We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Taumarunui Holiday Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taumarunui
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Taumarunui Holiday Park
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Phil and Helene made us feel right at home here and I'm sure just about everyone else we talked to staying there would agree. They were happy to tell you all about the surrounding area, cool hikes to do, or just chat. The fact that they personally greeted everyone was quite incredible. It was a holiday park yet it felt more like you were visiting their home. Facilities were quite clean and they are continually striving to further upgrade the park. Enjoy the facilities, company, and awesome views from whanganui river. Also be sure to ask them about the glow worms in the area. It's a definite must do while you are there. Their pig is also a riot. Thanks for everything guys!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 70 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2011

The Taumarunui Holiday Park is a definitive must-stay in New Zealand. It's a lovely place in the center of the North Island, beautifully located, good equipped and clean facilities. You can start a lot of activities from here, e.g. to the Tongariro NP or Whanganui NP. But the best part are its great owners who really care for their guests and do what they can to make the stay a real pleasure. They have very good tips and help organizing activites. It's due to them that I had some of the most beautiful hours of my holiday in NZ. I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Queen_of_Nowhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Camped here for one night before setting off on Forgotten World Highway. It was off season so we had our pick of spots and was nice and quiet. The staff were very friendly and helpful, giving tips on best spots and offering any advice requested.
Had great facilities, all clean. Showers were great; warm, powerful and free! Cute little kitchen with all you need, including a herb garden and BBQ area. Lovely setting on the riverside with a friendly atmosphere even has a great play-area for kids both big and small!
It's reasonably priced, especially considering it's got no competition. Only downside was the dog poo and the present he left us at breakfast!
We couldn't figure out the layout, so not sure what it will be like peak season. But we loved it and will be back!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gibnamee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaumarunuiHoliPark, Owner at Taumarunui Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2011

Thanks for your lovely comments about our Park. A big Oops! re: the dog poo. We are just so careful about this usually and we monitor it strictly so we are sorry it happened. We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again. Safe journey for the rest of your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We stayed here in October and found it a great surprise, the couple who run it are amazinging friendly and helpful with anything you might need. It has all the facilities you need with a great fully equipped kitchen. Its not to big so you feel part of the family, and it has a beautiful setting. If you are thinking of staying in the area this a great place to be.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoatEnki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Couldn't praise the owners of this holiday park highly enough, the park itself had good facilities and was in a pleasant location but above and beyond this the owners really made the stay at the park and visit to this area great. They (Phil & Helen) were a wealth of local knowledge and come across as being really passionate hosts who knew the area well and could make great recommendations nased on their own experiences.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Larissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taumarunui
4.4 km away
Mahoe Motel
Mahoe Motel
#1 of 4 in Taumarunui
10 reviews
3.5 km away
Forgotten World Motel
Forgotten World Motel
#1 of 3 in Taumarunui
73 reviews
3.7 km away
Kelly's Motel
Kelly's Motel
#2 of 3 in Taumarunui
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Grandad's Cottage
Grandad's Cottage
#6 of 6 in Taumarunui
6 reviews
33.6 km away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
515 reviews
3.2 km away
Alexander Spa Motel
Alexander Spa Motel
#3 of 3 in Taumarunui
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taumarunui Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taumarunui Holiday Park

Address: 487 Totara St | P O Box 446, Taumarunui 3946, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Taumarunui
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Taumarunui
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Taumarunui Holiday Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4km south of Taumarunui, situated beside the mighty Whanganui River and bordered by a native bush reserve, this is where your Ruapehu District adventure starts! An ideal base for fishing the many local rivers and kayaking the Whanganui River, the start/finish point for the renowned Forgotten World Highway, and only 35 mins north of Tongariro National Park and Whakapapa Ski Field. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing