We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful place”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Craster, Alnwick, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Globalfi
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful place ”
Reviewed 1 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We've just returned from
a wonderful weekend in Craster for my mothers birthday
The apartment is stunning and full of lovely details
It's so well appointed with access to the garden for the children
It's just a short walk from the village of Craster and a great base for walking and sightseeing
The coast nearby is beautiful and we had a super walk to Dunstanburgh castle which is very close
Fiona and Michael were so helpful and we couldn't have asked for a better place to stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2017
So glad you enjoyed your stay and that the birthday was a success. It is always nice to hear that people appreciate the place we consider to be so special. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laplandmu...
yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wow Factor with 850yrs of family history.”
Reviewed 10 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

When you first drive up to the front gates you know you are in for a treat and as you enter the front door it gets even better. The size and grandeur of the rooms need to be experienced. The views from the many window seats are stunning and the penthouse is filled with little curiosities and artwork.
We loved spending time in the top tower room with the arched windows and relaxing by the log burner in the tv room.
Lots is space for 7 adults to relax after a days adventure. Beds were really comfortable and the kitchen was well equipped with the widest range of coffee making facilities that we have come across yet. Remember to bring your coffee beans.
Loved every minute and would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2017
Thank you for you lovely review. The house is very special to us, and we enjoy sharing it. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandara20...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Country House Living”
Reviewed 5 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We were delighted with our stay at the Craster Tower Penthouse,which outdid our expectations. As we are 2 couples we booked the 2 bedroom/2 bathroom option known as the Retreat and found it more than spacious enough for 4 people. The hall/library gave us an extra `sitting room`with a lovely outlook. The rooms are stylishly decorated and comfortably furnished.It is a pleasure to spend time in a house of such character in stunning surroundings.We have never stayed in a property that was so well equipped, with all our requirements thoughtfully anticipated.Our hosts Michael and Fiona were warm and welcoming and very keen that we should get the most out of the house and the locality. We will certainly return! We plan to introduce other friends to the delights of this historic house.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2017
Hello Sandra,
Thank you for the lovely review. We are very glad you enjoyed your holiday. It is great to be able to share our home with other people and super when people appreciate the efforts we make to make it welcoming and homely. We very much look forward to seeing you when you come back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy C
great preston
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 29 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The introduction says it all obout the accommodation apart from it is better - it is outstanding!
We have stayed in some fantastic rented holiday accommodation in the past but this is by far the best.
I'm not going to repeat what other people have already stated about the beautiful apartment and area but Mr and Mrs Craster are lovely people who make you feel really welcome and have a wealth of knowledge and information which they are willing to share.
The weather has been very cold for the time of year with freezing winds, sleat and snow but it was lovely to come back to a warm and inviting apartment after hours of walking and visiting pubs.
I would like to state that we were aware that other bedrooms would be locked but with just the two of us there would be no point of any more space as it is huge anyway - unless the Mrs fell out with me!
It has been a privilege to share the Crasters home, we WILL be returning to Craster Towers next year and looking forward to it already.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Every single thing
Liked least: Sleat and snow
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise B
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The Retreat is a subset of The Penthouse”
Reviewed 31 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
3
people found this review helpful

After a 7 hour drive, my husband and I, accompanied by our dog, arrived at Craster Towers. We were greeted by the Crasters, who were very keen to show us around their apartment.
We entered via an arched doorway, very historical, into the boot room area, then proceeded up 3 flights of stairs to the accommodation. We were given a very thorough tour of the facilities, of which there were many, pointing out that several of the rooms were not for our use, as we had not paid for them. It was useful that they were locked, as we would not have liked to have stumbled into them, by mistake.
The apartment was spacious and, as I mentioned, extremely well equipped, with lovely views of the gardens and sea views in the distance. We realised, after a while, that The Retreat, which we had booked, is in fact a sub-set of The Penthouse, hence of course, the unpaid for, locked rooms. We had not realised this when booking and felt that, unintentionally, we had taken revenue from the Craster's, as they may have been able to rent the entire apartment that week, but then it was early March and the part we rented was not cheap, so I guess they were happy.
We had a couple of small problems when we first arrived, one being part of the wifi code was missing, but I was asked to work it out and then let them know, which of course, I was happy to do. The second being part of the bannister broke when touched, I reported this and was told to just 'stick it back in', making me feel more comfortable straight away.
We had the use of a large garden and the electric gates were locked at midnight, leaving you feeling safe within your part of the tower. Not sure what happens if you arrive back after midnight, but fortunately we are not 'night owls'.
Craster itself is a pretty village and the area is surrounded by glorious white sandy beaches. Many castles to visit and the towns within the area have nice shops and good facilities. It is an area we have been to before and we will defiantly return again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing