We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friday night dinner”
Review of River Cottage HQ

River Cottage HQ
Ranked #2 of 41 Restaurants in Axminster
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

From the tractor ride down to the farm and then back again at the end of the evening we had a great experience! It was a beautiful evening which made the most of River Cottage! The food was great, nice people to eat with and a great location! Would recommend to anybody and look forward to going back!

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank aaronc394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (661)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

310 - 314 of 661 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2016 via mobile

Not sure if this is the right place to review River Cottage but my experience was so good I jut have to let others know. I came here for a day course to learn about cooking pasta, pizza and bread. What a fun, interesting and terrific day. The staff and hosts are simply fantastic; friendly, helpful, involved and nothing is too much trouble. I learned so much. Loved the demonstrations and putting it in to practice. I ate and drank too much during the day. It was unavoidable it was all so good! I had terrific fun and left feeling just great. Huge thanks to Matt, Crona, the River Cottage team and Marmaduke and Lisa!

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank Enobarbus3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2016

Had the pleasure of visiting River Cottage for a friend's 60th birthday. The "fun" starts with a tractor pick-up in the car park to take everyone down a very long, steep, bumpy track to the restaurant/farm.

Our evening started with a lovely glass of apple cider brandy and nibbles in a yurt, followed by a choux pastry cooking competition in the kitchens. On to a fabulous meal. The beetroot hummus and pollock in a nettle soup were simply delicious as was the rest of the meal.

As far as special celebrations go, I can only say that I was very, VERY pleased to have been invited to experience this River Cottage event.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank byrninrubber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2016 via mobile

Our most recent visit, Sunday Lunch at River Cottage, was my third visit having previously been on a fish cookery course and last year for Saturday evening dining.
The experience is still fantastic. The setting is relaxed and informal and you are treated very well by all staff. Being able to have time to walk around the farm and see the animals and veg growing plots is great. Almost nowhere is off-limits; indeed, Gelf - head chef - invited us to have a look in the kitchens during service.
The food at Sunday Lunch was, as per usual, delicious. From the first canapés (mushroom arancini were particularly good) through main course and dessert and on to the petit fours served with coffee. Our only slight complaint this time would be that the food portion sizes were so generous that it was too much to be able to finish dessert and still feel comfortable.
As previously, a great dining experience from start to finish and I'm sure we'll return again in the future.

Date of visit: April 2016
1  Thank Nik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2016

Was given tickets for Evening Dinner. Wet Evening, forced to wait in rain as the shelter had blown down, eventually let into Office which was dry. Long wait as needed three trips need to get everyone down in Trailer to barn. Journey very uncomfortable as track is very uneven. On leaving trailer greeted by girl who having greeted guests abandoned us to find our way down gravel steps to the "Yurt".. We were brought a drink and then canapes (Which were awful ,air dried meat which was tasteless). Told we had about half an hour to wait so we could look round the farm ( In pouring rain without lights and along muddy and clay paths). We made our way to the Barn. Drinks very expensive. Meal eventually started, very poor starter followed by Nettle Soup, the only thing you could taste was salt, Faggots very tasty but needed magnifying glass to find them. Main course was Lamb, which was overcooked ( Almost black),stringy and tough. Sweet was almond Tart, pastry was heavy and solid, again minute portion. All in all a very expensive disappointing evening, finished off by yet another bumpy ride in the trailer. The only good thing all evening was meeting other guests who were very pleasant and were as disgusted as we were with the whole evening.

Date of visit: April 2016
2  Thank Brianoates63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed River Cottage HQ also viewed

 

Been to River Cottage HQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.