We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Good value.”
other travellers have booked this property
Outside dinning and swimming pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Outside dinning and swimming pool
Outside dinning and swimming pool Outside dinning and swimming pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
Outside dinning and swimming pool
Outside dinning and swimming pool
Outside dinning and swimming pool
Outside dinning and swiming pool
Outside dinning and swimming pool
Outside dinning and swimming pool
Swimming pool
Swimming pool
Sun terrace and outside dinning
Outside dinning and swimming pool
Sun terrace and outside dinning
Sun terrace and outside dinning
Sun terrace and outside dinning
Living and dinning room
Living and dinning room
Living and dinning room
Kitchen and dinning area
Kitchen and dinning area
Dining and living room
Sofa bed
Double bedroom
Double bedroom
family bathroom
Twin bedroom
Twin bedroom
Twin bedroom
Twin bedroom
En - suite, twin bedroom
En - suite, twin bedroom
Rear terrace area
Outside bamboo shade
Bamboo shade and driveway
Cabanas beach
Cabanas beach
Cabanas
Cabanas
Cabanas beach
Cabanas beach
Cabanas village
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Cabanas, Tavira, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Garethpit...
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good value.”
Reviewed 12 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I can't fault the Villa for what we paid for it, and couldn't rule out returning. Personally, Villa to me means a big house, I'd call this a small bungalow.

The pictures provided are mostly accurate, however, pictures can be deceiving. The pool is very small, but big enough for 4/5 people to play about in, chill and cool off.

Beds are fairly comfortable, everything you need to cook and even was clothes was available.

The main strip is about a 15 minute walk away from the accommodation. The area is part of a council estate we found. The part of the 'grove like' estate we were on were empty with only a few occupied, it was lovely a quiet.

In fairness, the place does need some little, simple upgrades, curtain rail in single bedroom, toilet roll holder, and like everyone has said, a full length mirror would be handy.
The iron and ironing board could do with an upgrade too. The board is small enough for a borrower, and iron from 1945 (not steam).

We did ask if we could stay later after check out due to our flight being late and we were told no because of cleaners coming at 11.
We pushed our luck (after cleaning everywhere) and stayed until 1 anyway and no one turned up.

The guy, Mark, if I remember correctly seemed very rushed on arrival. "There's the bedroom, through there is the other room, keys are on the table, leave them there on departure. The Windows lock like this, any questions? No, bye".

Over all I would recommend staying here for the cost, it's just a shame it's not in Tavira rather than Cabanas.

I'd recommend heading there in a cab for about €9 for night time meals and bars. Much nicer than Cabanas, nicer people and more to see.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
486patg
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 29 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Issues:
Bathroom and shower room shabby and tired. Trouble with the drain from the bath/shower. Apart from bathroom cabinets, no mirrors in any of the rooms. Using a hairdryer was therefore problematic. No power point in the bathroom. Power point in the shower room utilised by washing machine squeezed in beside the wash hand basin. Hazardous in any event to connect a hairdryer. Villa described as accommodating 4 or 5. No wardrobes in twin room, so had to hang our clothes on coat hooks in outer room and corner shelves. There were 3 three in our group, but only two sun loungers.
Observations:
The pool was not a “swimming” pool as described. Far too small to swim. Best described as a plunge pool. Reference is made to a garden. The garden comprised of a mixed hedge around the outside perimeter of the small raised pool area. It is suggested that the property is suitable for children and people with mobility problems. In our opinion, the unguarded edge of the elevated pool area represents a hazard to children in particular.

The front door has a deadlock that cannot be disengaged without a key. Accordingly, whilst spending time on the terrace it is important not to shut the door without having the key available outside otherwise the occupants would be locked out.

During our one week holiday we endeavoured to contact the owner on the two telephone numbers that he had provided to raise the “issues”. We telephoned several times on two separate days but were unable to contact him. Curious on the basis that the response rate reported on the web site is 100%!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: having no wardrobes and elevated patio area/size of pool.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2016
Thank you for your comments, however they are untrue, contradictory and silly. I hope that the people who read your review can see past your comments and read the other genuine reviews from clients who have stayed at our villa and many of whom return year after year. Unfortunately, some people think it’s a good bit of sport to be nasty on the internet. It’s almost like everyone wants to be AA Gill and they think that being unpleasant gets them read. You comment that you did not like the elevated swimming pool area, however you could see very clearly (before you booked) from the many photos that are on the advert that the swimming pool is elevated, also it is very clear to see the size of the swimming pool, this is why we provide many photos for our guests to see and decide if they would like to book with us. The front door is the same as the majority of front doors, not just here in Portugal but throughout the world, yes it will close and will need to be reopened with a key. This would not cause a problem with being locked out, as you or anyone else can see from the photos, there is also a large patio door to side of the villa that can be easily accessed from both sides, also the rear door of the villa can be easily accessed. There are no sockets in the bathrooms as there are not in the majority of bathrooms in the UK for safety reasons. Our description of our villa is 100% accurate in our advert, also there are many photos taken from every possible angle of the villa to show what is in the villa and what is not. The things you mentioned the villa does not have, are not listed in our advert. Your description of the bathrooms are just not true as all of our other clients can confirm in their genuine reviews. I never received or missed any phone calls from you during your stay. If I had received a phone call, I would have called into the villa immediately. It is very obvious that you have returned home from your holiday and set out to cause as much trouble as you can. This is unfair to other clients who rely on truthful reviews to make a decision on where to spend their holidays. I only hope that another trip advisor or holiday lettings owner does not have the misfortune of accepting you as a guest in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fact that this was a traditional property set in a very private location
Liked least: Access in/out of the swimming pool. An extra step in would have been helpful
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
269emma
Benalmadena, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ms”
Reviewed 25 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

What a wonderful holiday we have just had.
Lovely villa in quiet cul de sac location only a ten min stroll to the centre of cabanas, everything you could need is provided even tuppaware to take salads to the beach.
Supermarket is 5 mins away as is the train station.
Dunk pool is beautiful and was cleaned during our stay.
On arrival mark took us round the area and showed us where everything was.
One tip don't get a taxi as this cost us €60 and train is only €7 and takes you directly to cabanas.
Only one recommendation the villa needs some full length mirrors ! Us ladies need them.
Would definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon M
1 review
“Fabulous stay”
Reviewed 19 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had a very comfortable, relaxing stay at Villa De Mar in Cabanas. There was everything that we needed at the villa and it also had a pool, which made our stay even more enjoyable. That aside it is a short walk down to the beach, where you get on a boat and it takes two minutes to get across to the beach. The beach is absolutely stunning, with pure white sands, the boat trip on its own makes the journey quite exciting. In town there are quite a few restaurants and bars serving very fresh products. We ate at the Villa quite a bit as it has its own bbq so we bought our food from the local supermarket which was priced very very reasonably.

We would very much recommend the Villa and Cabanas region as we believe that it is a hidden gem.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location of villa, very quite.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing