We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just a perfect week...”

Review of Tidmoor Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enter a caption for your photo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
113 reviews
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Chickerell, Weymouth, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 113 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Emily058
Camberley
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Just a perfect week...”
Reviewed 23 May 2010 for a stay in April 2010
2
people found this review helpful

This was the first time we have visited Tidmoor Cottages having found it whilst searching for accommodation suitable for the disabled. Having once lived in Weymouth, my husband and myself were looking for somewhere where we and my elderly, disabled mother could stay to enable us to visit family and friends in the area. We found the perfect place in the Barn which surpassed our expectations by a long way. Everything on the ground floor was laid out with the disabled in mind yet the upstairs was ideal for us as carers.

The Barn is exceptionally spacious enabling mum and her "trolley" to move about independently, safely and with ease. The ramp to the front door made access easy, doorways are wide enough and the wooden ground floor is level throughout. The wet room bathroom is roomy, fully equipped with handrails, and there are useful extras available if needed, such as a raised loo seat. and tap extenders. My only criticism would be that the shower seat was set rather high for a small lady to use and there was no shelf for shampoo etc. However, as the wet room is so spacious there was plenty of room for me to help my mother thereby overcoming the problem.

Tidmoor Cottages is perfectly located and very easy to find. Although on the main road, the location is quiet and peaceful, absolutely no trouble sleeping. Every part of Weymouth and it's wonderful coast can be accessed quickly and easily by car, and I believe the bus services are adequate as well. The views from the windows of the Barn are stunning, wonderful views of fields, the sea and the Fleet, and because of the location, access to coastal walks is on the doorstep. The local surroundings provide everything you need, such as petrol and groceries, and the local village has great, easily accessible pubs, so no need to cook! As previously reviewed, the cottages are behind electronic gates which gives a feeling of security, and parking is available. The parking is however quite tight and a small car would probably be easier to negotiate, particularly when opening doors for the disabled.

Reassuringly the owners, Sarah, Alan and family, (and Lily the dog!) are available on site should any problems of any kind arise. They are extremely friendly, helpful and amenable and of course have a wealth of local knowledge to help you get the most out of your holiday. Thank you, Sarah, for a great week in Weymouth. We can't wait to come back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimstein
Malvern
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“thoroughly enjoyable visit”
Reviewed 28 January 2010 for a stay in January 2010
1
person found this review helpful

A very comfortable stay. Good walking to the sea, and a well stocked shop close by. An excellent place to relax for a few days. We have stayed here for the last 2 New Years, in each of the 2 cottages, and found them both excellent. Lots of places to visit on the Dorset coast, and we found the book of walks very useful. Sarah, the friendly owner added to our positive experience, and we would not hesitate to return.
Stuart and Mary Horner (Malvern).

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffords...
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“wonderfully relaxing way to celebrate the New Year!”
Reviewed 12 January 2010 for a stay in December 2009

We spent new year in the Barns and was taken aback by the deceptive and spacious accomodation within such beautiful surroundings. The Barn was intimate for the two of us and provided a wonderful view from the upstairs lounge across to Chesil Beach. We enjoyed crisp, sunny days and spent the day walking from the Barn into Weymouth to celebrate new years day. We would highly recommend the cottages for either a family get away or an intimate few days alone without the children! Will definitely consider returning again maybe in the summer next time.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
earthange...
Darlington, County Durham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Cottage with Wonderful Sea Views”
Reviewed 26 October 2009 for a stay in October 2009
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in The Barn for the second time this year and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The cottage is very well-equipped with great facilities, including a washer/dryer. We liked the open-plan layout downstairs. The kitchen has every piece of equipment you could require and if you don't want to cook yourself, there is a pub nearby and a Chinese take-away and a fish and chip shop a short distance away. There are two other pubs in Chickerell village that do a wide selection of meals. There is ample space for two couples or for a family with children and there is an additional lounge if anyone wants his own space.. We loved the second lounge with sea views and it was good to have a little garden with lawn and decking area. The double room upstairs has an excellent en-suite bathroom with a big corner bath and there is a brilliant wet room downstairs. The beds are very comfortable and the bedrooms are equipped with plenty of storage space. There is a tv and a dvd player in each lounge which is great if your teenager wants to watch something different!
Our first visit was in June and we brought our teenage grandson with us. He loved The Barn and wants to return with us next summer. Sarah was very helpful and always available if needed. The electronic gates were a boon because they gave peace of mind.
Dorset is a delight and apart from the stunning coastal scenery, there is plenty to see and do. We look forward to returning to The Barn next year and can wholeheartedly recommend the cottages.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumofthre...
Northampton
1 review
“Excellent family friendly accomodation”
Reviewed 19 October 2009 for a stay in September 2009

We spent a lovely week in 'The Stables' which was spacious and well equipped. Electronic security gates gave peace of mind with small children and so did the private garden. The accomodation had everything we needed, we had a great time and would thoroughly recommend it.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing