to you independently. As you would have noted, we do not offer the option of self cooking to guests at Level 2 since our Guest kitchen is only for guests at Level 1.

We did whatever we could even when we were not comfortable taking the booking in the first place. We bent backwards to make your stay comfortable. Your feedback therefore makes us feel quite saddened.

We apologize for the inconvenience. We will make sure going forward, we will not make any exceptions of allowing insistent bookings.

Thanks and regards
Homestead team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Reviewed 4 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 May 2014
Thank you so much . We hope to welcome you again very soon .
Regards ,
Shikha
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
vdhoot
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very serene getaway”
Reviewed 1 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Lovely views, well-maintained, pretty gardens and a feeling of being home in the hills. Kasauli has little to do for young kids, but they weren't bored for a minute

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2014
Thank you so much . We hope to welcome you again soon .
Regards ,
Shikha
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Reviewed 29 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 Apr 2014
Thank you Minal !! Hope to welcome you again soon !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
travel-le...
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“home away from home, full independence, midst of nature, awemsome!”
Reviewed 17 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

it was a home away from home for us (with two young kids -2 and 6yrs). we enjoyed full independence, but with super service whenever needed, and it never felt we are in a rental property. there is ample space and games (table tennis, badminton, lawns etc.) for indoor and outdoor entertainment. and the scenic beauty from the balconies and rooms were excellent, with a superb weather in late April.
it is about 100mtrs from Upper Mall, walking distance from Christ Church, mall road, Ross Common etc. - and the walk is so nice in the small roads, covered with trees.
kasuali was a find for us via internet search, and Homestead Villas and RoofTop Reasuarant at Garkhal made the find a ever-lasting memory for us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing