We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice bathroom and wonderful bed: nothing else!!”
Review of The Tanis Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Tanis Villas
Reviewed 18 September 2014

We stayed 4 nights in bungalow n. 1 (called 1 bedroom villa), which was not far from reception area but still not close to the 2 pools so we couldn’t hear the loud noise of the crowd of day-trippers (chinese?) coming every day and having lunch there.
The open bathroom was very nice and apparently quite new, the bed was super-comfortable with good mattress and pillows and good-quality sheets, but … that’s all!!
The wardrobe was old and dirty, no safety box, useless mosquito-net on the bed with big holes, moisture stains on walls, a lot of dust on the headboard of the bed, good air-con but it’s a pity that the door had blind on the bottom without screen; there was only a few water in the basin so we called maintenance but my husband had to fix it because they couldn’t. No complimentary water at all. Wi-fi was good. They provide beach towels but they didn’t seem clean.
Breakfast was distressing: we had scramble eggs with 2 microscopic slices of beef bacon and ham (you couldn’t tell the difference!) + 1 slice of bread with butter or banana pancake and 1 small glass of packaged juice (but we never found good fresh juices on NL, always with a lot of water, and this is rather weird as fruit in shops is less expensive than in Bali) + tea/coffee.
When we arrived we met the only kind person of all the staff, Putu at the reception: the girl serving breakfast was extremely impolite with people not ordering and paying for extras; staff seldom greeted guests. Everyone there seemed more inclined to take care of day-trippers.
Location is nice, on Mushroom Bay, with 2 umbrellas and some beanbags directly on the beach.
You have to rent a motorbike if you want to visit the island: we rented one directly from them for 70.000IDR/day including petrol. Pay a lot of attention to the extremely bed roads full of potholes!
We definitely not recommend this place!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dale63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
There are newer reviews for The Tanis Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

66 - 70 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2014 via mobile

I had amazing time during my stay in Tanis Villa.
Its located on the beach of Mushroom Bay makes it perfect since you dont need to make another effort and take your time from the harbour of Mushroom Bay to your accommodation
I stayed in few different types of room. But all of them were great. They were big, comfortable bed, very nice AC and great hot water shower, last but not least they do have MiniBar!
Everything about Tanis Villa's rooms were great except one, TV-DVD which they put on the wall 2.5 meters away from the floor, it wasnt comfortable at all ever since the tv was 21" LCD TV. It'll be better if they put them somewhere else in the room since they do have the space.
Internet mostly work only in the restaurant, pool area and lobby. Barely open my email in my room.
Food was good for the price they have. And most important thing is the staffs were very friendly and they work as proffesional hotel attendant. This was beyond the expectation when you're staying in a small island.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Geminiky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2014

Our room was up the top of an extremely steep high hill, and although the gardens are lovely, it was one hell of an effort to get our bags up there. The room was pretty grotty, especially the bathroom, with lots of ants, and the windows don't close so mozzies get in. The towels were not changed in the 4 days we were there, and our shower only had scalding water come out. We got burnt a couple of times before deciding on a simple wash at the hand basin would do. The wifi didn't work while we were there and had to go to other hotels/restaurants for wifi.
When you look on the map, mushroom bay looks just around the corner from the main area of Lembongan, junguwatu, but in reality, it's about a 25 min drive on very bad roads.
However, the hotel opened up onto the most beautiful bay of water, and they have beanbags and umbrellas on the sand for guests. There is no one selling you anything and it is quiet and very peaceful. We went on a snorkelling trip from our hotel which cost $25 AUD for 2 of us and had an amazing experience. They did make our bed daily and it was comfortable and the aircon worked. I booked this hotel on Agoda and paid about $40 per night including breakfast for 2 people in twin share.
So if you're after a bargain, and not too fussy about comfort, and want some peace and quiet, you'll find it here!

Room Tip: Hotel says free wifi, but it doesn't work most of the time. Some rooms are up a very steep hill...
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristineBulmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2014

After being double booked at a much nicer location down the beach- we were downgraded to this. Staff very unhelpful, bfast "included" not very appetising, loud music around the pool that know one was swimming in so the sence of paradise was lost, toilet didnt work, cold shower. Would not recommend this place unless your on a budget. Seriously disappointed with our stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Av1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Pro:
- close to main ferry landing area (Mushroom Bay)
- 2 separate pools (one can be used for water volley)
- Tasty food
- Classic, traditional villas (Bali style or just old fashioned guest house)
- Well maintained garden
- Spacious rooms
- Relatively clean beds

Con:
- Worn out furniture
- No TV in some rooms (for rooms with TV, TV are positioned in odd places)
- Dusty pantry & bathroom


For travellers who dont expect luxury and spic n span accomodation, Tanis is probably an OK choice.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ASoekadis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nusa Lembongan hotels
0.1 km away
Sadeg Lembongan
Sadeg Lembongan
#10 of 25 in Nusa Lembongan
187 reviews
0.1 km away
The Well House Lembongan Island
The Well House Lembongan Island
#4 of 101 in Nusa Lembongan
172 reviews
0.4 km away
Cassava Lembongan Bungalow
Cassava Lembongan Bungalow
#16 of 101 in Nusa Lembongan
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Nanuks Lembongan Bungalows
Nanuks Lembongan Bungalows
#36 of 137 in Nusa Lembongan
192 reviews
0.1 km away
Molamola House
Molamola House
#11 of 137 in Nusa Lembongan
244 reviews
0.5 km away
Tamarind Beach Bungalows
Tamarind Beach Bungalows
#115 of 137 in Nusa Lembongan
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tanis Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tanis Villas

Address: Mushroom Bay, 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Lembongan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Nusa Lembongan
Price Range: $33 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Tanis Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Tanis Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tanis Villas Hotel Nusa Lembongan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing