We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“It's all about the Window....”
View to Slioch from back garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View to Slioch from back garden
View from lounge Lounge and dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
View to Slioch from back garden
View from lounge
Lounge and dining area
View from lounge
Kitchen
Kingsize bedroom
Twin bedroom
Bathroom
Back of the cottage
Reflection of a beautiful winter day
Back garden in winter
Pine Marten kit
Red Deer stag
View to Beinn Eighe from rear of property
Magnificent Torridon mountains
Local view
White-tailed eagle fishing
Mountain hare
Local view
Pine Marten
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Kinlochewe, Ross and Cromarty, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
GedRachSc...
Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It's all about the Window....”
Reviewed 30 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We loved this cottage from the moment we arrived until the very last minute before we reluctantly left. I stayed here with my wife and cocker spaniel (Hugh) and we had a very busy week in the outdoors, we were always looking forward to returning to the warmth of the cottage at the end of each day. The cottage was very clean and was kitted out with everything that you require. My title says it all.....it has the best window ever which looks onto the western tops of Beinn Eighe. Loved just looking out at the mountains and bird feeders which were alive with various types of birds. Then once the sun set we had the daily appearance from the local Pine Marten which is an amazing experience especially if you love wildlife. Plenty of restaurants, bars and cafes within a short drive. Torridon Inn, Gillie Brighde, Whistle Stop Cafe and Kinlochewe Hotel to name few. We love Wester Ross and frequent the area on a regular basis, but this is the first time we have stayed in a holiday cottage and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Cairn Shiel.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2017
Dear Geddes and Rachael
It was lovely to meet you at the start of your week and we are glad you and Hugh had such a good time. Thank you for your great review. We hope to see you back at Cairn Shiel one day and good luck in the Celtman!
All the best
Will and Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela A
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely location and well equipped ”
Reviewed 16 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Stayed for 1 week in April. Weather was pretty good so was able to watch kids explore during the day and view plenty of wildlife at night.kids particularly enjoyed seeing the pinemartin visit most evenings. The accommodation has a very well equiped kitchen, storage heaters to keep it warm and was well decorated, though it's not much to look at from the road. The owners have left lots of useful folders about local Walks, eating and wildlife. Easy to visit other areas if you don't mind driving a bit. E.g It was about 1 hour to Skye. Overall a great base to visit NW scotland. Bring plenty of food from a big supermarket though as local shops are small and have limited stocks. Local cafe is great, but not cheap.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2017
We are really pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed Cairn Shiel. Thank you for your complimentary feedback which will help future guests to plan their trip. Kind regards, Will & Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alisonjef...
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 30 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Wonderful cottage with everything you need, spotlessly clean in a stunning location, the pine Martin that visits is just an extra bonus. Would definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Feb 2017
Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad that you enjoyed your week at Cairn Shiel and look forward to seeing you again. Will and Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Treedesig...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Winter stay ”
Reviewed 23 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Great place and lovely location.
This was a work stay and I wish we'd been here for the full three weeks, the stay was just a week.

Very neat and tidy with storage heating and panel heaters if it gets colder.
All kitchen utensils available and a big fridge.
Washer dryer utility for drying so the owners have thought of most things.
TV satellite, pay phone though check the number as I'm not sure it's correct in the details.
There is normally mobile phone signal though EE is great as wifi calling and messaging over the internet is always a bonus, which there is here, if you need to keep in touch.

Local facilities in the winter are sparse, so bring your own food, (I live in the north of Scotland though used to live on the west and still he caught out by opening times) so take care to get to any shops early.
We didn't find the hotel Open on our stay which was a shame.

The area is stunning and so much to do though bring waterproofs and warm cloths for outdoor activities.

The location and views are stunning and if your at all outdoorsy it's a great retreat, with a good feeling.

Overall very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Dec 2016
Hi Paul, thank you for your review. We are glad that we were able to accommodate you at short notice, and that you had such a good winter stay. Our phone and internet contract changed whilst you were there so there is now a new phone number. We will make sure it is updated in the information. Please don't hesitate to contact us if you are working in, or visiting the Torridon area again and need accomodation. Kind regards, Will and Sue Snow
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james f
2 reviews
“Perfect place to relax and unwind”
Reviewed 27 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The holiday was just superb. Peaceful with stunning views lots of varied wildlife.Rental was spotless and fully equiped. We will return at some point. Maybe a winter break. Thankyou

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2016
Thank you for your review James, it is lovely to receive such nice comments. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly through our website if you decide to visit again in the winter. Kind regards, Will and Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing