We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waited 1.5 hours”
Review of Pisang-Pisang

Pisang-Pisang
Ranked #43 of 185 Restaurants in Nusa Lembongan
Cuisines: American, Asian
Description: We serve coffee, desserts, breakfast brunch ,lunch dinner. Juices and Smoothies, bread. as Ideal for all vegetarian, Vegan, gluten-free option and food lovers. Our trained chef on the international cusine and local dishes.
Restaurant details
Description: We serve coffee, desserts, breakfast brunch ,lunch dinner. Juices and Smoothies, bread. as Ideal for all vegetarian, Vegan, gluten-free option and food lovers. Our trained chef on the international cusine and local dishes.
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

Just waited 1.5 hours for my meal which was very average when it did arrive. I had the vegetarian plate which is basically a fried egg white, fruit, tomato and Rosti. There were 4 people in the place. The waiter had no idea what was going on and was more interested in his phone. Definitely not going back

Date of visit: July 2016
2  Thank Ritchiej1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramagardenretreat, General Manager at Pisang-Pisang, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2016

Thank you for coming to our place.
We strive our best to make good food, but to find great potential staff, for a small island to catch up to western-er expectations, please have some understanding when you travel abroad.
This is not a 5 star restaurant it is a calm relax beach type atmosphere.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

62 - 66 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2016

Fantastic food and great vegan, vegetarian options. Best coffee we found on Lembongan. Their juice "mixology" was fun and delicious, so many options to try.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Gwendolyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramagardenretreat, Manager at Pisang-Pisang, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2016

Thank you thank you!! you are a delightful guest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2016 via mobile

We visited here as it appeared to have a great surfer vibe and promoted healthiness which my wife was looking for.

We were given sweet potato fries which were nearly raw. I asked them to be re-cooked. They did this for us but not before laughing and saying you can eat raw potato. I was not aware of this fact but we should not be laughed at. Also, if they're not being cooked why are they so expensive for what amounted to a 3rd of a potato?

I had a bacon, egg and avocado sandwich (in a vegan restaurant?). My wife had a tomato/nachos/avocado dish. All very expensive for Nusa Lembongam and it only had 1 slice of avocado.

I expect this place would be very popular with surfers on a weekend away but to someone backpacking around, spend half the money for double the food at any of the other restaurants around.

Positives are that it does have a nice laid back feel with board games, a book exchange and fun pictures on the wall.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank trewboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramagardenretreat, Owner at Pisang-Pisang, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2016

Thank you for visting our place.
Pisang_pisang restaurant has a little surprises for everyone.
We have variety of vegan option as you mention and vegetarian dishes as well as a few items for meat lover (we do no discriminate).
For the items you mention above about our sweet potato, we are the only restaurant in Nusa Lembongan that even have this option for our healthy guest.
Most people who love sweet potato knows it is a rare items in Indonesia and to even have is really pricey in other country as well.
We price and portion our food according whats available and how easy to get.
Please understand when you travel to a small island like this and to know how things work before you make such statement.
We display all our lovely menu in the front, if you feel it's too pricey then maybe just not in your buget, we totally understand.
We love all our returning guests from the past and current. We are happy to see them everyday to enjoy what we have to offer.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2016

Beware if you're approaching this venue looking for vegan food. Despite the fact that the menu advertises vegan meals and there are vegan specials written on the chalk boards, the staff there appear to have no understanding of the word. The waitress repeated the order back to us when we placed it and we repeatedly said vegan to which she nodded. When we were presented with our meal it was a dish that had bacon in it. When I pointed this out to the staff their first reaction was to laugh. Also the food is quite expensive by Nusa Lembongan standards and was also very slow to be prepared. In short there are better places to eat on the island for half the money.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank stevenpM6925LT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramagardenretreat, Owner at Pisang-Pisang, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2016

Thank you for visting Pisang-Pisang restaurant!
We do not advertise that we are solely a vegan restaurant, as we show more a variety of option for everyone to enjoy.
From gluten-free to a few vegan dishes and vegetarian to even seafood.
We try to train and eduacated the local staff as the best way we can, not always get the best out of the bunch but we do try. :)
As you mention above about the vegan meal, every restaurant and everyone has made a mistake, we are not saying we are perfect. We have even remake your food to make you happy and in the end you are not.
We are not here to try to please everyone as we know it is impossible, but everyday we will try. :
Thank you



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2016 via mobile

It's a nice little restaurant down a lane from the main road attached to some bungalows, they do great juices and quite lovely chicken wings, but at 60k for 5 chicken wings with no veg or anything else it's way too expensive for the island.

A portion of french fries was max 15 chips, so not a very big portion at all.

The staff are lovely and the food great but Lembongan has great food and much better prices elsewhere.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank TinksEyeView
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramagardenretreat, Owner at Pisang-Pisang, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2016

Thank you for visting our little restaurant!!
Our Menu are made to make it simple for our travel guests, as it already included VTA and services tax. In Bali you will notice this is not include in some restaurant and it can be confusing.
All food are made from scratch with love and consideration. So if the price is priced the way it is it's because it takes us time to prepare fot this particular dish, that is good and made with care.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pisang-Pisang also viewed

Nusa Lembongan, Bali
 

Been to Pisang-Pisang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.