We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveller rating
22
28
16
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
22
28
16
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews one night bedroom apartment clean tidy would stay again road noise wi fi night's sleep very reasonable price bed was very comfortable south island shower heater stop motel gumboot units cooking
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 69 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Located on SH 1 North of Taihape. Convenient should you encounter road closures. Older style Motel renovated well. Good parking. Clean and well serviced. Beds comfortable. Some road noise through the night but should not put you off. Some units have simple cooking arrangements. Value for money.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Virgo248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

Great value budget motel. Room spacious and clean with provision of toiletries and tea, coffee etc. Spa out on the main central lawn but private enough to enable you to relax. Budget but pleasant. Friendly and helpful staff. Very accommodating as we had two cars and a large trailer as travelling to the south island.

Room tip: Adequate accommodation for an overnight stay.
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank O725RMhelend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018

Hi - reasonably priced accommodation perfect for a night's sleep when driving between Wellington and Auckland. The room was clean and functional and had everything we needed for the night. Service was good. A little bit of road noise from all the trucks but nothing that stopped us sleeping.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank nzrichard2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018 via mobile

Stayed here as only three hours from Wellington - where we were heading - not great very dated and rough. Although it was clean and we got a good nights rest. Needs a makeover as it looks like something out of a 1960s movie set. Wouldn’t bother with it again and quite frankly for the $150 approximately paid for the room it probably wasn’t great value - staff friendly - fine if you just want a room for the night

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Seatheworldover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shariff H, Owner at Safari Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Hi there, good day. Thank you for your feedback. Happy to know that you enjoyed a good night sleep and found the place clean. It certainly brings a smile to our face. Look forward to welcoming you again. Have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017 via mobile

Reading the reviews we expected a budget room that was functional and great value for the family.

What we got was substandard and so small our 14 year old would have to rearrange the room to make it work!

Beware! These guys will not offer to fix the problem (they offered us a queen plus single no kitchenette) or a bigger unit for more $$ (upgrade) they will not give you a refund instead say the have no authority to do that.

We asked for a queen ned with fold out and with a kitchenette, what we got was a room so small the fold out was only good for a baby!

Don’t take chances, book somewhere else!

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank IT-GuruNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shariff H, Owner at Safari Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Hi there, regret to know that the standard of our services didn't meet your expectations. We apologise for the inconvenience this may have caused. However, as explained, if you have your pet on you and you want them with you in the room, we only have the option of those studios that you didn't find comfortable but many others before you have left many positive reviews about. Yes, they come with very limited cooking options of tea, coffee making and an electric frypan but at the moment only option if you want your pet with you. Thank you again for your feedback, have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews