We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“WE JUST KEEP COMING BACK!”

Review of Chequers

Garden and sea view from raised deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Garden and sea view from raised deck
Chequers from the garden Open Plan Lounge/Kitchen/Dining Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Garden and sea view from raised deck
Chequers from the garden
Open Plan Lounge/Kitchen/Dining Area
Lounge
Kitchen
Double Bedroom
Bathroom (with thermostatic showerbath)
Bathroom
Shower room (with thermostatic overhead shower)
Enjoy your meal or let the children play whilst you soak up the views
Raised Deck
Steps from garden onto extensive enclosed deck
Yes, those blobs are rabbits!  See if you can drag your kids away from watching them - we can't
'Pixie wood' at bottom of garden. Great for Easter Egg or treasure hunts!
Freshwater East Bay
Carew Castle and Tidal Mill
St Govan's Head
St Govan's Chapel
Broad Haven South Beach - ideal for families
Stack Rocks on the Castle Martin Peninsula
Carew Castle
Freshwater East Beach just a short walk away and perfect for families
Castle Martin Peninsula - a beautiful section of the Pembrokeshire Coastal Path
Enjoy tea and cake at Stackpole Quay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Freshwater East, Pembroke, Pembrokeshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A.j. S
1 review
“WE JUST KEEP COMING BACK!”
Reviewed 18 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

4th year on the trot staying at Chequers. Can't fault it at all and Suzanne's communication is top notch. Hopefully we'll be back again next year!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2016
Thank you. I look forward to welcoming you again next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taffyjohn...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Had a lovely long weekend at Chequers would certainly stay there again.”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We found Chequers to be the perfect holiday rental. Everything you need is supplied, the place is very clean. Also very quiet even though it is next to the local pub. We would certainly stay there again with my family.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arcadia_1...
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A very comfortable place to stay in a lovely part of Wales”
Reviewed 19 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This bungalow is in a lovely location near to the beach & was extremely well equipped & very clean. It was good to have a shower room as well a bathroom as one in our party cannot use a bath. It is ideal for people with limited mobility, but not for the wheelchair confined as there isn't wheelchair access from outside. We had a wonderful week with good weather & there were plenty of places to visit.We hope to return soon. Thank you Suzanne

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter0305...
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 7 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Just to endorse all the excellent reviews - there's not much to add. This place is very nice indeed. Thank you to the owners.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaFar...
Warten, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Fabulous location, lovely property”
Reviewed 2 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Chequers is a delightful bungalow in a lovely location. Surprisingly spacious, particularly the kitchen, which is normally very small in these places. The kitchen was also very well equipped. Very nice living room space (important to us, as it was February - in the summer you would be out on the very large deck mostly!) and a lovely big dining table. Two bathrooms is a definite bonus. And the enormous garden was super for my eleven year old to play in on the few occasions when she wasn't down on the beach (five minute descent to the dunes). Very thoughtful of the owner to provide such a wide selection of books and dvds, catering to all tastes. No need to bring anything to read or watch with you - honestly! I have only two slight negatives. 1 The mattress in the back double bedroom really needs replacing. I woke with backache from the pronounced dip in it. 2 Slightly softer cushions on the dining table bench would be nice, particularly as there is no back. If you're over a certain age (!) it gets uncomfortable quite quickly. But these two points are totally outweighed by the many postives. I would definitely recommend this property and I would stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Location!
Liked least: Mattress
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Mar 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review Chequers and glad you had a lovely stay and found everything you could need. We do try to make it feel like a home from home and were very sorry to hear about the mattress. We were not aware of a problem with it until you brought it to our attention after your stay and will most certainly resolve this. Regarding the bench seating at the dining table we are in the process of trying to source suitable cushions. We realise there are no backs to the benches and we did add two oak dining chairs with backs on last year to cater for those who would find this more comfortabe. Thank you again for your feedback and I hope we can welcome you to Chequers again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing