We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Cottage in Wonderful Settings”
other travellers have booked this property
Cider Press Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cider Press Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Cider Press Cottage
Driveway from the main road.
Driveway from the main road
Cider Press cottage grounds
Lounge
Upstairs king size Bedroom
Upstairs second bedroom
Bluebell Forest Near Mallards Pike
Royal Forest of Dean in the winter time
Royal Forest of Dean in Autumn
Go Ape at Mallards Pike
Mallards Pike is just a 5 minute drive away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dawn F
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful Cottage in Wonderful Settings”
Reviewed 27 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Wonderful Cottage in Wonderful Settings.
On holiday with my Mother and our 2 dogs
Lovely welcome from both Sue and Mike. The cottage was spotlessly clean and so well equipped with everything needed. The downstairs bedroom and wet room were ideal for my Mother while upstairs I had the choice of 2 rooms and a bathroom all to myself.
Our 2 dogs were very comfortable and felt at home straight away.
Forest of Dean is a beautiful place with so much to do and so suitable for all abilities.
We will be back now we have found this cottage we will use it each time we come to this area (usually twice a year and twice a year in a different area)

Dawn

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The disabled person asspect of the building
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roy542
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Had a great time, cottage excelled expectations.”
Reviewed 24 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

What a lovely cottage, my family and I had a great time. Sue the owner had left extras for us when we arrived, coffee, tea, milk and some very tasty biscuits. The cottage was cosy, clean, warm and very close to The Forest Of Dean. We had fish and chips from the shop in blakeney which were as my daughter said " the best she'd ever tasted " . Nearly forgot to say the beds were very comfortable. Hoping to revisit again sometime.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bren T
Loughborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A very warm welcome”
Reviewed 30 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Cider Press Cottage does not fit neatly into many typical categories of cottages we have visited! The owners are exceptionally welcoming, and handily placed if questions arise. Three good sized bedrooms and two good bathrooms, with a useful landing/balcony. Unusually, all the annoying to bring little items like hand-soap and dishwash tabs were provided. Four adults and two children fitted easily into the cottage. The 'cottagy' decor/furniture, not normally our favourite style, was surprisingly comfy and relaxing. Excellent situation down a long driveway and right on the doorstep of the southeastern edge of the actual forest. Good for bike washing too. We walked, ran and cycled from our door, and attractions such as the sculpture park, Clearwell Caves and Puzzle Wood were all within a short drive. Saw shooting stars, but no wild boar!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian B
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Cider Press - how we've missed you!”
Reviewed 19 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We are regular visitors to Cider Press but circumstances have kept us away for a while but it was so good to go back! Facilities excellent everything you could possibly need you could say it has all the comforts of home! We took Mum with us this time and she loved it, warm cosy and plenty of places to visit was how she described it. If you have dogs you really should visit Cider Press the garden is safe, walks on the door step and friends next door for them to rub noses through the fence with!
10/10 for a perfect cottage and wonderful hosts!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreBec
Bedford
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, friendly owners.”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We have just returned from a five day stay at Cider Press Cottage. This was the first holiday we have had with our small dog. The cottage is in a beautiful location and is fully enclosed which is ideal if you have a dog. The owners were very helpful and friendly and made us feel very welcome as soon as we arrived. Milk, biscuits, coffee, tea and even dog treats were provided along with everything else you need to enjoy your holiday!
The cottage is situated in a very rural area with some lovely walks right outside the front door.
We will definitely be returning to this cottage and would recommend a stay here!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing