We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hlosi Game Lodge(Amakhala Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
USD 646
USD 563
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bukela Game Lodge(Amakhala Game Reserve)
USD 759
USD 743
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Quatermains 1920s Safari Camp(Amakhala Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
USD 330
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Amakhala Safari Lodge(Amakhala Game Reserve)
USD 640
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 632
USD 539
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Leeuwenbosch Country House(Amakhala Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
USD 499
USD 455
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Woodbury Tented Camp(Amakhala Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
USD 330
Booking.com
View Deal
USD 821
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 921/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 52
USD 42
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 675
USD 650
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (299)
Filter reviews
299 results
Traveller rating
245
44
9
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
245
44
9
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe reserveother guestsgame driveshot chocolateincredible viewsexcellent guidecommunal dininggame parkherd of elephantsmorning drivefamily roomgreat funeach eveningour honeymoonheated floorsthree nightswelcome drink
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 299 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Woodbury lodge was our first stop of our 2.5 week tour of SA.

Game drives with Seamus were fantastic. Quite tiring bouncing around in the truck for 3 hours plus especially when it was cold and wet. The warm blankets and ponchos provided were essential! Saw lots of wildlife which was fantastic.


Lodges themselves could do with some updating, just very tired looking. Lovely view but the weather didn’t allow us to sit outside.

Food in the lodge was nice and the communal dining was fun.

Seamus was definitely the highlight of our stay :)

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank celia591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodburylodge, Public Relations Manager at Woodbury Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Thank you very much for staying with us, we are extremely glad to hear you had a lovely stay.
Sorry the weather was not the best during your stay but we are glad to hear your game drives with Seamus were great!
We have had a severe drought the past Summer which has allowed some cracks to appear unfortunately. All rooms will be refurbished to rectify this, this Winter, we apologise for any inconvenience.
We hope to see you back in the near future
Kind Regards
The Woodbury Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

As the central part of our three week holiday to Sth.Africa, (this was our first time to Sth Africa and Safari), you exceeded all our expectations. The lodge is run with casual efficiency, you feel comfortable but cared for. The game drives with our guide Seamus were the height of our holiday, he is relentless in his endeavours to ensure you get to see the best of what Amakhala has. My wife had damaged her knee so she found herself comfortably sat in the front passenger seat of the truck. The days are as energetic or as restful as you want them to be. The food is excellent with plenty of choice for all. The accommodation is that nice you could be tempted not to leave it, the views from the balcony terraces with a G&T in hand are a memory we will treasure forever. Thank you Woodbury Lodge and all the staff. Fond memories, Ann & Dave, Sidcup. Kent

Room Tip: When your bath has a window running along side it with a view of the vast park, there is nothing left to say.
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mr David W W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodburylodge, Public Relations Manager at Woodbury Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Thank you very much Ann and Dave for staying with us, we are extremely glad to hear you had an excellent Safari and it was just the icing on the cake!
We are glad to hear you had a fabulous time with Seamus and he showed you the best of what Amakhala has to offer.
We hope to see you back in the near future for more G and T's on the balcony :)
Kind Regards
The Woodbury Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

We stayed for three nights in one of the thatched lodges. The rooms were clean, comfy and had a bed that was so comfortable I can't tell you! The room could maybe have used a lick of paint but it just fades into insignificance when you consider the beauty and atmosphere of the place. The views over the reserve are spectacular, the sounds coming from the wild life all around us will stay with us forever. The staff worked so hard to make the stay special for us and they certainly succeeded. The food was lovely, breakfast on the bomb when you return from the morning drive was a treat, as was the cheese bread. Seamus our guide was a delight to meet. Very knowledgable about all the animals and birds we saw, and keen to impart that knowledge. He had a good sense of humour and we enjoyed our time with him and our fellow travellers . Can't say enough about the place, it is magical.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodburylodge, Public Relations Manager at Woodbury Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Thank you very much Linda for staying with us, we are extremely glad to hear you had an excellent safari experience that will stay with you forever! That's what makes our job fulfilling!
We hope to see you back in the near future for more memories and more yummy cheese bread :)
Kind Regards
The Woodbury Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

We had a 3 night stay which was perfect as it gave us four game drives without having to rush. The lodge was very comfortable with a nice big bedroom and bathroom and the eating areas are all lovely. The game drives were the high light and Jason, our guide, was very informative and interesting. He made the whole experience very memorable. We saw a large variety of beautiful animals including a day old baby elephant! Thank you to all of you at Woodbury. We will recommend you.

Room Tip: Some rooms have been up dated
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ange t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodburylodge, Public Relations Manager at Woodbury Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Thank you very much Ange for staying with us, we are extremely glad to hear you had an excellent Safari experience.
Our new-born baby elephant is most definitely a highlight!
We hope to see you back in the near future
Kind Regards
The Woodbury Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

We had a fantastic 3 nights at Woodbury lodge at the end of our honeymoon.

We were pretty unlucky with the weather but still enjoyed 6 fantastic game drives and we're lucky enough to get up really close to the lions and see a newborn elephant! Our guide Jason was really knowledgeable and the vehicles were good - we always had much more space than guests at other camps we saw round the reserve who looked quite squashed in! One of the highlights was parking up for g&t at sunset surrounded by giraffes. The reserve is stunning, incredible views from every angle and we saw plenty of game only missing out on the cheetah (despite Jason's best efforts!)

The camp setting was lovely, food was great, particularly the cooked breakfast after the early game drives, and the dinners were great, it was good fun sitting with other guests and the guides chatting about our trips. Unfortunately it was too cold/wet to enjoy the camp fire outside.

The only downside really was the room. While initially it seemed lovely, very private, spacious and great views from the deck, after a closer look it was actually very run down and in need of refurbishment. Lots of cracked tiles, the bathroom was pretty manky and the bathtub old and damaged. Just generally needed some tlc - and unfortunately for us our room was always full of lots of HUGE spiders! None of the other guests had this to the same extent as us. I know they are harmless, and was expecting the odd bugs given the setting, but every time you got rid of the spiders more appeared. It just meant we couldn't relax in the room as they were constantly jumping (literally!) out at you!

So overall 3 stars for the room and 5 for the rest of the experience and the game drives which were just fantastic!!

Stayed: March 2018
Thank suziem00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodburylodge, Public Relations Manager at Woodbury Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Thank you Suzie for staying with us and glad you had a lovely stay particularly the fantastic game drives, which you were very lucky to see our new baby elephant.
We are extremely sorry that you felt the room didn't live up to standard. We have had severe drought this last Summer which has caused some cracks in the walls due to movement. All rooms will be refurbished and rectified this coming Winter.
We hope this hasn't deterred a future visit
Kind Regards
The Woodbury Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews