We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful luxury lodge - couldn't recommend...”

Review of Creaggan Lodge

Large open plan Lounge, kitchen & dining area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large open plan Lounge, kitchen & dining area
Creaggan Lodge Master bedroom - En suite
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Large open plan Lounge, kitchen & dining area
Creaggan Lodge
Master bedroom - En suite
Front Decked area
Twin Bedroom
Kitchen & breakfast bar
Outdoor Bar & Seating area to side of Lodge
Split level deck area
Outdoor bar on deck
Kippford Village
Kippford village from Palnackie
Local Coastline
Creaggan Lodge in Winter
Winter View of Screel Hill
View from deck over estuary & Screel Hill
Sandyhills Beach
Local Coastline
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Kippford, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
clarabubs
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful luxury lodge - couldn't recommend highly enough!”
Reviewed 9 January 2015 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed at Creaggan Lodge with family for a big birthday celebration - a mix of ages from 2 to 60. Having never stayed in a log cabin before, I wasn't sure what to expect, but we were over the moon with what we found! Incredibly comfortable, very well equipped (even toys, games DVDs to keep the kids entertained) and the most incredible views. Just a short walk from the lovely little harbour - we walked down with our two youngest family members (2 and 4), had a little browse of the gift shop and a lovely pub lunch. Back to the lodge out of the cold winter weather and into the lodge's fantastic sauna!

It has a lovely outdoor BBQ area which I imagine would be fantastic in the summer. The weather was a bit cold and damp when we visited so we didn't use it much, but we did sit out one evening with our mulled wine, enjoying the view.

We plan on visiting again. Highly recommended :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very comfortable and well equipped/high spec
Liked least: We got a bit lost trying to find the lodge, but only because we didn't pay close enough attention to the directions. Sat nav did not perform!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshall...
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful!! loved every minute x”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The most beautiful lodge I have ever seen, truly amazing!! Will def be returning as soon as we can. Perfect place to have quality family time. Great for both kids and adults. Peaceful and relaxing holiday. Lots of wonderful memories to keep forever. Thank you to Jon and Fiona who have been great throughout the booking process - no hassles at all. Highly recommend. xx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boydtrans
Dumfries SCOTLAND
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome!!”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

As a group of friends, we stayed at Creaggan Lodge for 3 nights for a special "big" birthday treat. What a totally wonderful time we had. The lodge was out of this world and we cannot wait to return for another stay.
The lodge is so well equipped and spotlessly clean and very, very comfortable. The views are stunning. The bar and decking area are amazing and very secluded.
A wonderful place to stay and highly recommended!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin779
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just amazing!”
Reviewed 9 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

As a group of friends we booked this for a quiet weekend away from our hectic lives. What a find! The lodge is amazing and so comfortable and luxurious. From the spacious living area with comfy couches and chairs to the comfy bedrooms with luxurious bedding and the sauna, we hardly left the lodge to explore the surrounding area!

The kitchen has all the amenities you will ever need and is ideal for cooking decent meals to enjoy at the dining room table. Loved the decked porch area too. The sun was out for us one afternoon and we enjoyed a few beers on the deck.

There was also all mod cons from dvd player with dvds to board games, playing cards etc. Never stayed in lodge with such luxury and comfyness. It was like a home from home. We are already planning a return trip later this year.

We even got to see a red squirrel which joined us on the patio!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tojo_mill...
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ssshh - Kippford's best kept secret”
Reviewed 31 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Kippford's a great place with the most amazing atmosphere, we enjoyed the absolute luxury of Creaggan Lodge - I have to say we didn't quite know what it would be like but we were astounded and delighted at such comfort. A nice sized lodge with bang uptodate design (we've stayed in lodges in Norway - this is much more comfortable), great views, and a family of red squirrels running around the balcony. Can but recommend, we'll certainly be going again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views, sauna, space
Liked least: Leaving.Sigh.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 115
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing