We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fextival farce and boring.”
Review of River Cottage HQ

River Cottage HQ
Ranked #2 of 41 Restaurants in Axminster
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 22 November 2020

We four made the best of it...BUT we all agreed it was a money making machine. Most things incurred additional costs and to pay to see him to sign a book, no way.
Once done...never again unless you want to spend £££

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jelly09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCHQ, General Manager at River Cottage HQ, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2020

Good evening Jelly09, Thank you for your review, I'm sorry we didn't meet your expectations on this occasion.
Do you mind emailing myself the date and event you attended so I can find out more details on what was extra and any improvements we could make to this? events@rivercottage.net.
As you could imagine we have been closed since the beginning of November at this really tough time.
We certainly could have arranged a book to be signed by Hugh, which Hugh, and our chefs are always happily doing for free.
KR
Hollie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (661)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 661 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2020

Went to River Cottage for my wife's retirement gift. The food was excellent and they serve a lovely IPA beer. The staff were also very welcoming and the location is stunning. However, we sat at a table opposite the entrance / exit door which was constantly in use during the evening (toilet / cigarette breaks) and we were absolutely freezing. If you go, make sure that you wear plenty of layers.

Date of visit: October 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank deanothebaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCHQ, General Manager at River Cottage HQ, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2020

Good morning, thank you for your feedback, I'm so pleased you had a lovely meal.
Apologies for the chilly evening our Beautiful barn is used to having 60plus people in which keeps it nice and warm, however with the changes it does make a huge difference.
Since then we have turned our underfloor heating up and its now nice and toasty for those chilly evenings.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon, happy retirement.
KR
Hollie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2020

This was a gift from our Children For our Birthdays last November. Eventually we were able to come and dine at RCHQ.
Amazing. The food was plentiful and high quality. Thank you to the chefs
Having been to RC canteen many times we didn’t expect that our expectations would be exceeded by this dinner however they were. We were welcomed and served by happy and helpful members of staff.
All in all a truly wonderful evening and experience.
We will be back as it’s on our door step

Thank you Holly for the lift up the hill.

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank 24bernardh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCHQ, General Manager at River Cottage HQ, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2020

Good Morning Bernard H, Thank you for your lovely feedback, I've made all teams aware of your comments.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
KR
Hollie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2020 via mobile

Lovely location and amazing views. Shame there weren't any pigs or chooks around but I guess it isn't that kind of farm.

We did the Summer picnic which had some interesting food and allowed you to sit in around the grounds.

Really have a missed opportunity in not having a gift shop.... Reusable branded bottles and mugs or aprons or tea towels (?!) for example alongside some books as a souvenir of the day could be good items to stock.

Date of visit: September 2020
2  Thank Felicity C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCHQ, General Manager at River Cottage HQ, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2020

Good morning Simplyme4,
Thank you for your feedback, next year we are looking forward to welcoming back our Chickens and we have plans of reclaiming our duck pond. The piglets you would have just missed they came to us in October.
I'm so glad you came and enjoyed our beautiful location and picnic food, it was great to see people just relaxing in our meadow.

I agree about the gift shop, we do normally have one in the barn however we felt we should take it away this year to stop people congregating around one area, something to work on for next year for these day events. In the mean time If there is anything you would like we do take online orders.
We look forward to welcoming you back to River Cottage soon.
KR
Hollie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2020 via mobile

As fans of the kitchen in Axminster we thought we would at long last try HQ.The event was a present from our children , so a sizeable layout for students! On arrival we were greeted by a lovely lady who offered instruction on how to find the cottage. The walk down was beautiful, late summer sunshine, gorgeous views across the valley. At the cottage we were offered cider and were told to go kill an hour around the grounds. It was nice for 20 mins to have a quick stroll around the gardens before returning to the courtyard
.Several other guests had taken seats in the barn at this point so we followed suit.The chef came out and gave a description of what was to come, canapes were served(our favourite dish) could have eaten loads! followed by four courses.For us,although very nice, the food was not too dissimilar to that of the Kitchen in town, and at £160 plus drinks we were uncertain as to wether it was worth it by comparison.We enjoyed the evening, the staff are great! Think we will continue to visit the kitchen as we prefer the atmosphere and it offers better value by miles

Date of visit: September 2020
1  Thank Neil3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCHQ, General Manager at River Cottage HQ, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2020

Good Morning Neial3333,

Thank you for your review of our site at HQ, I will certainly pass on your feedback to my staff. It is great to hear you are enjoying our Canteen. We looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

KR
Hollie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed River Cottage HQ also viewed

 

Been to River Cottage HQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.