We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveller rating
41
76
46
29
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
76
46
29
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beer garden great pub full english breakfast food was lovely car park an evening meal stayed for one night cooked to perfection night stay lake district specials pint ales mushrooms ensuite scotland
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 216 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2018

Friendly staff, good food, clean and tidy room, bathroom good. Lovely walks along the canal. Good prices. Nice beer garden out the back. Only drawback is the car park is over the other side of a busy road, but hey ho can’t have everything!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank eggybreadUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MitchellsofLanc, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Hi eggybreadUK
Many thanks for leaving us a lovely review - we hope you choose to stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2018 via mobile

Really friendly staff and very clean rooms.
Food is excellent value and high quality pub grub with a really good veggie list. I had a nice steak and my better half a huge portion of homemade Chicken & leek pie.
Well stocked bar with good drinks offers.
Only slight down side was our room, no4. Tiny window and on a warm night that’s not great.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank crip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MitchellsofLanc, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Hi crip
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review - we did struggle in the recent heatwave to keep the rooms cool - we even went out to buy brand new fans for every room...unfortunately we are stuck with the size of windows! Nevertheless we're so pleased you enjoyed everything else and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018

Visited pub for an evening meal and a pint. Quite an extensive menu.The food was very nice and cooked to perfection. Plenty of choice of ales including craft beers. The staff were friendly and helpful. I would recommend.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MitchellsofLanc, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Hi Keith S
Many thanks for leaving us a lovely review and recommendation. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

Visited with two good friends and enjoyed some trad pub grub that wasn’t OTT nor poor quality. The food was very fresh and prepped to a great standard. Service couldn’t have been better from the bar staff too.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank 224natalier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MitchellsofLanc, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Hi Natalie R
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a positive review - the whole team appreciates it! Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

Visited the Royal as a family while visiting the area. Looks lovely outside but inside was quite tired looking, tables very sticky and in need of decorating. We ordered food, the kids meals were ok but the kids pizza wasn’t very nice, the cheese on it was weird, it went like cottage cheese, very odd. The rib eye was flavourless as was the peppercorn sauce that went with it. I ordered lamb off the specials, but it was very dry, the potatoes were inedible, looked like they were over cooked to start with then reheated a few times. Our check back was only a couple of minutes after receiving the meals, and so didn’t raise it with the staff, but I wouldn’t eat here again, £60 down the pan.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank CatherineG78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MitchellsofLanc, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Hello CatherineG78
We wish you had mentioned your dissatisfaction at the time - even after the positive check back we would have welcomed a chance to ensure your ongoing satisfaction. Please call in again soon and give us another go.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews