We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taumarunui Holiday Park

Taumarunui Holiday Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taumarunui
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Taumarunui Holiday Park
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

What a place. Originally I stayed here just to rest before taking on the forgotten world hwy. Wet weather forced me to stay an extra day so I decided use that time to see what there was to do in the area. Much to my suprise and to the amazement of other New Zealanders Taumarunui is a great place to visit.

I had a great time here and ended up staying for a week. Culturally there's a lot of history, plenty of good walking tracks and great fishing and boating on the river. You can also see New Zealands famous glow worms. There amazing and it's free. Just as good as the Waitomo Caves but without the hefty price tag.

The holiday park is right on the river and a very comfortable place to stay. The kitchen is fully equiped with pots and pans as well as plates and cutlery. Everything is well maintained and very clean. Good internet and great bathrooms.

Something all holiday park users appreciate is a good shower. You know what I'm talking about. I stayed in over a dozen holiday parks in NZ and the one thing most of them have in common is little or no water pressure. Not here. The showers here are fantastic. Steaming hot with high water pressure which felt so good I didn't want to get out.

I was travelling solo but this is a great place for families. The owners are constantly working to improve the parks facilities with new cabins, artwork and activities for kids. They're well travelled (Phil's from England and Helene's a local), have great stories to tell and often get a log fire going outside the kitchen just to make your stay a little more comfortable.

My journey took me to Taumarunui twice. The first time on my way to New Plymouth and the second on my way to Lake Taupo. It's central location provided a good pivot point to travel to many locations on the North Island. I didn't have to stay the second time but my first stay was so enjoyable that I wanted to drop in and say "Hi" to Phil and Helene as well as pat Des the dog and Julia the pet pig. The other thing I wanted was a good shower and after having travelled extensively over the entire North Island I can report that these are the best showers in NZ.

If your in the area this is the place to stay. The rates are cheaper than local hotels and cabin prices for backpackers who travel in pairs are the same as you would get in a hostel. There's also good shopping just a few minutes away.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeckTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    19
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
31
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
wootton,australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

The owners (Phil & Helene) went out of their way to make our visit as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. Even supplying firewood for our only fire in NZ. Julia (the pig) and Des (the dog) were both entertaining. This park is located right on the Whanganui river. Well worth a visit.

Wayne Cooper (Australia)

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wxcooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2011

I'd planned to stay at this holiday park only one night, but then I decided to stay longer because of the lovely managers and the perfect, clean facilities. Hot showers, fully equiped kitchen and brand new cabins. As I got there on a bike, the people took me to a remote place to see the glow worms, so friendly! Thanks Phil and Helene!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutchie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

I've stayed at the Taumarunui Holiday Park quite a few times over the past few years. I go there as it's really well located for trout fishing a number of nearby rivers - especially the Whanganui and Whakapapa rivers. The setting and accommodation is excellent and I think I've stayed in all the various units on the site. The park-like setting is very peaceful and picturesque. The amenities are very good - they've got everything you need. I was probably a bit nervous when there was a change of owners last year, but the new owners Phil and Helene are very friendly and helpful. Already they're making little improvements and upgrades to the accommodation, which is great. So I'll definitely be staying here again and again - I love it! Thanks Phil and Helene and keep doing the great job you're doing!

Room Tip: Check out their website for info!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tobyajgeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taumarunui
4.3 km away
Forgotten World Motel
Forgotten World Motel
#1 of 3 in Taumarunui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
4.0 km away
Alexander Spa Motel
Alexander Spa Motel
#3 of 3 in Taumarunui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
3.7 km away
Mahoe Motel
Mahoe Motel
#1 of 4 in Taumarunui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Kelly's Motel
Kelly's Motel
#2 of 3 in Taumarunui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
33.2 km away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
2.4 km away
Grandad's Cottage
Grandad's Cottage
#4 of 5 in Taumarunui
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taumarunui Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taumarunui Holiday Park

Property: Taumarunui Holiday Park
Address: 487 Totara St | P O Box 446, Taumarunui 3946, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Taumarunui
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Taumarunui
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Taumarunui Holiday Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4km south of Taumarunui, situated beside the mighty Whanganui River and bordered by a native bush reserve, this is where your Ruapehu District adventure starts! An ideal base for fishing the many local rivers and kayaking the Whanganui River, the start/finish point for the renowned Forgotten World Highway, and only 35 mins north of Tongariro National Park and Whakapapa Ski Field. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing