We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Family Orientated”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Acorns

The Acorns
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Acorns
Main bedroom, WC & wash basin ensuite, superking size bed Hot tub
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
43 reviews
The Acorns
Main bedroom, WC & wash basin ensuite, superking size bed
Hot tub
Lounge with wood burner
Kitchen
Dining area
Family room
Main bathroom
Private enclosed patio
View from the drive
View from the garden
View from garden and main bedroom.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
225SuE
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family Orientated”
Reviewed 12 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We had a wonderful time at the Acorn . The lodging was plain and basic but comfortable and family friendly . There were six of us .Two were chidren . During our stay we had relatives visiting us . Our children and the relatives children enjoyed the place . Acorn is a woking farm . The owners embraced the chlidren , encourage them to use the playing facilities , feeding the horses etc . They even had the opporturnity for horse rides which was their highlight.
For the price and customers service I would vote Acorn is valued for money .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable for family and extended family gathering
Liked least: Every one at the farmer were friendly and helpful.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lmepton
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Its alright”
Reviewed 2 November 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Its okay. Not entirely sure why it gets top ratings here. Yes the cottage was so close to the forest of dean attractions. The communication for booking was great. There are some nice touches like collecting eggs and sleeping bags for my toddler. Good sized rooms. However its fairly tired (needs a refurb) and the place could've been cleaner downstairs (although the bedding was perfect). Plus WiFi only works in the hall or if you're in the chair closest to hall in the living room (you're piggy backing off the other half of the house.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Dec 2014
Sorry you were disappointed, we don't market the property as 5 star, it was given a 3 / 4 star rating by the tourist board. The reviews on here are just people's opinions?!
The Wifi hub is in the adjacent property but we have tested it with an iPad and you get full signal in the hall and 2 out of 3 bars in the lounge. The signal is not strong enough to be downloading movies but perfectly satisfactory for emails and searching the web. You may have been struggling with the broadband speed which is very slow in this area, presumably due to the proximity to the Forest, this matter is however out of our control.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler P
Basildon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The stay that we had was amazing, the people were so lovely and welcoming! I even had a chance to go on a fantastic hack in the forest which was beautiful! The 2 year old enjoyed all of the friendly animals including the big dog and the horses! It was a lovely area and the perfect area for little children to play and run around. I will definitely be returning..hopefully in the winter this time!:)

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 13-17
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grixyp
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing Location, Wonderful people”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The house is located in an amazing location with all the attractions close by and access to the forest itself. Set on a farm my young children loved the animals and my eldest daughter got to ride one of the horses.

The family couldn't do more to make you feel welcome and ensure all your needs are met. The location is quiet and the beds comfortable.

There is WIFI but the signal is weak and there is hardly any phone signal but if you want to get away from it all this is the perfect place.

I almost forgot the hot tub! The kids loved it and it is a great way to unwind.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janeelli
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I have just had the most relaxing break ever at the cottage. Amazing views on your door step and location. It was so peaceful. Seeing the horses each morning trotting past the gate was fab.. Hot tub was superb. The welcome pack was an added bonus. Lovely friendly family. Will def be going back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing