We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nick & May have created a slice of heaven”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old Vicarage

The Old Vicarage of Awre has welcomed people for 300 years
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Vicarage of Awre has welcomed people for 300 years
The lounge in the stables Rangemaster cooker and high quality St Moritz  cookware
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
The Old Vicarage of Awre has welcomed people for 300 years
The lounge in the stables
Rangemaster cooker and high quality St Moritz  cookware
Solid pine dining table to seat 10 with an extension for 12
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
poppins36...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nick & May have created a slice of heaven”
Reviewed 5 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

I cant speak highly enough of Nick & May and the idyll they have created on the Severn Estuary. The rambling and beautifully kept gardens are straight from a fairy tale. The spacious and comfortable rooms all have the most beautiful rooms. The living area are comfortable and many. The kitchen is extremely well equipped, open plan onto a great farmhouse table. Nick and May themselves are the highlight, welcoming, relaxed and fun they are the perfect hosts whether you are staying at the Old Vicarage to relax or have a shindig.
I'll be back as soon as I can to enjoy the wonderful home they have created and are eager to share. Thank you! :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hosts
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2016
Hannah
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate it.
So pleased you and your friends had a such a good time and you enjoyed what was here. Just to mention Nick and I can be invisible too, if guests prefer, we try and respond to what guests are wanting..
Hope you can book in again soon, but we are booked up until November.
Many thanks, May
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The open kitchen and big dining table - perfect for family time
Liked least: Can't think of anything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A&A_F-L
Peterborough, England
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Absolutely delightful”
Reviewed 13 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Travelled as a group of 12 and the accommodation was just great. The location on the edge of the Forest Of Dean, overlooking the Severn is wonderful. The bedroom accommodation is lovely (a mix of en-suite rooms and ones without but with good shared facilities), the garden area is delightful and what's great for a large party is the amount of communal space. The main house where 4 of the double rooms are located has a lounge and a quite formal dining room which are yours to use, but we tended instead to base ourselves around the kitchen and dining/living space in the stables block where the other 2 double rooms are. The kitchen is very well stocked and we easily sat 12 around the table there. One evening we carried chairs and tables down to the barbecue area at the bottom of the garden and cooked, ate and drank there until late. We had a ball. And I mustn't fail to mention how friendly, accommodating and helpful May and Nick were. They obviously cared that we had a good time, which we most certainly did. Go, and enjoy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, accommodation, bedrooms, eating and kitchen areas, garden, price
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giles31
1 review
“Lovely house, made to feel very welcome by Nick & May.”
Reviewed 12 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We booked The Old Vicarage for a 40th birthday celebration, 4 couples, no children this time! The house has some really comfortable accommodation and plenty of it! Amazing views and some wonderful cider! We can not recommend them enough. Nick & May made us feel so welcome and nothing was too much trouble.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasT41
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent venue with a lot of history”
Reviewed 17 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We stayed at the old vicarage as a group of 6 couples for a weekend and had a great time. The accommodation is split between the main house and a newer converted barn with the owners sharing the old main house with the guests. The converted barn has been finished to a high spec with a very good kitchen and large comfortable lounge with large tv and wifi. The main house with most the bedrooms is vey different, full of history and old fashioned furnishings which make it very interesting to explore. We used the converted barn most of the time but the large sitting room in the main house with open fire for a baby shower during the day.
We also made good use of the cider which is brewed on site - over all would definitely recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 411
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing