We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“House with a wonderful view in a near-perfect...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Lagrasse, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
annaheuss...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“House with a wonderful view in a near-perfect town!”
Reviewed 18 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Lagrasse is a near-perfect small French town and Maison de Mauricette is perfectly situated to enjoy it to the full. We stayed for a week in early September and certainly hope to return for a fortnight in the future. The house is comfortable, the owner is welcoming and helpful but leaves guests to enjoy themselves too, and the town is the sort of place where you could sit around all day gazing, reading, sipping, strolling, munching, having a refreshing dip and then gazing some more!

The photos of Lagrasse don't lie - the town is a beautiful medieval gem which feels real rather than being a stage set or a tourist honeypot like some others (eg Minerve), and the views of the river and Abbey from the house are a delight. The main street of Lagrasse has a tree-covered pedestrian boulevard along one side, complete with a great café-brasserie and a lovely tea salon, plus two great restaurants, an épicerie for groceries, a boulangerie across the street and a few other good shops too. It was busier in the day time than at night during our stay, and indeed we were surprised that the café-bar closed at 8 or 9pm.

To add to all these attractions, there's the ancient bridge, the beautiful marketplace (complete with market on Saturdays) the impressive Gothic church, the abbey which has a lovely café in its courtyard, the river with its delightful and safe swimming place only a five minute stroll from Maison de Mauricette and the ice-cream café by the riverside for a treat on the way back. And while there are plenty of tourists around, the town wasn't at all packed with them during our stay, which was a balance we enjoyed a lot.

The house has great views onto the river and abbey - we did think the abbey's large unfinished tower was rather unexpectedly ugly, but that's a minor point! The small paved front garden is a perfect place to sit, though it's unfortunate that there's no shade from the hot sun after mid-morning. Languedoc is prone to occasional strong winds, as we found out on a few days, and as a result a parasol isn't a good option - but then again, sitting in shaded cafés or under a tree by the river is an easy stroll away, and the joys of sitting outdoors at night await later.

The kitchen cum living-room on the ground floor is small but has everything needed, the bathroom has a good shower and the two bedrooms are comfortable: the first floor room has a smallish double bed (Queen size) and the room itself is on the small side, but the second floor room is spacious and lovely, and didn't get too warm at night once we kept the shutters closed in the daytime and opened the windows a bit at night. The area is very quiet apart from the church bells which ring rather too often - but we got pretty used to them after a few nights.

So Maison de Mauricette and Lagrasse are very highly recommended by us. There are several good restaurants in the town: on the boulevard, La Cocotte Felée is great all round and L'Affenage has simple food along with a cheerful atmosphere; Les Trois Graces has an atmospheric courtyard and really good food; and we didn't get to try the rather closed in rooftop terrace of Le Temps des Courges. There's also great daytime food at the Café Brasserie, at La Petite Maison and also snacks at Le Recantou, the ice-cream place.

For walks, we'd recommend the fragrant pine-covered hill above the abbey and the magnifcent walk along the minor road past the abbey; and further afield, the delightful Sentier en Poésie in the woods near Villar-en-Val and the walk up to the Cathar castle at Termes. Carcassonne is 35km away and the Canal du Midi is a bit closer, but be warned that those iconic views of double or treble rows of plane trees over the water are not easy to find these days, due to cutting down and replanting of trees to deal with the deadly fungus that's affected many of them. Driving towards the Pyrenées is likely to involve a lot of twisting roads amid the garrigue and wood covered mountains.

So for those who like to relax in a beautiful small town that's a bit off the beaten path, Lagrasse and Maison de Mauricette should be high on the list!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being by the river, the town, the views, the cafés and restaurants, the walks
Liked least: Lack of shade in front of the house, church bells at night
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2016
Thank you! Thank you very much Anna for cutter message and the comment on the site.
What pleases me especially, it is whom you are satisfied with your stay to Lagrasse. And welcome to another opportunity
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katandrod...
Nairn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday in the beautiful village of Lagrasse, comfortable accomodation in this lovely little property”
Reviewed 1 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We are just back from the most relaxing, enjoyable, sunny two weeks for many years, in this comfortable, cosy little house, which has tremendous views from every window, not just of the abbey but also the beautiful, olive green river below. The terrace provides space for sunbathing and alfresco meals, and is also the perfect place to watch the world go by. Jean Pierre is easily contacted, is a helpful, friendly and discrete owner, allowing you to get on with your holiday, but on hand if required. The village has a number of excellent restaurants worthy of note, not least La Trois Graces, two minutes walk from the gite, and L'Affenage on Boulevard de la Promenade. There is a small marche every Saturday, and a number of artisan shops and wine stores. Swimming in the warm, safe river is an optional daily activity. Re: transport- We took a taxi from the airport, about 80 euro, but worth it as we did not plan or need a car other than getting to Lagrasse. 10 out of 10, we will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the terrace, the swimming, the ambiance of the village.
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happyhols...
Notts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great gite, great view, great village!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Great cottage with a "vue exceptionale" indeed of the Abbey - on many an occasion we heard tourists walk up, followed by a gasp then "ooooooo"! The cottage is in a prime position next to the river, tucked in the heart of the village. We loved to fall asleep to the sound of the river, but the windows were a perfect fit if you preferred silence. The cottage has everything you need - there is a two hob induction and a combi microwave-oven if you want to stay in rather than eat locally. The double bedroom is on the smaller side but has a comfy bed and view of the river. We didn't use the twin bedroom as there were only two of us, but it was a huge room across the top of the house. The patio was nice and a real sun-trap - it was great to have our own outdoor space to relax in.

Lagrasse is a great base for a holiday even if you choose not to hire a car. We got there by public transport which was very simple (if limited). There are several restaurants in the village (La Petit Maison does fabulous food - the salads have to be seen to be believed), and a pizza take-away. In terms of other amenities, there are two supermarkets, a boulangerie/patisserie, a newsagents, pharmacy, ice-cream shop and several art and crafts shops.

A visit to the Tourist Info is worth a trip for the map of local walks. We went on several from 5km to 10km in length, all setting off locally, and the views are stunning. It is also worth following the oath alongside the river as it runs alongside the village allotments with trees creaking with apricots and olives, and red tomato laden bushes - somewhat different to our allotment here in the UK! If you follow right up to the end of the allotments, up to a river dam, there is a path back up to the road which makes for a nice circular walk.

Swimming in the river is fantastic. It gets dammed up on the 1st July but there are pools deep enough to swim in prior to that anyway and lots of paddling to be had in the rocks. The water is really clear with many fish on view, including those in the river next to the cottage who very much appreciate any leftover bread.

We had a fabulous week and we'd heartily recommend it to anyone else.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Would have been nice to have a proper oven but the combi was fine for simple meals
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isa D
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy house with a beautiful view”
Reviewed 4 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had an absolutely wonderful stay in Maison Mauricette! The cosy, yet modern atmosphere immediately made us all feel at home. The view on the river and medieval abbaye is fantastic. Even the pouring rain didn't bother us. It was actually rather nice falling asleep to the sound of raindrops falling on the skylights. I would therefore like to strongly recommend this place and will hopefully go back in summer!

Travelling group: Freunden
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Dec 2013
Cette famille très sympathique avec deux enfants est une des premières à avoir occupé ce nouveau logement! Il sont repartis ravis.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing